Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
39
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2017
This was a replacement to the original LP lent to a "friend" who subsequently seemed to disappear - to the purist this would be a disaster but to a singers fan I lost the crackles with the record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
A great budget album Elvis doing country songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Lots of songs here to showcase the king's wonderful voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
well worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
You can't beat Elvis singing country music - a top CD to add to anyone's collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
This compilation recorded in 1970, consists of 12 tracks (the original record), plus a bonus 6 tracks, including the full version of `I Was Born Ten Thousand Years Ago`. Small portions of this song are interspersed between the first 12 songs.

To call this a Country Album by Elvis would be misleading. It is, in fact, 18 country songs sung by Elvis, his way. A sort of Country Blues, Rock and Pop. Nevertheless, it is a very good collection and well worth the cost. We have everything from the sentimental ballad to the heavy rock sound. A good buy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2006
It is a great CD, but one small thing to note, there are 18 tracks not 19. For some reason they have listed track 8+9 as seperate songs. The full title for track 8 is is 'its your baby, you rock.' Then you go to track 9 'The Fool' and so on..
Its a small matter but as 'its your baby..' is a hiden gem on the record, worth noting I think!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
One of my all time favourite Elvis Cd's, had the LP years ago and love it as much now as I did then. Adore how 10,000 years old links all the songs together
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2002
Released in 1971, "Elvis Country" is every bit as good as "From Elvis in Memphis" and "Back in Memphis."
It cracked the UK top 10(#6) and hit #12 in the states, spearheaded by the single "I Really Don't Want To Know/There Goes My Everything", which sold close to a million copies in America, yet failed to crack the top 20. "There Goes My Everything" hit #6 in the UK.
Many songs from the album could have been big hit-singles; instead RCA released "Rags To Riches" and "Life", neither song cracking the top thirty in the states (Rags To Riches hit #9 UK).
"Elvis Country" is a mix of country standards, classic and some country rock. Every track is excellent, from a rocking "Washed My Hands in Muddy Water" and wild "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin On" to a gentle, yet bluesy "Funny How Time Slips Away."
Elvis is as much a country singer, as he is a blues-man, rocker and balladeer and intertwined by snippetes of "I'm 10,000 Years Old" each somg flows effortlessly from one to the next.
Added on are bonus tracks from the his other 1971 album "Love Letters", which only hit #33 in the states, not going gold although placing only 1 position lower than "Elvis Country" in Britain (#7).
Yet, alone the songs alone "Love Letters" are magnificent, "Got My Mojo Working" is outstanding, lightnight paced, whilst "Where Did They Go Lord" is gospel inspired, and "If I Were You" we are back to country music.
This is a fabulous re-release, great packaging, digitally re-mastered plus bonus tracks from "Love Letters", which probably wont be re-released in it's own right.
I highly recommend this CD, the music is tremendous, I must also add that the re-release of the 1974 "Promised Land" album is equally as good.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
I bought this CD on a whim, given the cheap price. However, Elvis fans will not be disappointed with the quality of this CD. At first, I found the fade in/fade out of Elvis jamming to "10,000 years old" between each track frustrating, but it soon grows on you. This is the only reason I didn't give a 5 out of 5 rating
A good variety of country songs, from the soulful "Make the world go away" to the upbeat tunes such as "Snowbird". There is the popular "There goes my everything" and some cover versions of well known country hits, such as "Funny how time slips away", all of which have been recorded in the unique Elvis format.
The overall feeling of this CD is that of Elvis jamming, rather than polished studio recordings destined for the charts, but the quality of the digital overhaul, the power of his voice, together with a very competent backing group and eight bonus tracks make this CD a good introduction for Elvis fans seeking something a little different to the usual "greatest hits" compilations and 70s concerts.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)