Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
187
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Ghost in the Shell is a science fiction classic. Despite being clearly inspired by other sci-fi, it brought many new ideas of its own to the genre and has been copied much in the decades since its release. There would be no Matrix without Ghost in the Shell.

The movie is also a masterpiece of visual and aural design, which should make for an amazing blu-ray. Sadly the reality is something quite different. Picture quality is really weak, with incredibly washed out blacks which make for an image which just looks incorrect. I doubt this was Mamoru Oshii approved. It's also very grainy. Then we have the audio, which is in 2.0 channel Dolby Surround Pro Logic. Yes, 2 channel. A 5.1 mix exists, but Manga Video couldn't be bothered to acquire it for this anniversary release. A great way to treat the movie which brought Manga Video so much success. There is a 5.1 dub on here if that's your thing, but it's not for me.

Extras are completely non existent. There is a very, very small booklet included with a few interviews in it, but that's your lot.

For a celebratory anniversary release it seems all Manga could be bothered to do was put the disc in a Steelbook case. It's a weak release and a disappointing way to treat such a cinematic masterpiece.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Japanese soundtrack is only 2.0 :(
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
My only gripe is that the japanese audiotrack is in 2.0. It's only the english dub that's in 5.1.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Case designs are amazing and printed externally and internally. Like how the information card, that wraps the case, fully wraps the bottom of the case to create a firm and stable fit, rather than Studio Canal's Ghibli releases that slide around a lot more easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
It's definitely a great anime film. Bought it before going to watch the live-action at cinema and I really enjoyed them both. Anime is a lot deeper, the story has more to offer, animation is great, so is the soundtrack, but the live-action is easier to diggest and extremely beautiful too. Definitelly holds up to the anime. The franchise is a great watch for anyone that likes sci-fi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
My 16yo seems to like it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
This review is for the 2014 Blu Ray Steelbook version of the film.

I won't go into the plot of iconic anime film of the 90s since you probably already know about it. Instead I will talk about the Steelbook and features.

The steelbook itself is quite nice. A matte finish with a nice shine to it. The front is different from what other previous releases have had, but it works. Nothing much to say about the back, but the inside art looks fabulous, This was the artwork for the first DVD release which I remember buying as a birthday gift for myself many years ago and so it is an iconic image that has stay with me whenever I think about this film. I am happy Manga Entertainment were able to put this image somewhere on this release and is of very good quality.

Now onto the disc. I'm not the most knowledgeable when it comes to the technical stuff, but as far as I can tell, the picture does look very good. Also to note that this is the original version of the film, presented in 1080p for the first time on a UK Blu Ray (Unlike the original on the 2.0 release which is not 1080p). The 2.0 version of the film is nowhere to be seen, so no George Lucas style CGI changes which I did not care for. Sound for the English Dub is 5.1 DTS HD Master Audio but sadly the Japanese audio is only 2.0.

Now for the reason for only 4 stars, the Extras. There are none. I was quite surprised as the 2 previous DVD releases all had extras and could not understand why even in SD they could not port those over. Even Manga's previous Steelbook animes all had extras and even a DVD copy of their films too, which this also lacks. Your only "extra" to say the least is a booklet which a decent read.

If you're after a steelbook and/or a proper Blu Ray of the original, then by all means pick it up. If you do not care about picture, versions, or Steelbooks, you might want to settle with the cheaper 2.0 Blu Ray or a DVD copy.
55 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
This review is for the blu-ray steelbook version and specifically its english audio track (without subtitles). I was really impressed by the quality of this release and i am not talking about the art on the steelcase or the booklet, these were just nice extras. I have watched all previous Uk dvd and blu-ray vesions of this film a couple of times, so when the disc started playing it was obvious that this copy is from different source/masters. The video and audio quality is SUPERIOR to any other Uk transfer of this movie. The original ghost in the shell or even the 2.0 version do not stand a chance if compared. The image is much much cleaner and the audio is suberb, if you watch it with your headphones you will be blown to pieces like i did. In a nutshell this is the ULTIMATE release of Ghost in the Shell, one copy is not enough! :)
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Fast, Excellent quality!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse