Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
237
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2016
In my view Excalibur still remains one of the best versions of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. I have the old VHS version from many years ago but to watch it in Blu-ray up scaled to UHD is a treat. Great service, many thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Very happy I got hold of a copy of this, I would recommend it to anyone who likes Merlin and wizards and doesn't mind old style sets and special effects.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2008
Because everything about this film is so over-the-top, it was my favourite movie as a child (yes, my Dad edited out Uther's and Morgana's sex scenes). I bought it on DVD a few years back and, while I found parts of it still arresting (the locations, the music, the camerawork on some shots like the dead Gawain on horseback), it hasn't aged well. Nicol Williamson's camp turn as Merlin would be better suited to pantomime, and Nigel Terry and Cherie Lunghi just aren't a convincing lead couple. An interesting but very flawed film.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
Dated film but loved it. True classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Probably one of the best adaptations of the tales of legendary King Arthur which some sweet acting and action. May seem a bit dated now but well worth watching, a true classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
Very quick delivery. Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Received in good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Eerie soundtrack, British actors knocking lumps out of each other with 8 feet long swords whilst wearing armour that was at least 2 ton in weight, and Helen Mirren as Morgana!

This is as good as it gets! Authenticity be damned!

Sticking faithfully to the Arthurian legend, John Boorman crafts an eerie, atmospheric tour de force that is probably the best re-telling of this saga we are ever likely to see. Featuring a cast that would go on to greater things (Mirren, Liam Neeson) and also giving us Patrick Stewart on steroids, as well as actors that would end up on the BBC's Holby City, Excalibur has it all. including the definitive version of Merlin (Nicol Williamson) as a warm, but cynical druid, lamenting the end of magic and the ushering in of the new ways. So it ever was thus...

Great direction, great cast, great entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2016
brilliant very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2010
This film is without a doubt the best big-screen adaptation that I've seen, streets ahead of First Knight and Antoine Fuqua's King Arthur. What grabs you the most is the quality of the cinematography. Every shot is like a romantic painting, except that they move. It captures the romance and also the magic without the aid of CGI which would have spoiled it completely. Nicol Williamson's performance as Merlin is definitive - dramatic, occasionally sinister, sometimes eccentric and funny. There is quite a bit of shouting in this film and the occasional eccentric delivery ("Open the gate!")

They only thing I want to add is that the DVD transfer on this version is not brilliant, with Lancelot's head occasionally vanishing off the top of the screen as he's riding and talking with Guinevere.

Buy it anyway!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse