Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
269
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2016
Great film about one big misunderstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Love this film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
very good and prompt service, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
My wife enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An absolute delight. Beautifully directed and with the exception of Ben Elton & Michael Keaton as Dogberry and Verges and a "one trick pony" from Keanu Reeves - exceptionally well acted. This is a nice print although not as good as a 70mm should be perhaps but still perfectly adequate. It brings a clarity and immediacy to Shskespere that means it can be appreciated by a wide (fairly!) audience!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Disc didn't work. Second time I've bought from music magpie second time I've had issues, won't be purchasing from them again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
I checked this title out on the Blu Ray Region Code Database and it said it was region-free, so I bit the bullet. I'm delighted to report that it played perfectly on my Region 2 blu ray player.

This film is one of my all time faves and I would give it five stars even if I had watched my old video copy. But the leap in quality from the (poorly-transferred) DVD to Blu-ray is astonishing. What blu ray brings to the film is a wealth of detail (so you can really enjoy the beautiful setting), clearer speech and, most noticeably, more controlled and intense colours.

I watch my films on a projector, so the differences between disks are really magnified. But if you love this film and you have a blu ray player, I highly recommend this disk. Never has a film so deserved the blu ray treatment!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2008
The Kenneth Branagh/Emma Thompson version of 'Much Ado About Nothing' is one of the happiest and most charming films I have ever seen (despite the tense bit in the middle and the tedious nature of the bard's original story).
This DVD is let down -so- badly by the rough and ready transfer, which has the following problems:
1) This is 1.4ish:1 and not widescreen as it says on the packaging (the original film -was- widescreen)
2) The colour in the original film was wonderful - alas not the DVD, where unsightly colour aliasing and contours are evident
3) There isn't even a decent Scene Selection capability, just a small number of whole 'acts', so it is very hard to find your place if you don't see it all the way through
4) No Extras whatever, despite the fact that there was a lovely 'making of' featurette made (I watched it on TV).

Please, please, please could we have a widescreen anamorphic reissue (Region 2) with all of the above corrected?

I for one would pay full price.
55 Comments| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2006
Kenneth Branagh's adaption of Much Ado About Nothing is a sheer delight to watch. I first saw it six years ago to prepare for a performance of it at school. The whole class fell in love with the film and while it may fall behind Hamlet or Romeo and Juliet in pure greatness, it soars ahead in sheer fun and exuberance.

As with Hamlet from 3 years later, the set is moved forward a few hundred years which just gives a fresh and vibrant touch to the film. Branagh himself plays Benedick and the chemistry between him and his (then) wife Emma Thompson as Beatrice makes you wonder why they could ever have split up. It is the war of words between these two that provide some of the main highlights of the film, especially their initial exchange:

Benedick: 'God keep your lady in that so some man may 'scape a pre-destinate scratched face'.

Beatrice: 'Scratching could not make it worse onto such a face as yours'.

Benedick: 'Well you are a rare parrot teacher'.

Beatrice: 'A bird of my tongue is better than a beast of your tongue'

Benedick: 'I wish my horse had the speed of your tongue'.

Branagh is also not afraid to throw in American actors and their effect ranges from the fish in water (Denzel Washington's Don Pedro), to the aquittable Keanu Reeves to the outstanding thespian but altogether too Yankee Robert Sean Leonard. However the real American star of the film is Michael Keaten with his sidekick Ben Elton who give a Monty Pythonesque twist to Dogsberry and Verges.

Branagh directs the film with style and his choice of music is outstanding. The all-star cast deliver as expected and it all adds up to one of my alltime favourite films.

One little criticism is the actual DVD itself. There are no extras whatsoever; it would have been nice to hear Branagh's views on the film. And although the scene selection by 'act' is quaint, it is annoying trying to find one particular scene.

Do not let that disuade you though, watching this film on a flip book while listening to it on tape would be enough. It is a beautifully written and performed play.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2009
There are plenty of detailed critiques of the performances and production on here which I won't attempt to emulate; this review is rather for the casual browser who is hovering around the 'add to basket' button. So - Yes! I bought this at a price pretty much equivalent to rental - and I would heartily recommend it as great value and good entertainment. It has its weaknesses - the DVD transfer is not particularly high quality (I'd like to see a fully restored, Blu-Ray version) and has no supplementary material. Of the performances, only Keanu Reeeves' is really dubious - he brings to the part of John the Bastard an impressive physique and little else. There's also some of that rather cloying best buddies quality that accompanies Branagh's core troupe. However, overall it trips along with a light touch and is very entertaining - genuinely so on the strength of the play, not just for the interest of the interpretation. The cinematography and scenery are superb (though again, some colour restoration would have helped, and some of the cast had gone very pink in the Italian sun!). I enjoyed Keaton's perfomance as Dogberry, though I struggled to hear everything he said, and it did remind me of Beetlejuice. I'd forgotten how luminously beautiful and engaging the young Kate Beckinsale was before she became Hollywood Barbie (sigh..), and was very impressed by the naturalness of Denzel Washington's delivery, as Branagh's integration of US actors sometimes jars.

You don't have to be a Shakespeare fanatic to enjoy this, but there is equally plenty there to satisfy the enthusiast. Hit that button!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)