Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
74
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2013
this is a good film ,better than i thought it would be acting was ok story was ok and the CGI was ok .the sort of film you don't mind putting on if your having a night in ,good value at the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2004
This is a pretty short movie, about 1 and 3/4 hours, but it manages to fit in all the content without seeming rushed/cramped. I think the 15 rating is sensible - I read a review stating it was gory enough to be an 18 with ease, but once I'd watched it, I realised I'd been worried over nothing. The 'gore' is mainly blood, and the worst you'll see is the half-digested dude who is still up and about. Well, for about 5 seconds anyway.
When it gets down to it, Deep Rising is essentially a comedy. Okay, so a lot of people die horribly, but even in the sickest deaths, there's an underlaying of (albeit morbid) humour, such as when the lady gets yanked down the toilet in a spray of blood. See? Blood = horror, toilet = comedy. What a way to die. There are many great one-liners (Pantucci's nervous "I'm feelin' a real lack of love here..." when faced with an angry bunch of pirates or whatever they are), which are even present when the characters are in the most dangerous situations, just to remind you there's a funny side to giant tentacle things dealing out painful deaths. Obviously.
The actors here are all suitable for the role. Treat Williams is actually a lot better than most reviews say about him, and Famke Janssen is the token sexy female (other than poor Una Damon who ends up tentacle-chow). The pirates are led by... I think Wes Studi. Forgive me, but I don't know much about him, so I'll just stick with saying he and his posse were okay. My favourite actor, Kevin J. O'Connor (not the only reason I bought the DVD, okay?) is hilarious and does what he went on to do in The Mummy - steal just about every scene he's in, which is rather a lot, happily. XD
In all, Stephen Sommers has created a rare little jewel; a horror/comedy that doesn't take itself too seriously and is better for it. Laughable, bloody fun that gets to the action fast and doesn't slow down. A scary monster, overall good cast and some witty lines, there's only one bad point:
You may be put off taking a cruise forever.
Take care, JJ
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2000
Quite a crop of familiar faces can be spotted in this -tongue in cheek- take on the monster movies. Treat Williams stars as the 'ocean going' taxi driver, taking a bunch of modern day pirates, to a cruise ship in the middle on nowhere... and then the fun begins. A mix of thrills, laughs and straight, simple, shoot everything in sight, Deep Rising is the kind of movie that works best if you don't take it too seriously. Playing it for laughs is mostly the job of Williams' 'goofball mechanic' sidekick Joey, played to zany perfection by Kevin O'Connor. (Brendan Fraser's sidekick in the Mummy) The idea of a reluctant hero type does seem to be a recurring Hollywood theme these days, but unlike that other ocean going, action romp, 'Under Siege', there's no 'big explanation scene' regarding our monster slaying star, which I thought let the film down somewhat. Barring this little detail, there's fun aplenty, such as scene stealing beauty Famke Janssen (Goldeneye, X-Men) as a sharp witted thief, who was a passenger aboard the doomed pleasure ship, and 'chisel featured' Wes Studi (Heat, Last of the Mohicans) the leader of the pirates, who luckily have more guns than the entire cast of Platoon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Wow what a great film, tense, scary and claustrophobic, it is also quite funny at times and much scarier that aliens vs predator. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
this is one of my favourites. bought the dvd to replace the video. it is just a fun film, nothing terrifying, just a good old fashioned monster movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
I only had this on an old Video tape and it kept jumping, now l have the DVD l`m well pleased, this is an excellent film, good special FX,.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
This is a very under rated movie. Funny, entertaining and well acted. Good monster movies are few and far between this is one of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
WOW! what a mix frightening on the edge of your seat stuff with humour in-between beautifully balanced between the two. A fantastic purchase you will not be disappointed. I had to watch it twice and it was still awesome. thoroughly enjoyable a real treat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 April 2013
This fantastic action and gore fest sees Treat Williams as a sea captain for hire, his motto being "If the money is there we do not care". He's escorting a ship load of mercenaries deep into the south china sea where they plan to take over and rob a luxury liner. As the ships meet and the mercs board the liner it becomes apparent that something is very very wrong. The passengers are missing and the ship has already been ransacked. The culprit is a fully rendered sea monster which stalks the gun toting mercs across the lavish liner and into the bowels of the ship. With Stephen Sommers in the directors chair and a decent budget this thing really delivers in the action and adventure stakes; there is plenty of gore on offer too and Treat Williams character has enough one liners to put Arnie to shame. Famke Janssen is the lively love interest and Kevin J O'Connor providing comic relief. This is massively underrated and often overlooked in favour of Sommers work on the Mummy but there's loads to enjoy here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2003
Its one of those enjoyable things that when its shown on TV, you'd try and make time to see it (if you're into the action genre to start with). A fast-paced ride which can't wait to get out of its first 20 minutes of building up suspense and launch into sewer-pipe-sized tentacles squashing and ripping all in sight. And wait until you see the mother of all disgusting sea-monsters! And, while, as the others reviewers have pointed out, the film never pretends to take itself seriously, it never degenerates into something where the actors visibly don't care about their own acting, like in Starship Troopers. The acting is as solid as can be for a production of this style. A great comic-book-feel ending too, which has me screaming "why isn't there a sequel or a few minutes extra?!" every time. Probably best left as it is though. While in my opinion not really worth buying at this price, definitely worth seeing and will make a welcome addition to an evening's TV schedule.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)