Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2000
From the opening few bars right through to the last track Omara Portuondo lifts you from the mundane exsistance to another place. I have listened to this album almost non stop since I got it. I even dug out my old Disc man and can be seen shuffling down the street to her music. I do tend to get some strange looks but they can't hear the music going through my head. There is something about this album that no matter how bad I feel when i put it on suddenly nothing matters anymore. A truly wonderful album that is very romantic and also very sexy. I can't remember the last time a song let alone an album had so much of an effect on me.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2001
Best known as the only female member of the Buena Vista Social Club she has been well established and respected as a singer in Cuba for over 50 years. Her passionate and emotional voice glides effortlessly through big band numbers, jazz and more traditional tunes and makes them all her own. The world has woken up over recent years to the mighty talent for so long hidden on this island, and Omara is up there with the best of them.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2000
From the very first track, Omara Portuondo's voice carries you away into a dimly lit nightclub. Her voice is magical, the music a perfect foil. Buy this, you will not regret it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2000
The Buena Vista Social Club has now penetrated the collective consciousness to the extent that the sound is imitated in several television adverts. This record has all the same wonderful qualities as the original, so that if you like the earlier records you are sure to like this one; but it has a sound of its own that will become just as ubiquitous in a short time.
Omara Portuondo's London concert this week was astonishing, bringing the entire audience to its feet repeatedly. She sang a good many of the tracks on this record then.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2009
Having attended the Buena Vista Social Club concert in Glasgow, and enjoyed it so much, this was the second of their CDs that I purchased. I found it one of the best CDs I've ever owned - completely different to most of the modern artists and the sort of music to listen to if things are not going well. Remember Edmundo Ross? - same sort of rythms but not as cheesy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2000
The sounds capture a deserted lounge at the Hotel National, Havana when the band privately serenade my husband and I, the sole dinners in a spendid ballroom sized formal dininghall, as they warmed up for and awaited the arrival of government dignatories."Buena who?" asked the two Caymanian (a Cuban neighbour)residents? It is infectious. Essentially cubano. Viva.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Love this cd had it years ago and then lost it so had to get another copy - love the Bueno VIsta Social Club if you like Cuban music you will love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Bought this for my husband as he is a real fan of the whole Buena Vista scene. We both love it. Wonderful voice and great numbers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
At the moment this CD is my daily in car music. It brings Latin America warmth and romance to a British winter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Beautiful music and beautiful voice .You wont regret buying this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)