Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
160
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2017
The last of the truly great 60's Connery outings, 1965's 'Thunderball' was the first aquatic bond of the series, and is still one of the very best. The welcome return of director Terence Young makes it feel much like the first two instalments, though there is definitely an emphasis on 'bigger'. The movies finale, a huge underwater battle sequence was ground breaking stuff, and still impressive today. This title was one of Ian Fleming's best literary adventures, and at this stage the movies were still following the books closely. In the years ahead 007 movies of this standard were to become increasingly sporadic, however in this glorious vintage, it was the fourth classic in a row. The blu ray transfer is quality too, for this one my own favourites.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
This is a review for Thunderball (Ultimate Edition 2 Disc) [DVD].

Another great Bond film with another impeccable performance from the best James Bond - Sean Connery. He delivers his lines with perfect aplomb.

The underwater sequences are breathtakingly beautiful, but the fights are not as exciting as those that are land based.

As usual, the verbal sparring between Bond and the main villain (Largo) is well written and humorous. The locations are stunning and so are the women.

Film ratio is 2.35:1. Audio is 5.1. Both of which are superb.

The extras disc is fabulous.

They don't make 'em like this anymore!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Thunderball has everything you could possibly want from a Bond film. Glamorous women, OTT villains, spectacular settings, cool gadgets, excellent music and brilliant action! This is my favourite Connery Bond film and I've always wondered why it never got as many positive reviews as From Russia With Love or Goldfinger.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
I was reluctant to buy this after the DVD 2-disc ultimate edition thinking how much better can it be.
The best improvement comes in the visual department where it actually displays 4K in the corner and then the film begins.
Immediately the sharpness of the movie is that much better then the DVD restoration process.
There is a big but, with the increased sharpness and detail comes increase grain in the picture.
There seemed to be a massive problem with film studios using cr*ppy film stock of the time which has nothing to do with the film restoration.
However this being the fourth in the series is less of a improvement than Dr. No so at the film technology was moving on at the time the film was made.
It is just a shame ITV keep on hammering the Bond movies to the death.
For a long time I didn't know or understand Thunderball especially after the success of Goldfinger but I watch it now and again recently and enjoy the opening 'health farm' segment with all the byplay going on. Claudine Auger is absolutely stunning looking leading lady but never saw her again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
Great movie and excellent quality I love the way they have digitally re-mastered on to a DVD. I love all James bond movies and the print quality is just great, bearing in mind it was originally a non digital print. The sound is great too at 5.1 dolby surround. Overall it's a great product to own instead of those old video cassette players.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
Slightly disappointed with this film as I was with the book. Very rare for me not to like a Bond book or film as I am a big fan of James Bond but I'm sure millions of fans will most probably disagree with me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Brill
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Vhs replacement
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
These old Connery classics are far better than any modern day bond movie. Truly the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)