Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£154.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 October 2014
I have owned 'Pioneers' for a decade and have never grown tired of this compilation.

This takes us on a chronological adventure through the Devo back catalogue. The material is (on the whole) strong, quirky, entertaining, left-field and tremendous fun!

If you want a gateway into the world of Devo or a wonderful collection to play in the car, then look no further.

Also, look out for the holographic cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 October 2014
I have owned 'Pioneers' for a decade and have never grown tired of this compilation.

This takes us on a chronological adventure through the Devo back catalogue. The material is (on the whole) strong, quirky, entertaining, left-field and tremendous fun!

If you want a gateway into the world of Devo or a wonderful collection to play in the car, then look no further.

Also, look out for the holographic cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2004
This could have been a great collection of Devo's best works. However, it is marred by the bizarre decision to include alternative mix versions rather than the originals of key classic tracks. The strengths of the songs on these remixes are hidden by the producers' obsession with silly effects, which may have seemed interesting at a time when samplers were first arriving on the scene, but now sound very dated in a way that the original versions do not.
I have loved Devo since I first discovered them in my early teens around the period of their third album, Freedom of Choice. However, reflecting on their musical development with the benefit of hindsight, it's such a pity that synthesizers became more dominant in their sound with each new album.
People often speak about the first album as a landmark in synthesized rock, but, in reality, it is guitars and real drums come across most strongly, with the synths used merely as adournements. Synth sounds date much more quickly than guitar music, which is why most 80s music sounds so unbearably naff. Consequently, Are We Not Men still sounds fresh in a way that most of the later albums do not. It would be great if Devo reformed and re-recorded some of their later output using the instrumentation and production values of Are We Not Men.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2003
This is an excellent compilation which makes a remarkably good job of visiting the most important tracks in the band's history. Maybe appropriately, although they were influential and unique in their early days, the band found it hard to evolve out of their perceived quirkiness(that's what happens with plant pot headgear and orange boilersuits). But just look at the classics on here: Come Back Jonee, Satisfaction, Be Stiff, Whip It, Girl U Want, Freedom Of Choice. The music is spiky, fractured,funky in a weird sort of way but above all entertaining. This is the perfect introduction to Devo and in truth, unless you're a really commited fan, everything you need in the one package. This release also comes with comprehensive sleeve notes making it a very worthwhile purchase.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2009
Love it. This was first of their albums I ever listened to. Since then I have bought all the albums and their video. Contains different versions of some songs plus other tracks you can't get on their albums. So had to buy it. Its also rare.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2000
All the key Devo tracks on two CD's. This is just the way to replace vinyl. It is years since I saw them, but the music is still just a fresh as the first time. They were way ahead of their time, and still no one has quite caught them up. This is post-punk, probably "Techno" music dating back from the 80's. Cover version of "Satisfaction" is truly a unique interpretation - play the Stones' original, then listen to Devo. It's fantastic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2003
Here is a very good career spanning collection with decent sound quality, a nice packaging, and a 52-page booklet which includes the band's biography and pictures. I was only rather recently introduced to Devo and as a start, a few years ago I bought both of the 1990's Greatest Hits and Greatest Misses albums. After a few listens --considering my particular music taste-- I was not very much impressed by the songs I heard. I put the discs away on the shelf for another couple of years, barely having paid any attention to the fact that except for one song, the final three Devo albums from 1984, 1988, and 1990 were not represented on either of the Hits or Misses CD's. Luckily though, shortly after the release of this anthology, I suddenly decided to invest in buying it, and I am not at all disappointed to find out there are lot's of nice upbeat tunes from Devo's later albums on the second disc. After a bit of meditating, and with the intention of reducing my CD collection to the bare essentials, I decided to sell both of the Hits and Misses CD's to our local music store. Interestingly, due to my music taste leaning heavily towards the 80's synth-pop, I very much like both of "Shout" (1984 - now out of print), and "Total Devo" (1988) albums, despite most fans dismissing them as un-inspired works. By the way, the omission of the rare track "Penetration In The Centerfold" is probably an oversight, but this collection does include several of Devo's contributions to the movie soundtracks which were non-album tracks. This is all the more justifying why "Pioneers Who Got Scalped" is very likely destined to be an indispensable addition to your music library.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Very good album. I suppose with this many tracks, thereshould be everything that the fan would desire, but I only gave this four stars as they foolishly missed the classic track Going Under, which stands head and shoulders above Itsy bitsy teeny weenie yellow polka dot bikini. The first CD is way better than the second, but sometimes, as fans you get the group changing direction, and that is the case here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)