Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Wu-Tang Forever
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 May 2002
This album is deep. its not what you might have been expecting after 36 chambers, but if u judge it on it's on merits rather than comparing it with previous work, you'll realise that this is a classic. first off it is a deep album. this is probable it's biggest flaw (commercially)- it's full of deep, meaningful lyrics, which unfortunatley these days seem to take the back foot to guns, money, ice, and hoes. in the word's of ghostface (slightly edited so this review will actually get published): ''All we gonna do is just keep doin' what we do best. We know one thing - that there is more dumb people than smart people, so when we bring Wu-tang Forever and we preach to people, nobody want to hear that stuff. It's like I'm tryin' give you knowledge and teach you and tell you to do somethin' right, you don't want to hear that. Forever was like college - we stepped our rhymes up. People didn't want to hear that though. So now we know like: hold on, nah, that's too strong for 'em.' Can't feed a baby steak: can't digest it, he can't even chew it; he ain't gonna want it.''
i think that little paragraph sums it up really well. it was a deep album, but alot of it just flew over people's heads, so it didnt get the respect it deserves. to this day i dont know how professional reviewers allowed this to get past them without appreciating it, but maybe it was too deep for most of them too. im not gonna break down the LP track-by-track as the last guy did that. although i will point out that 'a better tomorrow' is one of the greatest songs of all time, and 'impossible' contains 2 of the best verses i've ever heard.
all i can really say is buy this album and judge it for your self, but give it a few listens before u pass judgement, as it can take a fair few listens to understand some of the lyrics, and a few of the tunes have to grow on you.
but in conclusion this is a true master piece, and for little more than a tenner you can't go wrong. BUY IT!!!!
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2014
Great album, no complaints about wutang themselves, but CD 2 was slightly scratched, which is very annoying when trying to play this album. I'm working to fix it, somehow, but it's incredibly inconvenient and left me feeling somewhat dissapointed, despite the overwhelming ecstasy I experienced when I heard the first masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2008
The Only ther Wu Tang Album that I've written a review on is the Gza's 'Liquid Swords'. This has '5 star' reviews to burn (including mine), whereas this has only one review, and that review doesn't even begin to enunciate the merits of this album.

Whereas L-Swds is an artistically deep album, with the Gza's use of lyrics, and the Rza's beats transcending just about everything else that has ever happened in hip-hop, artistically, supported by the sheer life experience and world significant seriousness, contained in Gza's wittily delivered lines, WuTang Forever, is more direct, more mainstream, designed to sell more records in a way BUT, it's message is clearer than that of L Swds.

This is a really postive Hip Hop album (in a very non Fresh 'never hustled a day in his life' Prince & Jazzy Jeff kinds way) which tells, principally the black and the downtrodden in society that they should work to turn their lives around. This message is coming from people who came from the bottom of the gutter, and the emotion contained in songs like 'Projects' is palpable (in the housing, thousands seen early graves, Victims of world ways......).

After albums that glorify guns, violence, crime, mysoginy this is where the mature successful hip-hop artist is supposed to take things.

A really special piece of work, especially because it's not an impenetrable as LSwds (which I absolutely love), so this great message reaches a lot of people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2003
Up until i purchased marvin gaye's what's going on? this was the best album in my collection. the wu's second offering came four years after their monster debut - enter the wu-tang. at the time, it was viewed as a dissappointment, when in truth it was way ahead of its time. in 1997, hip hop was mourning the death of biggie smalls and the whole eastside/westside thing was prevalent in virtually every rapper's lyrics. the wu, from the bronx were above all of that and it shows on this album. there are the populist tracks such as triumph and it's yourz and they appeal to the masses but this is an album that really speaks to you. there is a wonderful updated version of stevie wonder's just enough for the city. in the 70s stevie drew attention to the the poor black youth of america, the wu's update poses the question - has anything really changed? the nihlism continues on tracks such as bells of war with its haunting bass line and it is perhaps best illustrated in a better tomorrow. the track says it all. 'you can't party your life away, drink your life away, smoke your life away...' finally in 2003, hip-hop is growing up with artists such as the roots, nerd and our very own blak twang leading the way, i think hip hop heads may finally be ready for this wonderful album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2000
I could go on about how incredible the wu tang are and what they stand for but i wont. this album describes the way of the wu. telling an unimaginable story of the wu tang and the ways of the wu. This album has some great tunes limited by the fact they must end. We see great performances by meth the gza, ODB, Masta killah, inspectah deck, chefraekwon and ghost face. The RZA yet again puts in his great touch as the producer finishing all tunes with crisp beats and rough basslines. this album confirms that wu tang clan are a force to be rekoned with
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2002
*Puts Cd 1 in computer*
Well the intro is not as nice as the cd2 intro and really they just babble for a bit..like the first kid said just skip it. 2/5
Reunited- An outstanding opening track, the voilin loop is just original excellence, RZA, ODB all come nice. 4/5
For Heavens Sake- this track is just great the sampled hook is fantastic and gives it that wu-tang rawness.4/5
Cash Still rules/Scary Hours- the loop in the background is so god dang ill, ghost comes nice as hell on the opening verse, one of the best tracks on cd1. 4.5/5
Visionz- I never liked the reverse loop at the intro of this track and the beat doesn't do it for me..meth doesn't relly open the verse with anything nice either but ghost comes nicely afterwards. 3/5
As high as Wu-tang get- ODB's grimeyness is so damn rugged and ill. he shines on this track. 3/5
Severe punishment- This is so dark and rugged again, U god opens nice and ghost comes real nice again. 4/5
Older Gods- pure dope, the beat, loop, everyhting...i could bump this track for eternal time. ghost shows why his uniqe style is so damn ill.(i like ghost, but you'll know why after you buy this cd)
5/5
Maria- very graphic didn't feel this too much, ODB's crude and blunt remarks just ain't funny at times, and i felt he was tryna hit on the area. this is a nice track all the same but ODB ruins it for me. 4/5
A better tomorrow- i love this track, the hook is just real nice and true, makes you look out at yourself and realise you shouldn't waste your life away. 4/5
Its yours- real nice outro from the first cd this track is a wu-classic 5/5
Cd2
Intro- real nice intro, and speaks werd of truth.
Triumph- Inspectah Deck probably dropped as known one of the best verses to be heard on the mic. incredible, another classic 5/5
Impossible- again nice needs to be listened to more than once though..it grows on you. 3/5
Little ghetto boys- this is real nice..so hard for me to like it as much as the original sampled version used by dre on the chronic...but sitll wu used it nicely. 4/5
Deadly melody- i need to listen to this more maybe but i didn't rate it. 3/5
The city- loved this track the hook is dope...rugged, raw..just excellence form the wu again 4/5
The projects- was an aight track.,..iono..3/5 from me though i need to listen to it more.
hellz wind staff- absoulutly amazing track, some real raw wu-tang slankg shaolin hooks and just plain ill 5/5
Heaterz- prolly the best track on the album, never have i heard such an ill beat..this track gives me the shivers from the infinite illness coming out of the speakers. unbelivable stuff...deseves top make the whole album a 5/5 oin its own.
this is something that if you remotly like wu-tang you have to buy...all you fans of rugged, raw...and unque style of emceeing you must take a peep.
deserve each start 10 times of any ludacris or nelly album.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2003
The perceived downfall of the Wu Tang Clan can be traced back to this release. Before 'Forever' the Wu could do no wrong in the eyes of the critics. Their debut release, 'Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)' was held to be one of the greatest hip hop albums ever made. The five solo albums that were released after '36 Chambers' were each held in equally high regard. Then, however, things went slightly off course for the Wu. 'Forever' was delayed for so long, many fans began to wonder if it would ever appear. Then when it arrived many fans were sceptical of this hip hop double LP that weighs in at over two hours long.
As early as the first track proper prove the doubters wrong, 'Reunited' has the Gza fire an opening salvo on those artists who had been copying the Wu's style while they had been gone, "Reunited, double-LP, the world excited / struck a match to the underground / industry ignited / from metaphorical parables to fertilise the Earth / wicked ni**ers come try to burglarise my turf / scatting off soft a** beats them ni***rs rap happily / tragically, that style, deteriorates, rapidly." It's great opener, and one that reassures the listener that whatever they've read about this LP, the Wu-Tang mean business.
Released in 1997, this was the time when Rza was prepared to take a few risks with his production. On 'Cash Still Rules / Scary Hours', Ghostface Killah is tearing through a typically uncompromising verse when the music simply runs out leaving Ghost to finish his verse acapella. Equally, 'For Heaven's Sake' with its odd high-pitched warble effect is one of Rza's more innovative tracks.
The first disc concludes with 'It's Yourz' an attempt by the Wu to match some of their earlier anthems. It has Rza, in typically self-appreciating style, shout, "It's yours / the seed and the black woman / it's yours / double LP from Wu Tang Clan." If the first disc had been released alone, the listener could not have too many complaints. Strange then that the second disc contains just as many, if not more, classic Wu-Tang tracks.
The second disc kicks off with the single 'Triumph'. It's a dark affair, with the Wu positioning themselves as soldiers on a battleground ("War of the masses / the outcome disastrous / many of the victims families save their ashes / a million names on walls and graves and plaques / those who went back receive penalty for their acts."). Elsewhere on disc two, 'Impossible' has the Wu in preachy mood, Raekwon tells us, "The murder rate is increasing and we're decreasing / so at the same time that you play with guns... / that causes conflict against your own."
For the most part this is a group effort, but at certain points during disc two, the rappers break off into pairs to differing effect. 'The MGM' has Raekwon and Ghostface Killah trading the microphone line by line over a typically stark backing track. 'Dog S**t' is ODB and Method Man's chance to shine in the absence of the rest of the group. Frankly, the result is a juvenile, misogynistic track that somehow manages to be semi-entertaining. However, for those still in any doubt about the political correctness of the Wu the following track, 'Duck Seazon' is an entirely immature tirade about homosexuality.
Typically the album is highly cinematic. From the sleeve design to the b-movie snippets to the hilarious virtual tour of the Wu Mansion (a CD-ROM extra found on disc one), the album has a Hollywood feel to it.
I've always been of the opinion that the press were unduly savage on 'Forever'. It's not quite the equal of '36 Chambers' but it really isn't far away. Criticisms of it being overlong are not unfounded and perhaps one or two of the tracks would have been better left on the production room floor, but album with twenty-nine tracks will have one or two weak ones. 'Forever' should be an essential purchase for any hip hop fan.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2002
This album is deep. its not what you might have been expecting after 36 chambers, but if u judge it on it's on merits rather than comparing it with previous work, you'll realise that this is a classic. first off it is a deep album. this is probable it's biggest flaw (commercially)- it's full of deep, meaningful lyrics, which unfortunatley these days seem to take the back foot to guns, money, ice, and hoes. in the word's of ghostface ''All we gonna do is just keep doin' what we do best. We know one thing - that there is more dumb people than smart people, so when we bring Wu-tang Forever and we preach to people, nobody want to hear that stuff. It's like I'm tryin' give you knowledge and teach you and tell you to do somethin' right, you don't want to hear that. Forever was like college - we stepped our rhymes up. People didn't want to hear that though. So now we know like: hold on, nah, that's too strong for 'em.' Can't feed a baby steak: can't digest it, he can't even chew it; he ain't gonna want it.''
i think that little paragraph sums it up really well. it was a deep album, but alot of it just flew over people's heads, so it didnt get the respect it deserves. to this day i dont know how professional reviewers allowed this to get past them without appreciating it, but maybe it was too deep for most of them too. im not gonna break down the LP track-by-track as the last guy did that. although i will point out that 'a better tomorrow' is one of the greatest songs of all time, and 'impossible' contains 2 of the best verses i've ever heard.
all i can really say is buy this album and judge it for your self, but give it a few listens before u pass judgement, as it can take a fair few listens to understand some of the lyrics, and a few of the tunes have to grow on you.
but in conclusion this is a true master piece, and for little more than a tenner you can't go wrong. BUY IT!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2000
this is a quality album and one wu tangs best, along with 36 chambers, its a good buy for for anyone new or old to hip hop and is a must buy for any wu-tang fans. The first time u listen to it your not sure but each time it gets better and better. I wasn't a fan of wu tang till i bought this album, but it turned out well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2000
This double lp is a great example of what wu-tang can really do. Method and ol' dirty still live up to standard,as do all of the clan, with catchy tunes and back beats this is definatley an esencial in all wu-lovers collection , and even if your not try the flavour and i am ure you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)