Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2017
Really superb live CD with great renditions and extended solo tracks from Gilmour. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Very good sound!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Ok, so, first the smug bit. I did see this at Earls Court twice, but as there was no official recordings of those nights, I have, like others, had to rely on memory, and poor quality bootlegs.
I aren't going to review the concert itself, but as I have bought the CD,watched the film, seen the show, tolerated the bootlegs and waited for over 20 years for a good audio recording I have to say, this really takes me back there.
Sound quality is first rate. Instrumentation is as tight as you think it should be. Quite frankly, it's awesome. It is everything that an audio record of those gigs can and should be. Yes, I am drowning in a sea of self indulgent nostalgia, yes it is a very personal experience to listen to this, but....
It's good. It is really good. If you are in any way a fan of The Wall, owning this is absolutely obligatory. I cannot speak highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Having Pink Floyd's 'Pulse' and having just been to see Roger Waters' 'The Wall' live show in Sofia, Bulgaria, I think this live recording from '80-'81 is probably Pink Floyd's best. The feeling is as if you are really there and the sound is mind-blowing! Gilmour's vocals are so pure and vivid and his solos are, as always, full of imagination and colours. Waters' singing is great, just 'on the thin red line' between craziness and tenderness. The four of them do in a couple of songs great jaming. Strongly recommend this live! This is definitely a must have recording even if you are not a big Floyd fan!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
[18] - The studio double album 'The Wall' released in November 1979 was supported by a tour with elaborate theatrical effects - This album -
Is there anybody out there? The Wall Live' is the result of that tour put together & released some 20 years later in March 2000 - The tour started in Los Angeles in February 1980 it had a 12 metre high wall of cardboard bricks gradually built on stage between the band & the audience - gaps between the bricks allowed the spectators to view various scenes in between the musical story...At the end of the concert the wall was made to collapse once again revealing the band..

During this tour relationships between the band were at an all time low - Roger Waters remained isolated from the rest of the band staying in separate hotels from the other band members - Richard Wright who had left the band in 1979 returned to perform as a salaried musician & actually was the only one who made a profit from the venture - the tour itself although successful actually lost money..

This double album contains selected tracks from the August 1980 to June 1981 performances at Earls Court London it does contain two extra tracks than the studio version - 'What shall we do now' & 'The last few bricks' which were put in to give the brick layers on stage time to complete the building of the cardboard wall - 'This album captures the essence & energy of the studio version but does not flow as nicely...Although some may argue that it's better than the original studio version for it's rawness..either way..having both versions solves any comparisons.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2000
This really is a definitive piece of musical history. Flawless, spine tingling nostalgia. Every music fan should have this in their cd collection. What makes this unique from the studio album of The Wall are the different versions of the songs and the way it takes you to Earls court 20 years ago - you could almost be there. From first power surging notes of In The Flesh? The bone shattering bass on the extended version of Empty Spaces to the funkier version of Young Lust, Roger Waters talking to the crowd on Run Like Hell (just incredible! ), right through to the end. The muscianship & vocals are absolutely first rate, so much power leaving you breathless and reaching for the play button to listen over and over again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2000
If you're like I was, you're probably wondering whether or not to go for this one. You've already heard the wall and you may even already own it (I do). Let me reassure you that this is by all means worth it. The live performance has a strange atmosphere that will keep you listening the whole way through, it's like watching a classic film that never gets old. The book contains a great display of photos from the concerts and adds to the real feel to this CD, feels good. If you liked the studio version but still want more, go for this. The box set is also a great collector's item that you'll always enjoy. Even if you already own The Wall, this CD will still be a great buy. It's not the same thing twice, it's going deeper into The Wall. I was told I wouldn't regret it and that it would be worth it and I'm glad I took their word for it because I love this boxset!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2003
I approached this one with trepedation expecting a third rate,sloppy breathless version of the studio version but what you get is an amazingly energetic,tight and tension filled performance the whole way through.
The version of Comfortably Numb is in many ways better than the studio version although it would probably be better to know the original first before taking a chance on this,and that's the case with the rest of the tracks although the version here does not really match the magnificance of the original of Another Brick In The Wall Part 2.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2000
This is of course a natural 'must have' for any Pink Floyd fan. The book that accompanies the CD's is of the usual high quality you would expect of Pink Floyd material, descriptive and colourful. The engineering on the album is unsurpassed and does well to reproduce the quality of the concert. Everybody will enjoy 'The Last Few Bricks', which I hadn't heard previously. This also has to be one of the best releases of 'Comfortably Numb', with the same high quality of engineering accentuating every pluck of the guitar strings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I got this when it came out and was not fussed with it at all. I thought that, compared to bootlegs of the full unedited shows, it was lacking in spark/brio/excitement and was a bit lifeless.

Well time has moved on, I have changed the hifi and here I am thrashing my original opinion in a public forum. I think this is a tremendous live recording. When compared to the Delicate Sound of Thunder it holds ground with ease. Both sound like they were recorded the same night. It does not have the benefit of the Q Sound mix of PULSE, but that is really a minor quibble.

Everything has been wonderfully and faithfully recorded and is present in the mix. It is impossible to hear the edits or notice any changes in sound quality or instrument levels despite being made up from several concerts.
What really separates this from the rest of the live albums out there is the amazing range of musical styles and moods covered by the band and the various additonal musicians brought along to flesh it all out. This is surely as culturally acceptable as any of the supposedly grand works offered by the classical composers.

I can't wait to see the Australian Pink Floyd get stuck into their version of this as they tour the UK in the very near future. If the Ulster Orchestra can play Beethovens Fifth to acclaim then I reckon it is equally valid that the Oz Floyd recreate this masterpiece.

Kudos to all of those involved. A mighty piece of art/music/theatre! Live Darkside anyone??? The tapes must be out there....

Fully recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)