Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2015
I think this is the best concert I've seen by the Stones on DVD. The choice of songs is better than usual. Yet to hear a good live version of 'It's Only Rock n' Roll', though. Stand-out songs include Bob Dylan's Like A Rolling Stone, Satisfaction, Jumping Jack Flash, I Wanna Hold You, Gimme Shelter, Out of Control, Let's Spend the Night Together, Honky Tonk Women.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Good gig and sound quality and video footage is good .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2003
AS a die-hard Stones fan (even though just 14 years old) I recently went to Twickenham to see them in concert and trust me, they are amazing, they truly lived up to there title as 'the greatest rock n' roll band in the world'.
Ofcourse, not everyone gets to see them live (I was very lucky) so to get the nearest experience to it possible Buy this DVD.
With fantastic camera work, stunning visuals and amazing sound this is ,in my opinion, the greatest live music DVD ever released. Jagger's vocals are excellent, Keith's just as cool as ever (if not cooler) and his playing is superb. Ronnie gives his usual energetic performance and Charlie (whilst still managing to keep a straight face) never misses a beat.
They play all their classics, 'Gimme Shelter' 'Brown Sugar' 'Honky Tonk Women' etc. and they are joined by Dave Matthews for an astounding version of 'Wild Horses'.
They also play some songs from the 'Bridges to Babylon' album including 'Saint of Me' and a larger than life version of 'Out of Control'. Keith does a fantastic version of 'I wanna hold you' from the 'Undercover' album.
The Stones give an umbelievably energetic and exciting performance for their ever increasing age (they were just the same when i saw them on the licks tour), in my opinion they get more and more cool as they get older.
With the best ever live recording of 'Satisfaction' to open up with,
just sit back, turn up the volume and let
the Rolling Stones rock your world!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2001
Compared to other live-recordings this DVD clearily lacks good surround sound. Yes, it is in Dolby Digital 5.1, but all you are getting from your back-speakers is the audience roaring. Turining your amplifier to Stereo makes it actually sound better... So if you after the ultimate Stones Sound Experience... this is not it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2001
A disappointment. The disc has the feel of a VHS video, copied to DVD. Perhaps the concert wasn't the greatest, with several songs from the (weak) Bridges to Babylon album, and the selected "greatest hits" sounding tired and drawn-out, especially when compared to the 1990 "Urban Jungle/Steel Wheels" tour. The editing was curious too: plenty of shots of the crowd staring at their beers, walking off to the bar/toilets, or even heading out to the exits before the rush at the end! There is very little information supplied with the disc, not even telling the viewer which particular Enormodome the show was filmed at, or when. Nothing here to win over new fans, and testing the patience of those with a soft spot for the self-proclaimed Greatest Rock N Roll Band In The World.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
The Stones are brilliant (even though they aren't really getting *all* the way down through most of it) but I'm frustrated by the filming, which seems pretty clueless as to who/what's worth focussing on. The eye candy gets a woeful overdose of attention - I found I was even closing my eyes at times in order to concentrate on the music, which kind of defeats the purpose of a DVD, doesn't it. Okay okay, Mick sure is something, but I want to see a *lot* more than just the front man.
Apart from that, and apart from the fact that the sound gets weirdly uneven in the last quarter of the disk, it's a fine show, and I'm glad to have it, but there have been much better-done Stones concert films before and since.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2002
Whoever says that the Stones in their Bridges to Babylon are tyred and trite must be suffering from personal problems, are not real music lovers and they're certainly not Stones fans. This concert recorded in St.Louis Missouri, during their 1998 Bridges to Babylon Tour is a masterpiece of technical ability, professionalism and raw rock music at its best. From the moment the star bursts out of the Oval screen with the opening chords of Satisfaction, you know that you're in for an entertating two hours of the highest magnitude. Even the new tracks from the same titled albums sound terrific, from Flip the Switch, a song that is a challenge and an affront to impending death, to Out of Control a fantastic and energetic anthem that shows Mick Jagger as a master of the harmonica and Ronnie Wood as the REAL stones guitarist that he is. For those of you who still argue that Mick Taylor was a better guitarist than Ronnie Wood, I beg you to listen carefully to what Ronnie has added to The Stones music. Sheer quality and drive. Saints of Me, will most certainly be the main track at my funeral, great lyrics, great song...electrifying performance. I could go on detailing every tracks on the DVD, but it would take too many superlatives and too much space to do justice to all of them. The highpoint of the concert is most certainly the masterstroke of having a small stage set up in the middle of the concert arena. This is where the Stones make their true statement of intent. Their absolute love and dedication to Rock 'n' roll. The ability to recreate the excitement of a small club in a huge arena with the focus 100% on the music. This is borne out in the upcoming 40 licks tour when the Stones will be playing small theatres for that more intimate and upfront experience somewhat lacking in big stadiums. The Stones once again confound their critics with a master performance of bravura and passion. Old? Geriatrics' Rock?...The Stones put to shame many young acts of today. Long Live Geriatric Rock. Long Live the Greatest Rock Band of all times. History in the making.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
Brilliant, classic tour footage with the definitive live version of Sympathy for the Devil. Nothing before or since comes close to the quality of this recording. Video is a bit ropey but I didn't buy it to watch I bought it to rip the HD Audio and encode it lossless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2000
A wonderful record on film of the best rock band to ever exist. The concert was all the years of countless hits coupled with the expertise of the best live performers on the circiut. A must for any Stones fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)