Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2009
This CD Is Still A Great Piece Of Work From Eat - Hearing It Live At Reading Festival On The Summer Of It`s release And Surrounded By Other Eat Fans Is Still A Fantastic 90`s Memory For Me !!
Standout Tracks Being Belly Town , Shame And The Awesome - Fecund (Bet That`s Never Been Used as a Song Title Again)
Can`t Recommend This Enough ,Listened To It On My i Pod In Cyprus Recently And It Still Blew Me Away
Try It , Love It !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
I Love this album!! I think it still sounds as good today as it did when I bought the CD when it it was released. Its good rocking indie that holds its interest right through the whole album. While, for me, Coldplay and Oasis have come and gone I still play this regularly. IMHO far, far better then their debut release.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEon 18 February 2003
Eat were an interesting prospect around 89/90 with their rather good Sell Me a God album & 1990's single Psycho Couch; then the band split & reformed with an alternate line-up. They returned with singles like Golden Egg/Bellytown & Shame (both re-recorded here), which were all very anthemic but appeared to try too hard. They now sounded more like a The Wonderstuff, than the slightly odd rap/funk-dance affectations of early songs like Gyrate & Fatman. Another analogy is the INXS-sounding Dogs of Lust single by The The from the same year...
Tranquiliser sounds like a pale imitation of the earlier Mr & Mrs Smack, while Bleed Me White just sounds like a wannabe hit (see also the tie-in single version that saw a member of The Cure in the video, Jesus Jones' Mike Edwards singing on Ice Pond & Miles Hunt from Wonderstuff appearing on another b-side). The songs here are just screamingly pedestrian indie-alternative stuff- only First Time Love Song really standing out (this sounds not unlike REM). Epicure didn't do it for Eat, which is easy to see why a decade or so later down the line; still, if they produced this now, they'd probably be as big as Coldplay...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
Without doubt a 5 star rating. 1st heard this band as a support at Wonderstuff Gig 1991. Brought back great memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
Blinding album, even better live ! Just caught them at a festival in Manchester - they're touring again :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
1993. Great! I remember 'Shame' from the clubs at the time. 'Bleed Me White' is also very bouncy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Brilliant 2nd album . Great live band too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
Zoverstocks simply the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here