Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
189
4.2 out of 5 stars
Ghost in the Shell [DVD] [1995]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 October 2017
I just love the whole franchise. If it is GITS it can do no wrong. Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Case designs are amazing and printed externally and internally. Like how the information card, that wraps the case, fully wraps the bottom of the case to create a firm and stable fit, rather than Studio Canal's Ghibli releases that slide around a lot more easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
It's definitely a great anime film. Bought it before going to watch the live-action at cinema and I really enjoyed them both. Anime is a lot deeper, the story has more to offer, animation is great, so is the soundtrack, but the live-action is easier to diggest and extremely beautiful too. Definitelly holds up to the anime. The franchise is a great watch for anyone that likes sci-fi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
My 16yo seems to like it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Fast, Excellent quality!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2005
the first time i saw GiTS was when i was sixteen and i have to admit, save the stunning action which on its own is absolutely a reason to watch this film, it was a bit lost on me. However I came across it once more two years ago, bought it, watched it without the stupid half-arsed American dubbing that had confused me originally, and now it is most probably the most watched film in my collection...
I'm sure you have read the Amazon review/ synopsis so I will try not to repeat, but it is all true. The pace and action style reminds me a lot of the film HEAT (Al Pacino, Robert De Niro) with long, reflective stretches cut up by hard faced, military style action. GiTS has enough to fill three films, weaving though a world of science fiction- terrorisim, political games, and an investigation that unpicks the two is on the surface of this story, underpinning this is a facinating love triangle where actions and vocal tones, not words, speak the volumes of need, desire and jealousy. Mamoru Oshii uses Motoko, and the film finally to spell out his own philosophical fears of the future, contemplating life, reality, existence and memory, but despite this i still find the puppet-master the most interesting character, although highly intellegent, commanding and controlling, under the surface he is jealous lonely and insecure.
Unless you are lucky enough to speak Japanese, using the DVD's English subtitle option is the only way to get the most from this film's heavy dialogue as using the American dubbing is futile, whoever arranged it must of either been very dumb, or not cared at all about preserving the subtleties of the voice acting or dialogue which has been altered to make the film more culturably watchable, but misses huge amounts of humour, character building and story telling in the process.
this film is great, buy it love it tell everyone else... After two years i still pick up on new things, its just great
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2001
This is one of the key anime films around (or at least one of the key ones released in the west), it's a classic sci-fi anime with lots of great action backed up with a complex but solid plot. It's very nice to see a film which is both intelligent and exciting. It is however, quite short for a full length film, which is understandable, this is often the case with animated films because of the amount of work which goes into them (and the work that went into this shows), but the pacing seems a bit odd to me whenever I watch it, for example, it seems to reach a climax too soon. This also leaves little room for characterisation, but then that isn't the real point of the story. What there is is a very complicated but incredibly intruiging plot which leaves you thinking long after you've seen it. I really wish there were more films like this but unfortunately they're a rarity.
The film, I would say, is a must-watch, and most probably one you will want to watch again. But there is the problem, as mentioned before, of the DVD's sound being out of sync with the picture. I did notice this a lot through the film and I found it distracting, some people might not be bothered, you'll have to decide for yourself wether to get it on DVD or not. It didn't totally ruin the film for me, although I had seen it before on VHS. The extras are ok, it gives you the option of the sub or dub, I always prefer subs since the translation is usually more accurate but it's interesting to compare, which you can only really do on DVD. The making-of documentary is perhaps becoming out of date as far as the technological info but there's some interesting facts about the film. The ROM content isn't that interesting.
I do hope a DVD without the sound syncing problem is available sometime, but I doubt that'll happen. If that won't get to you then I'd reccomend this.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2001
If you want a good overall picture of this, I think the reviewer from Poland has captured a lot of the films greatness in his review. Quite dark in places, of which Blade Runner really excels at, but it developes ideas prehaps more down a particular root, especially with time having flowed on since the writting of 'Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep' (the novel that Blade Runner was based on). Things include the internet, use of computer graphics in aiding the team, AI, etc.
As for it's origins, it was orignally a comic by legend, Masamune Shirow, writter of the Black Magic, Apple Seed and the Dominion Tank Police comics. The base for the film is very well founded, and I recomend any fans of the film looking into getting this after they see the film, they are sure to enjoy it, as Shirow has researched into a lot of the concepts this film goes into.
As for sound there is always a certain amount of buffering delay on any DVD, more noticable in some places than others (because it has to catch itself up). I can't say I have noticed any more a delay in GitS than any other DVD, but I have found it very enjoyable whatever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2017
Prefer the live-action movie's storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse