Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
44
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2002
Moloko's 3rd album is definitely their best yet & perfect to introduce someone to their music. Nearly all the songs are great, with the singles Pure Pleasure Seeker & The Time Is Now standing out. The band have mixed a lot of different styles- Absent Minded Friends sounds like a pop r&b track. Most of the songs are upbeat and dance-ish, with Being Is Bewildering & A Drop In The Ocean as a contrast (They have more of a chillout feel). The reasons I didn't give the album 5 stars was because of 'It's Nothing' which is far too plain and sounds out of place, the rather pointless 'Keep Stepping', and a dodgy David Bowie impression on 'Somebody Somewhere'. Anyway it's a brilliant album, and with the remixed Sing It Back, what more could you want?
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2002
An eclectic set that ranges from highly original to highly crass. Many snippets will irritate, but at the same time the production is first class and even the crazy lyrics do seem to gel. There is some exceptional material here overall - the thinking person's pop!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2009
I rediscovered this in my CD collection recently having not listened to it in quite some time. There are a few good tracks on it, namely Pure Pleasure Seeker, Absent Minded Friends, Indigo and Time is Now but generally isn't the most memorable album ever made. If you're a big Moloko fan then it may be worth you purchasing this - but otherwise I'd give it a miss.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Moloko's third album - more focused and less bizzare and experimental as their first two.
What a great duo they were - experimental, haunting, thought provoking, electronic funky soul with Roisin Murphy's voice sweet honey gliding over the top of the danceable, thumping shimmering electrobeat.
If you like groups like Goldfrapp, Ladytron, New Order, Kate Bush, Tori Amos you will love them.
Such a shame they only recorded four albums and a greatest hits package, but Roisin's three solo albums are worth checking out also.
If I could give it more than five stars I would.
Stunning and Essential, if only all music were as good as this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2002
If you don't like this, you don't like it. Nothing I can say will change that. What I will say is this:
It's one of the greatest albums ever made by a quirky band who actually experiment. If you want a band you'll like straight away, but get insanely bored of very quickly, search under "Hear'say" or "Westlife" or "Disposable pop".
If you are going to say that you like experimental music, then fine, but don't expect easy listening. I always hate the things I like for the longest. I couldn't bear this CD when I first heard it, but I put it on one day and haven't looked back since. Each song grows and grows and grows.
Good experimental music is different, by its very nature. If you don't have the time to get past the initial "erk!", don't buy this. If, however, you're prepared to put the effort in, Things To Make And Do will pay dividends.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2003
Bought this one for fun the other day and I must say don't listen to any of the reviews that have the word POP in them. This is not pop (thank goodness) and it's not dance (again thank goodness), it <i>is</i> experimental electro/indie cross-over. Enough of that rubbish though...

Strong sometimes funky beats (yes, yes 'Time is Now', 'Bring it Back') with Roisin Murphy's gorgeous voice spilling in and out throughout. Plenty of adequate warped sounds wrap it all up. The first nine tracks are excellent, there are a couple of goodies after that although it tends to meander a bit toward the end. Finishs with a great track but a pity it's not a great mix of said great track. Favourite track is 'Mother', appropriately crazy (almost sounds like Primus! weird).

Anyway, v. cool check it out. If you like this sort of experimental, quasi-electro, rock then check out Spiderbait from Australia and the Headless Chickens from New Zealand similar genre albiet both bands are much, much better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2000
Anybody who is expecting to buy this album thinking that every track is dance music will not be pleased, it is an experimental, original album containing many genres of music from Dance to Acid Jazz. R.Cuthbert
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
I am a fan! Reason? Well, being British I am in love with eccentric and strange music with tinges of genius. There are no acts quite like Moloko. Their uniqueness intrigues me. And their sound captures my imagination. I would call this album, twisted funk with an edge of melody. Original to say the least!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2000
Praise the Lord that Moloko haven't jumped on the 'Dance Anthem' bandwagon and have hit back with a sizzingly original follow-up album. Although the glorious 'Sing It Back' is here in its full remixed glory as a bonus track the rest of the album is truly a mixed bag (in a good way). We have elements of 80's electronic, rock, dance, latin, balladry, folk and much more besides all tied together with Roisin's voice, a contender for best female vocalist, surely, purring one minute, mindblowingly scary the next. The orchestration ranges from simple guitar to epic beats and electronic sounds as in 'Absent Minded Friends'- I haven't been so seduced by a song for a long while. The album is deprived of its fifth star for it tendency to be irritating - with snippets of music that make no sense and seem to have no significancs. However Moloko are stars of the future and as long as they have ideas they will be remembered for more than an summer in Ibiza.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2005
If you were gripped by the vocals and beat of "bring it back" a few years ago then you should try out the versatility of the rest of this bands work. Sure that track went mainstream, but it didn't quite fit the mainstream mould and here in lies the beauty of this band. Stunning vocals, intensely interesting lyrics and a creative power that is just the right side of sane.
Well worth a listen if but only for that facts that no two tracks are alike and for Murphy's captivating, endlessly fascinating voice, I find I can never quite believe she was able to do with it what she does. My personal favourite track is "absent minded friends", beautiful harpsicordal hooks and lyrics which question the superficial, uncaring and lonely dynamics of modern friendships and relationships. Daringly different and intelligent with the added joy of moving and crystally, beautiful music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.22
£7.93

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)