Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I'm a massive fan but this release I believe is his best yet. He's been CRIMINALLY ignored, his voice moves me to tears sometimes with his blind optimism - he sings with a soul and feeling nobody else can touch. Some of the songs appear a little corney when you sit back and think about it, but you easily forgive him for this. The last minute of 'I Still Love You' and 'Heart As Big As Liverpool' has moved me like nothing else in years. A hero of mine of the top order. I only wish he'd play live with a quality band.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2000
Wylie has been promising us this for years and hasn't disappointed. From the opening words - My name is Wylie, this is the Mighty Wah - to the end of rock and roll the album has all the nuances of 80's Liverpool rock. I just hope the album gets the airplay and sales it deserves so we will get a follow up.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
I met Wylie in Liverpool a few years back, and like this CD, he's electric. At the time he was starting to write the songs, and the CD really reflects on his personality; high on volume and intensity. Fantastic man - fantastic CD.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Been trying to get hold of this album for years and boy it was was worth the wait.
Like always Pete delivers every song with sheer passion. The voice as sharp as ever and production so sharp it cuts. Beautiful backing vocals and strings.
The songs are amazing. DISNEYLAND FOREVER...HEY!MONA LISA and the epic HEART AS BIG AS LIVERPOOL amongst the best work hes ever done. Dont be put off by a 65+min running times its ALL KILLER NO FILLER.
If a fan this is a MUST. If a lover of music BUY THIS ALBUM and discover the last passionate man in rock n roll. This is album is an EPIC WORK OF GENIOUS!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2000
Since Wah! Heat and the first album Nah-Poo The art of bluff (I am so old that I still have a t-shirt with a picture of the cover on it), I have been an avid fan of Wah in all of its guises. This long awaited return does not disapoint. Pete's performance is excellant, espceially considering that it by a man who has been an inch from death. The songs do not have the somewhat cynical edge of early works like 'Better scream' or 'Weekends'. Dsneyland forever almost fits into thios catagory, but they still have the wit and feeling that this reveiwer can still identify with after all these years. The almost wall of sound production values are still there . There are the full on anthems mixed in with the classic 'Heart as big as Liverpool' This album deserves to have a wider audience than just old (!) fans. All of the musicians playing have done an excellent job, but a credit to know who thay all are would have been nice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2000
After seeming to have lost his way in the 1990s, with too much time spent hanging around lesser but more media friendly talents such as The Farm and the Happy Mondays, Pete Wylie returns with a thunderous new album. Anthemic and righteous throughout, Songs of Strength and Heartbreak hints at Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band vs The Bunnymen on more than one occasion. A lot of the fun is in remembering how you felt when the earliest Wah! tunes plucked at your heartstrings. This feels great even if you can't put your arms around a memory.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2000
From a view point of buying the CD with an open mind, this is the best purchase of the year. Wylie is at his best through out the whole collection. I only hope that someone like Virgin radio / TFI Friday etc. pick up on 'Hey! Mona Lisa' and give that track the play it deserves - the rest of the worthwhile acclaim for 'Songs of Strength and Heartbreak' will follow. To summarise the CD, it is a chest beating, heart warming collection (unless you are driving, when it is better to just sing along). Pop music in it's purest form - fun and enjoyable, with no political tosh thrown in. PLEASE BUY IT!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2000
This is the album Wylie's been promising for years. I always rated his attitude more than his actual execution but this time he's come up with the goods. Perhaps more AOR/Radio2 friendly than you might expect, but the songwriting and the musicianship really equal the aspiration and idealism this time. Anthemic, charged, a little sentimental in places perhaps but you can't deny or criticise the effort that's gone into this record.Splendid stuff, the record he was born to make.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2000
If CDs were made of vinyl my copy would be worn through already. This 'album' is absolutely superb. I remembered the name (The Mighty) Wah from my schooldays but never really knew anything by them.
An uplifting, feel-good Meisterwerk. Buy it and break the news to your other favourite CDs that they're going to be spending lots of time in their slip cases from now on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
I urge anyone and everyone to buy this CD, Pete Wylie is a Legend of Legends, and this CD will just blow you away. It's so good I need to have two copies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)