Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
37
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 February 2007
This is a classic cartoon from the eighties and I bought it for my kids having enjoyed it as a child myself. I must admit to being a little bit disappointed with the quality of the DVD itself. The movie is great just as I remembered, catchy songs, great voices and likeable characters but they have not 'cleaned' up the DVD. It's worse than on a VHS copy and really bad sound. There are absolutely no extras apart from 'Play' and 'Scene Selection' which is a shame. But at the price it's worth it. The kids have been watching it over and over.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2005
I loathe how Hasbro are treating the My Little Pony line now. Not only are the new line of toys poor quality, but so is this DVD. It plays badly and it looks like it was just re-recorded from VHS. The cover of this DVD is also poorly done, with cheap artwork and awful grammar mistakes in the vague summary on the back.
I have a well-loved VHS copy of this film from my youth and it's in better shape than this DVD. What does that tell you?
Cheap and tacky DVD aside this is a fun film. Not the greatest script or animation wise, but it's still a nice nostalgia trip. The songs stay with you for a lifetime.
In conclusion: Great nostalgia, awful DVD.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2000
Its really good its the sort of film you will remember for years, literally, i was 4 when it came out and am now 18 and i still think its the bees-knees! Just watch it and you'll see how amazing it is!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2003
Little girls love anything to do with ponies, especially if they're long-haired, pink and glittery, so this film would have done well even if it hadn't been any good. But it is. What other reviewers haven't mentioned yet is that it's packed with excellent songs - far more than a Disney movie has - just for the fun of it. The best characters are the brilliantly funny witch, Hydia, and her two daughters, who just aren't evil enough to be a credit to the family. Wait till you see the scene where Hydia threatens the girls with the ultimate punishment - making them eat ice cream. I'm so glad this video is still available from Amazon.com. We hired it in Australia when my daughters were tiny, and have been overcome by a smooze-like wave of nostalgia on finding it again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2002
This, along with Care Bears: The Movie, were the first two films I ever saw in a cinema. How pleased I was to find both of them actually available on Amazon.co.uk!
I bought them (much to my Mum's exasperation)and enjoyed watching them over and over again. I think they're even more funny now that I'm old enough to understand the jokes. Buy them, buy them, buy them! You will soon find yourself joining in during the songs (utterly tragic the way the lyrics have remained surgically attached to my memory I know) and proving that they can still be enjoyed by all ages (even reluctant adults like myself).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
At least this is the proper version though, with all the songs you remember & all the characters. Now a lot of you may say it's not the best of films or cartoons, but do remember this was from the 1980s & meant for children, so please bear that in mind. Plus the G1 stories are good in their own right, featuring villains, doubts, courage, hope, & how the misfit is the one who saves the day or solves the problem, so just enjoy this trek down memory lane to see what we grew up wi xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
I used to have this on video when I was a child and, like my other MLP videos, I watched this countless times. My brother and sister also loved this film when they were younger. Although my brother's 22, he now has a copy of this film on DVD that my mother ordered from this site.

I have just rented this DVD from Love Film to check the quality before purchasing and it wasn't as bad as I thought. It still had a fine mix of good and evil characters (including the colourful ponies), beautiful scenery, catchy songs and memorable dialogue.

I will update this review when I purchase this DVD. 4/5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2003
Growing up on the My Little Ponies was certainly helpful... They taught good values and confronted weighty moral issues like peer pressure and ostracism. For a cartoonist-in-training, though, I think I loved them most for their pure psychedelic prowess. This film is case in point:
The enemy in this film is the hillarious 'Smoo', a rolling purple mass that glurbs and bubbles across the countryside, covering all of Ponyland eventually (this stuff's great! Eyes comes to the surface, pop out, and are swallowed up again!). It's the job of the little ponies to find the supposedly mythical flutterponies to help vanquish the appiration (brought upon them by the toadlike witch-mamma and her two Laurel and Hardy-type daughters).
As a quest film, it's a joy to behold, bringing all the best characters of the series to confront strange new landscapes and amazing creatures on their way. The songs are great too, just the sort of thing a six year old will drive you batty singing all day! -- like babypony Lickety Split's duet with the pink dragonling Spike ("I'll go it alone") when she realises she's just not fitting in, and ends up on her own epic quest, meeting a cave full of funny little creatures that help her on her way, or the echoing-well song when she bemoans her outcast state, eventually realising that a flutterpony is stuck in the well and is asking for her help!
Megan's there too -- the veritable Barbie of MLP -- and her relations who might as well be Ken and Skipper, and she takes care of all the stuff that needs opposable thumb-usage.
This film will delight young people who've never seen it, as well as older people who have. ;) And the DVD format means that you don't have to deal with all that graininess and line-forming that we all remember from the 80s!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2007
I remember thinking this movie was fantastic when I was a child and my five year old daughter is now loving it just as much as I did. However, I do not have any memory of the ponies' voices being so high-pitched, screechy and fingernails-down-a-blackboard annoyingly hideous! Whilst I was delighted to see it again for the sake of nostalgia, I now have to leave the room when my daughter puts it on for the twentieth time...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Watched the film all the way though and when got to the film close to the ending would just freeze than go to the end credits I tryed turning the dvd player off and on and everything but still would do the same so couldnt see the ending of the film and paying that money for a 2nd hand dvd for it not to work I wasn't happy as cost 12 pound something
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)