Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
64
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2017
I didn't get this at all and ejected it after 30 minutes.
Maybe it's an American thing?
The idea that this repellent 15 year old nerd could be attractive to anybody, let alone an attractive 22 year old Harvard graduate, is beyond belief.
No thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
A good film , delivered sadly .Thank you .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Not my favorite sort of film, a bit whacky but better than the usual drivel. Worth a watch for sure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
I could not suspend any disbelief about this plot. Cringewworthy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
I found this film on VHS in my local bargain bin for £2, being a sort of on the spot compulsive buyer, I went for it.

As soon as 'Making Time' by Creation came on during the opening montage i knew i was going to love this film. The characters and interplay between them is superb (my particular favourite is the awkwardness between Ms.Cross and Max Fischer) and in my opinion, this is Bill Murray at his best (even better than lost in translation which I thought was brilliant).

The soundtrack is great, even the smallest cameos are well performed, and the director's idiosyncratic style shines through; if anything with more swagger and fun than any of his other films I've seen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wes Anderson showed no sign of a sophomore slump with his second film. That film was cult classic "Rushmore," a coming-of-age romantic-comedy-drama that actually seems halfway plausible. Wittily-written, well-acted, and solidly-directed with plenty of amusing quirks.
Max Fischer (Jason Schwartzman) attends the elite Rushmore Academy, and is perhaps the most unusual student there -- he's part of every club and team in Rushmore, but failing all his classes. He encounters an odd friend of sorts in the unhappy magnate Herman Blume (Bill Murray), who is impressed by Max. At the same time, he befriends the smart, pleasant teacher Miss Cross (Olivia Williams).
But Max's world is turned upside-down. When he tries to build a magnificent aquarium in honor of Miss Cross, he's expelled from Rushmore. Worse yet, he learns that she's having an affair with Blume, who's every bit as attracted to her as Max is. Will Max, having lost what defined his life (namely, Rushmore), be able to bounce back?
"Rushmore" is one of those movies that Wes Anderson does really well -- it doesn't fit neatly into any one category, it's smart, it's funny, and the characters are endearing in a weird, quirky sort of way (especially when engaging in a sort of revenge one-upping, for the love of the teacher). It somehow manages to be sweet and pleasant without being schmaltzy or boring.
The writing is humorous, but not the sort of snort-hee-hee comedy that most movies have. (The limpest humor in here is the "O.R. scrubs" joke, and then it's clearly meant to be lame). Max's particular brand of dynamic brilliance is outlined best in the Vietnam-based school play, a mediocre idea raised to amazing levels. And unlike most movies of any kind, it leaves you thinking. Are the places we WANT to be the best places for us to be? Or would we really be happier elsewhere? Are the people we adore the people we should be with?
Max is an unusual character -- smart and mature, but somehow not quite as mature as he thinks he is. He always aspires to climb higher and higher, and clearly sees no end to how far he can go, and Schwartzman does an excellent job without being obvious about it. Bill Murray does a fantastic job as the depressed magnate who doesn't like his life as it is. Williams does a less amazing job, but is good as the center that the other two revolve frantically around.
"Rushmore" is a different but fully worthy follow-up to "Bottle Rocket," and it definitely won't disappoint Wes Anderson fans. A wonderful movie by a fantastic director.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2006
I've been watching the films of Wes Anderson/Owen Wilson and Jason Schwartzman in a backwards manner. I really loved "The Life Aquatic" & "The Royal Tenenbaums", as well as Schwartzman in "I heart huckabees" so I decided that I wanted to watch everything else of theirs beforehand. If you liked any of these films, you will love this film too. It is interesting to see that there are certain themes which Anderson/Wilson have been developing for a while(for example, the whole aquatic/Jacques Costeau thing)and I love their unique, stylistic way of portraying things. These guys write scripts in a refreshing way and I hope you'll agree.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
Wee skidmark Max Fischer finds himself on the wrong side of the school authority after attempting to impress Miss Cross, who he thinks is the love of his life. This film has it all, and is an incredible breakthrough performance for Jason Schwartzman; I couldn't imagine anyone else portraying Max in a way where I want to hate him, feel sorry for him, laugh at him and fall in love with him all in under 2 hours.
Bill Murray plays Herman Blume, Max's only friend turned nemesis when he proves to be competition to gain the affection of Miss Cross.
The story is continuously over the top and at times somewhat unrealistic (aquarium in the sports field?), but at every point Max remains a character that everyone can relate to, either as a past version of themselves or maybe even what you are now. Again, as with Wes and Owen's previous and first script Bottle Rocket, the dialogue is hilarious and there are many a quotable moment. The performances are heartfelt and a character and location development change is clearly seen between Rushmore and Bottle Rocket with the setting being Wes' old school and each character having a history to explain why they are as dysfunctional as they are.
If you are a fan of Jason Schwartzman you should see this but be warned, Max is almost like the prelude to Gideon Graves of Scott Pilgrim vs The World - arrogant, eerie and selfish; so don't be let down by the realistic performance given by Schwartzman of a typical brat.
For those of you who are not fans of Schwartzman, unless you've saved Latin or written a hit play, I suggest you get onto watching this now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 November 2010
The film that established Wes Anderson as a major American 'independent'
filmmaking voice, after his very promising if somewhat uneven debut
with 'Bottle Rocket'.

Quite simply one of the most original films about adolescence ever
made. An unlikely love triangle between a teenager, his teacher and a
local business tycoon that's simultaneously funny, absurd and
heartbreaking.

Jason Schwartzman is great, and Bill Murray may do his best work ever -
side-splittingly funny, but with a damaged, sad, sometimes dangerous
edge just under the surface.

As in all of Anderson's films, terrific use of songs as score,
wonderfully inventive transitions and visual framing. And a lot of fun.

If you can play region 1 discs, the Criterion version has better
picture quality, and some terrific extras (the regular release is
pretty bare bones). It's more expensive, but worth it for a film
you're likely to return to repeatedly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)