Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
74
4.3 out of 5 stars
Deep Rising [DVD] [1998]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.89+ £4.04 shipping


on 25 July 2017
I've seen this film many times and just think it's fun to watch. Very tongue in cheek and far fetched but plenty of blood and gore for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Watched this many times. Excellent film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
This film is a personal favourite of mine, so I am delighted to finally own it on DVD. The price was very fair and delivery was fast and efficient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
I look forward to watching this film with my family, I watched it many years ago and have trying to get the film on dvd so my family could see how good it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
This was never meant to be a film that would tick all the boxes for an Oscar nomination, it wasn't supposed to be at the top of the list of nominations for an academy award. It was meant to be a fun, action packed thrill ride that will entertain and provide a good way to spend a couple of hours in front of the TV.
The story follows Treat Williams (as wooden as ever) who is giving some mercenaries a lift, what he doesn't know is that he's taking them to a luxury cruise liner that thye are going to board, rob and then blow up. But things take a nasty turn as from the depths of the ocean a monster rises and infests the ship, killing almost every single passenger (in a very gruesome manner) and causing the mercenaries and Williams a lot of trouble once they get on board. No sooner than they do board than one by one they get picked off by the hungry tentacles. The CGI is decent, not ground breaking, but acceptable enough for a film of this age and budget, the acting is decidedly hammy, though Famke Janseen is good as the thief who survives by being locked in a fridge and who ends up accompanying Treat on their journey through the ship.
Stephen Sommers is an adept director, having helmed such films as The Mummy 1 and later its sequel as well as the entertaining Van Helsing. As i said before it will never win any awards but it does offer up some thrills, spills and action and, for those of us who don't want to watch a film that makes us so bored we end up staring out the window, its perfect.
The special features are rubbish, but i doubt that anyone will be dedicated enough to this film to really be bothered how it was made.
Overall it is worthy of a three star rating for offering mindless fun with unique monsters and a fast pace.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
One or my top 3 movies of all time. Along with Virus and The Relic. This movie has everything huge guns, bigger explosions, scary sea beasts, plenty of gore, and awesome set pieces. I would have loved to have seen a sequel as the movie ends on that island. But this movie is just loud, dumb fun and so worth the 90 minutes of your life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
I agree with the reviews that put it in the big dumb bunch of fun.Well worth viewing ,it may be hooey but its great fun hooey. Exciting, suspenseful and some fun remarks and some semi scary bits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2005
In 1998 before Stephen Sommers had his world -wide hit with his re-make of "The Mummy" he wrote and directed this action horror thriller set in the South China seas, where a gang of criminals hire a ship's captain his crew and boat to take them to a certain point in the ocean, little does the captain know they intend to meet a luxury liner called "Argoautica" and unknown to him they going to rob the vessel but by the time they get there something has beaten them to it, the ship has become a floating house of horrors where the surviving passengers and crew are scared to move as whatever came aboard hasn't left.

The captain of the boat is played by Treat Williams (The Devil's own) a passenger on the liner is played by Famke Janssen (Goldeneye) a couple of the criminals are played by Djimon Hounsou (Amstad) and Jason Flemyng (Lock stock and 2 smoking barrels)

This film has some genuine jump out of your seat moments and some excellent surround sound effects and the director borrows from various films such as "Jaws" and "The African Queen" a great movie to curl up on the couch with the partner of your choice and some popcorn, disengage your brain and let the film wash over you.
22 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
The actor's acting is in place. I watched it during the vacation. The film is too good to be true. The ending was wonderful. At that time, the special effects of the film were good. The plot is tortuous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)