Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
160
4.4 out of 5 stars
Death Becomes Her [DVD] [1992]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 September 2015
This is a review of the German Blu Ray disc on offer here - not of the film itself.
The disc is fully English-compatible with no forced or burnt-in translation of text.
The picture quality is on the poor side for Blu Ray. detail is OK but there is a fair degree of black crush going on which looks somewhat un-film-like.
The DTS MA 2.0 soundtrack is good.
Extras are all in English, except for one German trailer. You can turn off the German subtitles for the extras, so it's English friendly. There is a 7-8min featurette, and a B camera roll plus 5 TV spots, a trailer, and a gallery.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2004
The passage of time weighs upon us all: the loss of youth's energy, agility, beauty. But let us say there is a potion, an elixir, "a touch of magic in a world obsessed with science." Drink it and you will be forever young. Do not drink it and watch yourself rot away with old age. Just such a potion falls into the hands of two women who are not only fierce rivals, determined to best each other no matter the cost, but consumed with vanity as well. Siempre Viva: Live Forever! Whether you like it or not!
With excellent performances, an invective-laced script, and remarkable special effects, DEATH BECOMES HER takes on several great philosophical and literary concepts--and subverts them into one of the most wickedly funny black comedies in recent memory, dishy, bitchy, mean spirited, and a tremendous amount of fun. Film buffs will particularly relish this film, which references everything from THE ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW to THE WIZARD OF OZ and a host of classic horror films such as FRANKENSTEIN, THE MUMMY, and CAT PEOPLE--and also tacks in everything from Tennessee Williams plays to rock legend Jim Morrison for good measure.
Unfortunately, the DVD release is commonplace, offering the film in pan-and-scan only. To give the release its due, the shift from widescreen to pan-and-scan is expertly done and not in the least distracting--but still, a widescreen option for such a special effects heavy film would be preferred. And while this would seem to be an ideal film for a making-of documentary, the DVD offers only a handful of production notes as bonus. Even so, the film is so extremely well done that I wouldn't miss it on that account! Recommended.
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
What an amazing movie. Was looking for it for a while now and finally found it. Good standard delivery and the quality is agreeable for the price and the 'age' of the movie. A classic movie which to my mind should be highly valued as there is an important message. It reflects the money making Hollywood giant and the media for which the majority of our society is falling for or naively believing, trying to conform beauty standards and a certain way of materialistic life. It brings the message across that beauty should be seen in a holistic way and that a life without morals and ethics is sad and senseless. This movie should be used for educational purposes, showing that the beauty industry is to be considered with caution. At the same time it is a lot of fun watching it as there is 'black humour' involved and the actors are just incredible. Especially Meryl Streep who is doing an outstanding performance, funny and convincing. She is one of the best actors of all times and has yet again has proven it in this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Since 'Death Becomes her' is a black comedy, naturally the plot includes lots of exaggerated parts. However, this movie is basically about every woman's endless desire: how to stay forever young and beautiful. Madeleine(Meryl Streep) is a movie actress obsessed with her falling career and aging body. Helen(Gold Hawn) is Madeleine's compulsive childhood rival. Helen also has a complex about Madeline stealing of her man. Eventually, they became great enemies each other and will fight until either of them to win. Subtly, because of drinking portions, duo have to help each other to survive. Every role is played to perfection and the jokes fly by very quickly. Especially, Gold Hawn and Meryl Streep gave an exclusive, hilarious performane ever. In my opinion, this movie sarcastically seemed to show the final result of the human addiction to plastic surgery. DVD is in a general widescreen version, not in full screen. Additionally, a brief making of film and trailer consists of a full screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
A terrific black comedy that skewers the vanity and lengths people go to staying young. Merle Streep and Goldie Hawn play friends/rivals through life and Ms. Streep steals Bruce Willis's character from Goldie. Goldie goes into a deep depression made better by terrific makeup work. Time passes and Goldie is now slim and successful while Ms. Streep's character is the embodiment of a lot of actresses over 40 heavily plastic and Bruce's character reduced from being a plastic surgeon to a mortician basically who hates his wife..the old rivals meet and as per usual the fighting and competition is on...Watch this movie for the super makeup and terrific performances by ms. streep and bruce willis..goldie is OK and at least we did not have to see too many gratuitous buttshots of her and not hear her annoying laugh....the ending is priceless and a good movie to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
I had seen this film years before, and it is fine. I quite enjoyed it the second time around.I actually enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I had forgotten some scenes, which possibly if I had remembered I wouldn't have let my daughter see, but even so, we both found it amusing (Bruce Willis, firstly with a wig and then with hair was surprising, it's been a while since I have seen him with hair). If you don't expect too much and go with the 'flow' then the film, although a bit stupid is quite good fun (waste of Meryl Streep's talents and Bruce Willis' though).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
It's a lovely, bizarre film from director Bob Zemeckis (Back to the Future; Used Cars), blending romantic comedy with elements of horror and suspense. Unfortunately the film (in this region 2 disc) has the 'zoomed-in' quality of a film that has been severely cropped, heavily pixilated and grainy. But there's a decent little documentary about the making of the film with interview-bits with the director and some actors.

For those who enjoy the film, look-out for the upcoming blu-ray coming out State-side this spring of 2016.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2007
Death becomes her has a really good idea: what would it be like to live forever, stay young and beautiful? I don't consider this movie gives an answer to that, but it represents one over-exaggerated view - a particularly well-carried out view. Goldie Hawn and Meryl Streep make an unique performance and fit perfectly to their roles. Interesting was also to see Bruce Willis in so different kind of movie I have used to see him. The plot was a little bit too easy to guess beforehand, but I didn't mind. Just great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2005
This film is funny exciting, nerve racking cause what happens is not at all what you expect the actors are brilliant and play there parts so good it would`nt be the same with anyone else playing there parts. The whole film is excellent there are no boaring bits, its all really amusing, this is a one of those must be seen video`s and once you`ve seen it you will watch it over and over again. I must say this is a classic film and trust me anyone will enjoy it even your granny`s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 September 2007
Rivalry between two women (Meryl Streep and Goldie Hawn) over a doctor/undertaker (Bruce Willis) leads to extreme measures. They take an elixir that maintains beauty forever with some minor side effects (and a belated warning by scantily clad Isabella Rossellini).

One woman becomes very twisted, the other holier than thou.
Who will he choose?

The great acting and good special effects will hold your attention. One must be prepared to suspend reality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)