Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
Get Into You
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 25 February 2015
Amazing album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2009
Over the past few years us Dannii Minogue fans have been treated to more that most specific-artist fans could even dream of. In 2006 we were treated to her first UK Greatest Hits 'The Hits And Beyond', that itself was so much more than your standard hits collection - not only did it feature 15 classic defining-pop moments but it also boasted 5 new tracks to whet fans appetites. In November 2007 Ms. Minogue brought us more stocking-fillers than we could have even hoped for. Her third album, 1997's 'Girl' and 2003's 'Neon Nights' were both re-issued with bonus remix discs and a plethora of b-sides, rareties and previously unreleased tracks and mixes. Also came The Video Collection, a DVD of all her clips so far, plus her 5th studio album 'Club Disco'. On the same day 'Unleashed' was - unleashed on us (I'm sorry, but it had to be done!). A hybrid release of hit remixes and previously unreleased demos from 2002-2004 it showcased a different side to Disco (as her fans and friends know her), experimenting slightly with the r'n'b sounds that echo back to this, her sophomore album from 1993 'Get Into You'.

Despite opening with the sugary sweet pop hit 'This Is It', the album is not in the same vein. 'This Is The Way' flirts with the early 90's dance scene and despite not being the huge hit it deserved to be (peaking at #27 in the UK charts) it is still as delicious a pop tune as ever. 'Be Careful' is a standout track, with gorgeous vocals and 'Wish You'd Stop Wishing' sounds as fresh as it did when the album was first released. 'Love's On Every Corner' showcases the songwriting talents of Cathy Dennis (who went onto pen older sister Kylie's 'Can't Get You Out Of My Head' amongst many other pop hits) and 'Get Into You' unleashes the rock goddess inside Dannii. As well as featuring the entire album re-mastered the main pull of this re-issue is the 3 previously unreleased bonus songs AND a b-side that was previously only released on cassette single! All 4 bonus tracks are worth a listen, with 'Feels So Good' in particular shining through as a standout. The bonus disc features a few gems, in particular the mixes of album track 'Be Careful', a song that should have been a hit single for this album.

Add onto this package another fantastic 24-page booklet, packed with photos and full album lyrics and this package completely exceeds all expectations. Once again Dannii does not disappoint, and it's releases like this that show just how much she loves and cares for her fans that have supported her all these years. There are very few artists who would invest all this time, effort and extras content into album re-issues and special fan releases.

Make sure to also check out 'The 1995 Sessions' if you haven't already!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 October 2009
GET INTO YOU was originally released in 1993, and is remembered for hosting the pure pop of This Is It - which is still one of Dannii's biggest selling singles. But, as the reviewer below me already pointed out, don't expect the whole album to be in the same vein - Dannii has admitted that she didn't enjoy the experience of making this album, as the producers changed the poppy formula and pushed the little white Aussie girl to do soulful R&B instead.

Dannii's vocal coach encouraged her to smoke a pack of cigerattes before each recording session for this album, to give her vocals a deeper rasp, and it is apparent. She sounds totally different on this album - different and really, really good. Its a shame she didn't enjoy making this album as I'd have loved her to have done another album in this style. When you strip the synths and voice effects away, Dannii does have a very pleasent voice and strong vocals. This album, and it's five singles [check 'em out on Youtube], proves it.

I don't know why this album flopped - it still sounds great 20 years later.

***

[Disc one]

1. This Is It
2. Love's On Every Corner
3. Until We Meet Again
4. Tonight's Temptation
5. Be Careful
6. I Dream
7. Show You the Way to Go
8. Lucky Tonight
9. This Is the Way
10. Get Into You
11. If You Really
12. Wish You'd Stop Wishing
13. Kiss and Make Up
14. Feels So Good *
15. Hold On *
16. If You're in Love With Me *
17. It's Time to Move On #

[Disc two]

1. Show You the Way to Go (12" Version)
2. Love's On Every Corner (12" Club Mix)
3. This Is It (Alternative 12" Mix)
4. This Is the Way (12" Version)
5. Get Into You (Hustlers Convention Disco Mix)
6. Be Careful (Eric Kupper 12" Vocal Mix)
7. Show You the Way to Go (Eron Irving Remix)
8. This is It (Doc & Baron Freestyle Remix)
9. Love's On Every Corner (12" Bass In Your Face Dub)
10. Get Into You (Arizona Club Mix)
11. Show You the Way to Go (7" Dub)
12. This Is It (One World Original 7" Mix)
13. Be Careful (Eric Kupper Radio Edit)

* Unreleased
# Released on cassette only as B side to This Is It.

_

Album singles; Show You The Way To Go (Charity single), Love's On Every Corner (Wrote by Cathy Can't-Get-You-Out-Of-My-Head Dennis), This Is It (Dannii's biggest selling single, after All I Wanna Do and I Begin To Wonder), This Is The Way and Get Into You.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2008
Barcode: 9399601175127

Get Into You (released in the UK in 1994) marked the 5th single release from Dannii's album of the same name as well as being her last proper UK single until 1997's All I Wanna. Thus it effectively acts as a bookend to the first half of her career while at the same time being one of the best tracks she released in that period as well as being perhaps the biggest deviation from her trademark sound of that time.

At heart it's still dance-pop but Get Into You takes that and packs an insanely catchy guitar hook onto an irristible dance beat, the end product coming out as a simply amazing pop tune with a passing resemblance to EMF's classic 'Unbelievable'. Loaded with soulful backing vocals and a great singalong chorus, Get Into You is to this day still one of my favourite Dannii tracks.

Dannii has always come up with great remixes of her singles throughout her carrer and Get Into You is no exception. The Hustlers Convention Disco Mix is a funky little version which swaps the guitars for pianos in a delicious slice of retro acid house.

Meanwhile the Hustlers Convention Dub has a bouncy, summery vibe to it and brings to mind the Pet Shop Boys 1996 song 'Before'. The Arizona Club Mix on the other hand hints forwards towards the trance-tinged sound Dannii would take on her Girl album, a relentless beat and ace synth hook rounding off a set of brilliant remixes.

[This is the UK CD version of the single]

Track Listing:

1. Get Into You (Original 7" Radio Edit)
2. Get Into You (Hustlers Convention Disco Mix Radio Edit)
3. Get Into You (Hustlers Convention Disco Mix)
4. Get Into You (Arizona Club Mix)
5. Get Into You (Hustlers Convention Disco Dub)
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 August 2013
GET INTO YOU was originally released in 1993, and is remembered for hosting the pure pop of This Is It - which is still one of Dannii's biggest selling singles. But just don't expect the whole album to be in the same vein - Dannii has admitted that she didn't enjoy the experience of making this album, as the producers changed the poppy formula and pushed the little white Aussie girl to do soulful R&B instead.

Dannii's vocal coach encouraged her to smoke a pack of cigerattes before each recording session for this album, to give her vocals a deeper rasp, and it is apparent. She sounds totally different on this album - different and really, really good. Its a shame she didn't enjoy making this album as I'd have loved her to have done another album in this style. When you strip the synths and voice effects away, Dannii does have a very pleasent voice and strong vocals. This album, and it's five singles [check 'em out on Youtube], proves it.

I don't know why this album flopped - it still sounds great 20 years later.

***

1. This Is It
2. Love's On Every Corner
3. Until We Meet Again
4. Tonight's Temptation
5. Be Careful
6. I Dream
7. Show You the Way to Go
8. Lucky Tonight
9. This Is the Way
10. Get Into You
11. If You Really
12. Wish You'd Stop Wishing
13. Kiss and Make Up
14. Show You the Way to Go [12" dub]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2016
VERY GOOD ALBUM FROM DANNII she's very underrated this album showing a more mature r&b sound great vocals takes you back to the old school 90s vibe her first album being more pop orientated each of her albums getting even better from Girl through to Neon nights which are more dance being a Kylie fan I do think Dannii is just as good vocally and at times
more experimental with her,sound overall very good album worth it for let me show you the way to go alone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2014
Dannii is like her sister and can't do anything wrong in my eyes and she sings like an angel Love the song
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2016
I like dannii and her sister kylies songs and have every one of them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2015
Very pleased quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2015
Best ever Dannii song
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)