Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
245
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2017
This is loopy. It has a king of grandeur, excess, and reverence for the Arthurian legend that many of the film versions tend to ignore. Nicol Williamson's Merlin is pantomimic and played far larger than the size of his role. The castles are grimy, dimly lit, dark places full of intrigue and oversized knights lumbering around. The final battle is glorious in its overblown nature, I was expecting it to happen with Ride of the Valkyries playing in the background. There are clumsy moments and some of the dialogue is as lumbering as the knights, but for all the flaws it's a brilliantly, dazzling version of the tale.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
I love this version of excalibur but had not seen it sibce I was a child. I found it for cheap secondhand from magpie music on amazon.
Love this movie so much, it has many big named actors in one of their earlier roles.
For me it is a fabulous production of the King Arthur legend. It is superbly acted.
Any who likes the King Arthur period will love this.

I saw a programme on how this movie was made and. My goodness it was hard. The director said it was the hardest movie he ever made. They even used screens to tilt the sunlight so it shone on the knights armour the way the director wanted.
He put so much pain staking work into making the movie perfect in his eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Absolutely brilliant film - the way Arthur's knights come through the orchard and the energised king brings the trees out in full bloom to the music of Carl Orff is very effective indeed! It definitely has enough spiritual power to be an effective rendition of the Arthur legend on film. If you don't cry when the dead king's body is on the ship to Avalon, towards the end, then you have no emotions. A must buy in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 April 2015
I have watched several films of the Arthurian legends and this one is a good candidate for the quintessential screen version. I liked the way that it achieves a comprehensive and reasonably faithful account in two hours at the cost of very little condensing. And that two hours is highly entertaining - the cinematography is powerful and dramatic as befits the story, and it doesn't have the childish touch that some have.

The reason I only give 4 stars is that the cover of the one I received is not the one shown in the picture. Instead of the cool poster style it is an uninspired photograph. That matters to me but if you don't care about it, you can treat this as a 5 star recommendation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2017
This is the most brilliant unintentional comedy ever. The cast took full opportunity to go totally ott camp. Especially Nicol Williamson . I love the scene in Arthur's camp when all the knights are pottering about , making breakfasts etc, all in full shiny armour. Highly recommended, if only for A giggle. Plus Helen Mirren of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
One of my favourite films of all time; haven't seen it for years and cannot believe the quality of the picture on modern equipment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
This has to be the ultimate classic of its era. Set in the days of King Arthur with starring roles by Helen Mirram (young in the day) and also Liam Neeson.

If you've never seen it then don't hesitate to buy it. This film is a cult classic and a must have for any collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Its a Blue Ray with out the expected Blue Ray quality. The original film should have been restored before it was brought out on Blue Ray...great film but poor picture quality. The film gets 5 stars but i'm only giving the Blue Ray 3.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Always enjoy watching this film , especially in Blu Ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
a brilliant film about Excalibur,king Arthur,merlin,love civil war,the holy grail,the lady of the lake ,not just a fantastic two hourfilm to watch ,great to show kids part of englands past and heritage
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse