Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 1 March 2016
.There was only one reason I wanted to watch this film originally is because Gene Hackman was in it. I have never liked Hugh Grant.... well what a shock.... He can actually act pretty well.
This is a superb medical thriller that basically kicks off with a patient dying of horrendous unknown symptoms whilst Hugh ,as Guy a medical doctor, tries to treat him in the hospital emergency room..Whilst inquiring into the test results he discovers the patient and his records have disappeared..
The plot then takes a turn as Guy decides to investigate and gets caught up in the underworld of the down and outs living below the city in the sewers and tunnels that run underground in most cities. There are a few weaves in the story but Guy eventually discovers that Gene, Dr Lawrence Myrick a highly respected doctor is doing medical experiments on unwilling homeless people all in the name of medical research.
It is a highly thought provoking plot.The outcome would change the lives of thousands of people, but at what cost?
Of course it is it right to want to achieve that result, but to take short cuts is morally wrong.Gets you thinking......
Great film... I loved it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2014
Not the best Hackman movie I've seen and he plays a relatively minor role here, but the film is still entertaining and it makes a change to see Hugh Grant in a more serious role as a hospital surgeon instead of him playing his usual bumbling lightweight characters or period drama rogue or gallant. If you like films like 'Coma' and 'The Film' you will like this movie too. Grant plays the part of a hospital surgeon who can't make out why a patient of his, with unusual unexplained symptoms, dies on him after uttering some strange clues as to why he has a cut on his back and then he disappears. He starts to ask too many questions of his colleagues and superiors and in doing so 'rattles too many cages internally' that he is set up for a crime he didn't commit to oust him from his post and ruin his medical career to throw him off the scent. Only he doesn't give up; he is more determined than ever to find out what is going on. Eventually, he pieces together the clues and finds out that lots of homeless vagrants and other social misfits are being experimented on like rats to help further neurological research that will enable paraplegics to walk again. Only what they are doing is highly unethical and illegal and his determination to get to the bottom of the intrigue nearly gets him killed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2018
I didn't go into this film with high hopes but it is awesome. I love Hugh Grant and he is so impressive in this role as it seems so different from anything else he has done. He's tough - well as tough as he can be with floppy hair. I love the mystery of the story and some of the bits I found myself holding my breath with anticipation or simply worrying what would happen next. It's believable and at the moment you think it's it all gone wrong it might just surprise you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2015
But this time with an English guy as opposed to a French chick. Gene Hackman playing a character of the sort that is usually played by Gene Hackman but Hugh Grant playing a Hugh Grant character in a different situation than normal. Good matinee stuff and even has Hugh saying the 'F' word to remind people watching what movie he starred in just previously. The actor playing the lawyer for Hugh Grant's character should take up another career, possibly directing genre movies.
It's not bad and does have things going for it but the moral cosh is overdone and it has too many stereotypes.
It was probably messed up in production with silly casting before it got to direction, but despite itself I think it's a solid 3 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2015
Very slick and very well produced film about a young doctor finding out the truth behind; why patients and bodies are going missing from the Hospital he works at . I noticed Liz Hurley was part of the production team; with Hugh Grant cast in one of the main roles, it was a real husband and wife team. I have never read the book so I am not sure how close they kept to the actual novel but, I really enjoyed the suspense and twists, which only the British can do very well. Definitely worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2015
If you like Hugh Grant then you won't be disappointed. He is "Hugh Grant" yet again. But it's definitely worth watching. I love SJP in this movie, she is just so likeable, as always. Gene Hackman is as always "Gene Hackman", but isn't he always. I would definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2018
Hugh Grant doing drama, and well. Shame he doesn't get more opportunity and is so typecast. But he is good in all he does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2013
I bought this film because I AM a fan of Gene Hackman and NOT a Hugh Grant fan.
Well let's face it he always plays rather foppish,wet, slightly effeminate roles which I have always assumed is because...well to put it kindly, it matched his personality.
Having thoroughly enjoyed this dark and almost menacing drama, I now wouldn't mind seeing him again, playing something else that stretches his obvious acting ability and reveals other aspects of his hitherto unseen skills. Sadly he seems doomed to repeat his impersonation of the drippy Englishman he has come to be seen as by the majority of film goers, doomed not because of his lack of ability but of the dangers of type casting and of less than imaginative directors.
Definitely the best film I've seen him in. Watch it and judge for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2016
Thoroughly entertaining mystery/action drama, with an all star cast leading the main characters and providing some strong performances to keep the story moving - highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2017
Excllent - thanks :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)