Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
31
Boston Blues
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 15 June 2010
Having been a later period Fleetwood Mac fan for a number of years, I was asked whether I had ever listened to any of the "Peter Green" era, more blues-based music. I had not, and having listened to this I have to admit I have really been missing out on something! Thanks Dad!

Essentially, this wonderful doble set is a compliation of the Live in Boston Vol.1: the Boston Tea Party,Live in Boston Vol.2: the Boston Tea Party and very hard to find on CD (and therefore expensive) Live in Boston Vol.3: Remastered. Songs which in the studio last a mere five or six minutes are given the full Peter Green blues treatment, and extend to well in excess of ten minutes, with the epic Rattlesnake Shake going on for over 24 minutes, and even then you get the sense that the sound recorder started to fade, as the song still seems to be going on.

This really is a prime example of British Blues playing at its best, from a band who were obviously enjoying playing together, on top form and were comfortable with one another - the sound is not perfect, but that adds to the authenticity of the recording - who wants a live record sounding as though it has been transplanted straight from the recording studion?

If you want to own just two examples of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac, you would not go far wrong with this, complemented by The Best of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac, to give a flavour of both the live experience and what the band sounded like in the studio, and I think you will agree, whilst the studio expereince was very, very good, the live one was out of this world!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
A terrific album, especially the first CD, showing the original Fleetwood Mac (including Danny Kirwan) in great form. Wonderful duetting guitar, or rather it's great to hear three guitars all doing different things, playing together (two different rhythms plus one lead guitar, for example). Docked one star only because of some wierd sequencing, such as Peter Green announcing "That's the end of our first set", twice, when there's only one number to go. I wonder whether this is because the original vinyl track listing has been added to for the CD release, with the extra tracks just stuck on the end rather thoughtlessly: I don't know, but anyway such an excellent album deserves better treatment. This set has been released in several different forms and slightly different titles over the years and whilst I have not heard any of the others I can certainly recommend this one. The original FM was unique and much missed, but i will play this album more than most of the others: that's high praise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2010
If you are a fan of early Fleetwood Mac-or Peter Greens Fleetwood Mac as they were once known, you are gonna love this. Right from track one this live album delivers on all fronts. The great man is in top form singing beautifully and playing his guitar in a style as only a few can have ever even dreamed of managing. Green Manalishi and O Well are delivered in blistering fashion-but for me it's my favourite ever PG and Fleetwood Mac track-Rattlesnake Shake-that steals the show. Great playing and vocals from the rest of this classic Fleetwood Mac line-up only add to the mix. Second part of the show turns into a bit of a jam session-but it was very much the thing to do back then.If you are not aware of Peter Green at his brilliant best, or you want to hear how the early british blues scene of the late 60s turned out some great music- I suggest you buy it and listen.Fantastic live double album and cheap as well-just brilliant.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
Great album. Super quick delivery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2013
Exactly what I expected soulful blues singing with excellent guitar playing Cheap and worth being in every solid English Electric Blues collection illustrating a time when the Band were at their peak
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2013
Just ordered this CD after by chance hearing Jumping at Shadows on the net, this track nearly brought me to tears, the solo,s and singing are one of the best blues tracks I have ever heard. I always been a Greenie fan but looks like this CD had slipped through my fingers, can,t wait for it to arrive and load it on my MP3 player and blast it in my car....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2012
If you are an early Fleetwood Mac fan then you have probably already got this , if not make you sure you get it. Peter Green and all at their best, Great tunes , some great singing, great solos and fantastic jams. just the best
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2014
i rated my 700 albums and this is my number 1 in front of a sam cooke one. this should be owned by anyone into music seriously. this is the best blues band of all time on top form fronted by a genius in peter green. forget clapton etcc this is something else, the only down point is that it doesnt go on fo 4 hours with peters rendition of good mind to give up living,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2013
Great album for pure atmosphere of the time, all round there is some very good music here - great jamming; but in the end there is nothing that really nails it. I was hoping to find a memorable Peter green lenghty guitar solo, or two but there's nothing that stands out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2015
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)