Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
75
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.23+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2017
It's one of the most weirdest films I have seen. I remember watching it as a kid. So I watched it again as an adult and it left me with more questions than answers. Its a very similar theme to Inception. Its as if a nerd who has never left the house decided to make a film. Worth a watch. Quality of the product was good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
With mixed reviews, I was surprised how good this low budget move was (with some big names). Yes, it could have been better and slicker but it still had that worrying element of what is "game" and what is "real" and, indeed, does it matter if "game" is that real. Future game players beware!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
saw it ages ago - the movie rocks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this film and was a bit disappointed at first to see one of my favourite actors (Christopher Ecclestone) with a dodgy American accent.

Thankfully - after experiencing several twists and turns - I saw why this was the case and all was right with the world again!

This is a great Sci-fi film with some deep concepts. Imagine a world where people plug themselves in (via a port in the spine) to a virtual world. This is a film where people use gaming devices which are actually organic rather than machine. People become obsessed.

This is a thought provoking film - with gaming becoming more realistic, and more involved. With people being able to interact with others through game and live second lives there, there is a possibility that the line between one life and the other may become blurred. I'm sure there are people out there who are unhappy in their real life, but comfortable in their second one. What could be the consequences of having people who care more for people in a virtual world than in the real one?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 February 2015
This is a brilliantly strange and intriguing SF film written and directed by David Cronenberg. In a rural village hall a collection of virtual game enthusiasts assemble to test a new games system called ‘eXistenZ,’ and to their surprise and delight its world renowned designer Allegra Geller is also present. As she introduces the game there is an assassination attempt but fortunately she is able to escape with the aid of her novice security guard Ted Pikul. However, Geller’s ‘game pod’ is damaged and the only way to try and repair it is to enter a virtual reality game. Reluctantly, Pikul agrees to help Geller and we are immediately thrust into a bizarre alternative reality. Set in the near future, with many notable actors, this is an enjoyable romp with many unexpected plot twists and although presented with a light touch does pose some deeper questions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Love it or loathe it, this movie is essentially a one line gag, although it will probably take you 93 minutes to get the joke. Although it's about a new totally immersive virtual reality game [eXistenZ], the plot has nothing in common with films like 'The Matrix' - there's no alien 'war of the worlds' threat or suchlike. In fact this film has more in common with having hot tea and crumpets inside Star Trek's Holodeck with the safety protocols off. Besides eXistenZ is firmly set in our world and time, although it probably does represent a glimpse of the Playstation-8 touchie/feelie gaming future. Like 'Sixth Sense', the films power is totally dependent on not knowing what happens at the end (and the middle for that matter). I don't see how anyone could criticise the final scenes - that's exactly what the film is about. As the films power works best on first viewing, you could rent rather than buy, but with Jennifer Jason Leigh, Ian Holm, Jude Law and Christopher Eccleston involved, and a complex, almost irrelevant, script, repeat viewing is rewarding [plus there's the three voice overs from the production crew]. If Twin Peaks ever came out as a video game, it might well be eXistenZ. And what's the game eXistenZ's tagline? - "Play it. Live it. Kill for it".

Our eXistenZ movie DVD came with English audio and HoH subtitles (no other languages), PAL Region 2 locked, 1.85:1 widescreen, and the 53 minute documentary 'The secret world of Carol Spier', plus the theatrical trailer, as well as the three audio commentaries (Director, Photography & Special effects).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2003
If you haven't already seen this film, you will no doubt be confused by the mixed reviews that are featured here, ranging from five stars to one star. People often compare it to the Matrix as it deals with artificial reality and such, and thus people are disappointed by it not only because it doesn't have the same special effects, but in many ways it is simply not a superior film, though it has a more intelligent script.
People also have a problem with the ending where the film seems to fall apart and becomes very confusing. Personally I think that this confused ending compliments the film, whether it is intentional or not. There are some decent performances from the stars Jude Law and Jennifer Jason Leigh, and many small appearance from high flyers such Ian Holm and William Dafoe. This is a star-hunters dream.
I thought this was a great film that tackled the issues involved in an interesting and subtle way. The highlight for me was the scene where inside the game Ted says "We're both stumbling around together in this unformed world, whose rules and objectives are largely unknown, seemingly indecipherable or even possibly nonexistent, always on the verge of being killed by forces that we don't understand ... that sounds like a game that's not gonna be easy to market", to which Allegra responds "But it's a game everybody's already playing".
The DVD of this film contains pretty interesting commentary from director David Cronenberg and seperate commentary from director of photography Peter Suschitzy, and visual and special effects supervisor Jim Isaac. I can't say that I've listened to all three, and it is unusual to have commentary from anyone other than the director and the stars. There is also a documentary focusing on production designer Carol Spier. Why they decided to focus on these important but unrecognised members of the film crew is uncertain, but it does all make for some insight into how a film like this is made.
For this price, I would definitely recommend that you fork out for this DVD ... but only if you've already seen the film and know whether or not it suits you. You'll either love it or hate it.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
A virtual reality game is created which draws upon the ideas of the players. 12 people hook up to a game and then...things happen and you don't know what is real or what is part of the game. Players lose themselves and can't tell. Excellent SF movie for the mind. I can't believe I haven't seen this one before now. Picked it up for $5.00 as part of the "10 Movie Sci-Fi Pack."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2002
Of the recent crop of reality bending movies - The Matrix, The Thirteenth Floor, Dark City - Existenz is perhaps the smartest. Superficially a tale of a game designer on the run from industrial rivals in a dystopian near future, it soon takes a step beyond typical Hollywood virtual reality and begins to question what it really means to be in an undetectable simulation.
Existenz doesn't boast stunning visuals or ground breaking effects, but its strength lies in its understated presentation: without realising it, you are gradually sucked into an increasingly disturbing metaphysical territory. Of all the abovementioned films, Existenz is the only one that actually forced me to pause for a moment in order to recollect which of the nested levels of reality the protagonists were currently experiencing, and the only one where the post-movie conversation centred more on the intricacies of the premise than the effects.
And it's always nice to see a movie that credits the audience with some intelligence. It's perhaps unfortunate that such a clever film drips with Cronenberg gore, but if you can stomach that, it is still fully deserving of its five stars.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here