Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
48
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2016
One of the great 'unknowns'. Perhaps the best of it comes right at the end; but that's not wishing to underestimate the entire thing. A great album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 February 2001
I was a bit surprised to see someone thought the first album was brilliant but this was not so good. I'd suggest they keep listening. I've heard it through about seven times now and it gets better every time which is a good sign of a great album.
For the uninitiated, it sounds like it has influences of Neil Young, The Pixies & ELO. I liked the sound of it on first listen but I like it much better now - it grows on you.
This fully deserves 5 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Underrated and brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is their 2nd LP, to some it may seem to be a concept album. On the other hand, their genre can be described as Space Rock; Worth a listen just for that!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
this cd is a profecy. cool sounds and lyrics
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
Gorgeous album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Great lp extra tracks are a bonus
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
I bought this album at the recommendation of a friend who's musical taste I was dubious about. Having listened to this, I have been forced to reconsider!

I put it on as soon as it came through the door on my day off from work, so decided to give it the full benefit of my attention and listened to it in bed. Before long, it had lulled me back to sleep, but I believe it is a testament to the beautiful, melancholic compositions present that it did. Having listened to it almost constantly since, I still can't hear enough about Jed the android, the finest robot since Marvin from Hitchhiker's.

Really recommended, a fantastically unusual and inventive album with all of the lulling capabilities of a down-beat electronica band, with added vocal charm. Buy this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2000
yet another album bought after hearing one track on the radio (the crystal lake) and hearing a record of the week last year on mark and lard (a.m 180). i resisted the temptation to forward to the aforementioned single and started from the beginning. its a lot gentler and melodic than i expected from the various parallels i'd read. the first two tracks are quite simply beautiful and by the time my favourite 'the crystal lake' begins with its booming guitar line, i'd forgotten that this was the reason i'd bought the album in the first place. i defy you not to turn track four up as far as it will go. this deserves to be a hit, but it won't be, of course. they show a superb ear for a delicate tune and aren't afraid to use quirky effects that would sound twee elsewhere, but work superbly well here. surprisingly sensitive with jason lytle's fragile voice threatening to break at any time. this could be the future of accessible alternative music, because it's far out enough to please a lot of 'us', but its tuneful enough to reach an awful lot more of 'them'.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
This album is immense, from start to finish, even the one track on the album im still not entirely sure about after 9 years of near daily listening (Broken household appliance) has its moments but without exageration, the remaining 10 songs are classics that offer something whatever your musical tastes, from the beautiful "underneath the weeping willow" to the awesome foot tapping "chartsengrafs" via the wistful "miner at the dial a view" to the witty yet tragically sad "jed's other poem" the story of a man made robot who, on becoming ignored by his creators gets depressed, becomes an alcoholic and ultimatley commits suicide, Superb stuff! All that without even doffing my cap to the single releases off the album "Hewletts daughter" and "Crytstal lake" or the excellent opener "He's death, he's dumb, he's the pilot" Each to there own and all that but everyone must have a copy of this album, i defy anyone not to absolutley find at least one song on it that doesnt do it for them in a big way!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)