Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
121
4.8 out of 5 stars
For A Few Dollars More [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 April 2017
Won't review the film as I'm sure most people have seen it by now. The blu-ray of this while not being the best of this medium is still great and you have to consider the film stock it was shot on in the first place.

For me, a Eastwood spaghetti western fan, this was a buy that breathed new interest into one of my all time favourite films. Best way to view this classic, so what are you waiting for.

Quick bit of trivia for you. Accordingly Clint Eastwood is one of only two stars known to be able to fire a gun without blinking while on set.

Any one know who the other guy is?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
You can practically taste the tequila, heat and dirt of Old Mex with Messers Van Cleef and Eastwood forming a curious alliance to track an outlaw-cum-psychopath who leads a posse of Banditos on a bank robbing rampage. Cinematography is classic Spaghetti Western style. Close-ups of narrowing eyes and twitching finger tips run together with Ennio Morricone's rising mexican trumpets to peak before a pistol is drawn and a cacophony of gunfire ensues. Afterwards you'll be lucky to receive even a raised eyebrow from the ever-cool Eastwood, though you may get a witty remark from Van Cleef who boasts the coolest voice of that era. Not much talking. The way a good western should be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Same again for this Clint film Just catching up on old films I can't remember watching due to MS in brain,looking forward to watching them all this weekend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2017
Excellent item have been looking for this for husband.arrived on time good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2017
EXCELLENT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2005
I bought the original release last year. At the same time I bought the brilliant re-mastered Once Upon a Time in America and The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. I would encourage anyone to 'upgrade'. The film is beautifully restored to the same standard as the others, and you see the movie in a new light. The extra material is very interesting, especially the Christopher Frayling part.
In any case it is one of the best Westerns ever made.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2006
this is just as much a classic now as it was when i first saw it as a small boy over 20 years ago.

i would go so far as to say that "a few dollars more" is superior to "a fistful of dollars."

in this film, the plot is expanded to brilliant effect, there is more action, the setting is more widely spread than before and the music provided is the best i've ever heard in a western.

clint eastwood is his usual laid back self; lee van cleef is rather wooden as always. but the acting honours go to two people; klaus kinski as the gunslinger with the humped back is very good within the limited screen time that he has, but it is gian maria volonte as the crazed leader indio who really steals the film. a pity that there aren't more of his films available on d.v.d, as he is indeed a very good actor.

the special features included are good without being being marvellous. the best ones are the documentary about the film and the interview with clint eastwood.

there are many classic moments to be found here; the gunfight at the end, indio's escape from prison(or should that be a loony bin?), eastwood and van cleef trying to intimidate each other with their shooting skills and indio having a draw against some poor bloke who's got no chance.

sergio leone has really shown what a top director he is, judging by this film and the others that he has done.

i didn't know until recently that i had been watching a version that was slightly censored. these cuts have now been restored, as mentioned in one of the featurettes.

the budget was increased for the film, as the one for "a fistful of dollars" was considerably less. personally i don't notice any difference.

sit back and enjoy one of the best westerns ever made.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 November 2006
The 2nd film in the Dollars trilogy is a better film than the first. With the addition of Lee Van Cleef as Col Douglas Mortimer the film moves up another notch. Mortimer is another bounty hunter who is trying to capture the leader of a group bandits Indio (Gian Maria Volonte). Initially this sets up a marvellous confrontation between Eastwood's Monco and Mortimer during which Monco gets to display his skills with a Pistol and then Mortimer with a Rifle. Sergio Leone directs this scene (and the rest of the film) brilliantly, making the characters behaviour seem almost child-like.

This film also benefits from having a Klaus Kinski as 'Wild', who is a member of Indio's gang. The best scene in the film occurs when Col Mortimer strikes a match on Wild's stubble. Klaus Kinski's look of utter disbelief, not to mention irritation, has to be seen to be believed.

From beginning to end this movie is a masterpiece. However in case that isn't enough this new special edition DVD contains a commentary by Sir Christopher Fraying. He is THE expert on Sergio Leone and to a lesser extent Clint Eastwood. His commentary contains a mine of wonderful stories about the film, the director and the actors involved. If you find this commentry interesting then get his brilliant biography of Sergio Leone "Something to do with Death".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)