Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2001
Its rare that i ever feel the need to wright a review on anything but upon purchasing this album i feel the need to tell people just how good this realy is.Being a fan for a long i decided to comlete my collection by buying the first album, the first song lets rip with noodlese's guitar skills and the following songs just make you wanna get up and jump along with the music. Such greats as Elders and Ill be waiting (there first ever realeased song) will have you singing along in no time, corny as this may sound most of the songs are damn catchy.The only song that really breaks the chain of greats on this album is the last which i personally find a bit annoying, but all in all this is a very, very good album which oozes with runaway guitar riffs, great lyrics and some good old fashioned loud punk songs. With there last two albums being a dissapointment to me( and im sure im not the only one) its a great reminder that The Offspring did and i hope will continue to make great, energy filled material which screams punk out at you every time you listen to it, if you like anything remotley punky i suggest that you slam this into your stereo, turn the volume up and mosh along to this truly classic album, there very best by far!!.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2004
Be warned: if you're a fan of The Offspring's new, more radio friendly stuff then this may not be the album for you. This is no frills punk rock. But don't let that put you off because it contains some absolutely amazing tracks with "Elders", "A Thousand Days", "Blackball" and "Out On Patrol" among my favourites. The only down-side to this album is that, being their first recordings, the lack of money shows in the production. But otherwise, this is essential stuff and you owe it to yourself to have it in your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
If your buying this record with the idea that it will sound like the radio friendly songs you hear by the band on MTV and Kerrang, your gonna have a bad time. Thats not to say this album is bad, not by a long shot, but it is a punk record. This means that all those pop hooks you hear in mainstream media don't exist. This album maintains the punk credibility which I believe only true fans will appreciate. If you want true punk rock spirit, get this album, you will not be dissapointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2001
Its 1988, a year after Dexter Holland and his school janitor 'Noodles' formed their band know as The Offspring. Punk is taking off more than ever before and the competetion is high.The offspring's first album unbelievably knocks out all competetion with a stunning set of short 11 songs, yet Dexter and Co arent even tired. They want more, and whats better is they can easily provide more (such classics as ignition and smash). This debut album was so easy for them they didnt know it would be so damn successful with one guitar less than at the present, the bass held up well, whilst the bass drum was used frequently to cover the bassist when he used the electric guitar with noodles. The result? A work of art, with the finest punkcore songs you will hear, with classy vocals and very catchy riffs. Enjoy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2001
This is the offsprings first album and its superb.This has a raw early feel to it and includes loads of great songs such as Blackball,Jennifer Lost the War and Beheaded(with its twisted but great lyrics).Overall this is a great debut album with loads of great songs.A MUST for true offspring fans.If you have just started listening to the offspring i recommend buying Ixnay on the Hombre and Americana before buying this this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
It's raw and great. I got the version with the final song that is removed on this download, I assume it was removed due to the PC police. Either way, The Offspring at their best before they went s***.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a classic punk masterpiece, it's not as good as Siamese Dream, Dookie, Smash and Weezer's Blue Album (although nothing is), it ranks just as good as Ixnay and Ignition, and better than their alleged 'sell-out' albums Americana and Conspiracy Of One.
Jennifer Lost The War, Elders, Out On Patrol, Crossroads, Beheaded, Black Ball, I'll Be Waiting and Kill The President are the highlights on this, and the rest are still great.
Noodles' guitar playing is better than ever, as too is Greg's bass playing.
If you like Ignition, Smash or Ixnay, then you'll love this!
BUY NOW!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 July 2001
You are not a true offspring fan unless you have this album.Better than the newer ones by far,with metal anthems like 'elders' 'demons' and 'out on patrol' with the sad ballad style opening 'i ll be waiting' portarys what the offspring are about the twisted and sadist lyrics of 'beheaded' make this album all worth while...BUT IT NOW!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2006
And not one of these "I love Pretty Fly For A White Guy" wannabes then you'll love this album.

The fact that Pretty Fly is so succesful says a lot for youth of today (of which I am an unfortunate particiapant). This is scratchy earthy and grungy Punk; something which does translate into the later stuff if you listen hard enough.

If you want poppy Punk don't buy it; if you want one of the greatest Neo Punk bands to ever grace the planet's first album showing them off in their working man days - this is your album.

ACE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
ok great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£8.54
£14.98
£8.44

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)