Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now Cloud Drive Photos DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2010
This information only relates to the Jan 25th, 2010 Blu-Ray release from Universal UK.

Although this product is advertised as being the 114 minute version (i.e, the Director's Cut), it sadly is just the plain 108 minute theatrical release. I informed Amazon about this some time ago; but the information listed at present is still incorrect.

The PQ and AQ (although being DTS HD MA) is nothing to write home about. Obviously it is a low-budget flick, but it could certainly be imporoved on while still being faithful to the source material. Judging by other reviews it appears that this release is identical to the one released in the states last year--which received lukewarm reviews precisely due to the technical aspects.

I am hoping the _actual_ 114 minute version is not too far away, and that the studio puts more effort into ensuring it receives a quality transfer that time around.
44 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
***This review is for the original soundtrack album, and NOT the actual film. Unhelpfully Amazon have lumped reviews of film and soundtrack together.***

For a while Guy Ritchie seemed to be the British equivalent of Tarantino, making films with various shades of dodgy and violent characters getting caught up in weird and wonderful situations, all with a slightly knowing air and a well crafted soundtrack. I enjoyed Lock Stock, but doubt I would have done so much if the soundtrack had not been of such a high standard.

Collecting together a miscellany of material from artists as diverse as Dusty Springfield, James Brown, Ocean Colour Scene, Robbie Williams and the Stone Roses, it is a well chosen selection of tracks that illustrated and punctuated the action on the screen perfectly. Collected together as an album, they work pretty well despite the diversity of the material, and this is a pretty interesting and listenable collection. Thrown in are a few bits of original music from the film, and some of the more memorable bits of dialogue, which is something I particularly like in a soundtrack.

5 stars for a very listenable, entertaining and diverse collection of foot-tappers.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2006
As you all know, Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels is one of Britain's best loved films so i wont talk about the movie. The reason for this review is to see whether it is worth buying over the original DVD that was released about 7 years ago. I have both and the only difference is that the new 2 disc edition does have a fair amount of extras that add up to just over an hour. The main 50 minute feature which is the making of.. is very good and often funny to watch with interviews from both 1998 and 2005. Then theres a few trailers and tv spots, an additional 10 mintute featurette that talks about the editing of the movie, an interactive east london map with the films locations, and a very funny if a little immature 2 minute featurette titled 'lock stock and two f**king barrels which just consists of random scenes with all the swear words.

As for the picture and sound quality of the movie, it definitely hasnt improved from the last DVD and unfortunately is still a little poor. Guess we'll just have to wait for the High Definition DVD to come out to get perfect quality.

Undoubtedly, i definitely prefer the newer version even though the extras could have definitely been better, a director's commentary from Guy Richie would have been nice and the picture quality couldve have been better too. Also the featurette that was included in the last DVD isnt present in this one although all the extras on the new one are far better anyway. So if you can get this for under £10 and dont already own the older DVD version then go for it, however to those who already have the old version and are thinking of buying this 2 disc special edition then i personally wouldnt, seeing as an extra £7-10 isnt worth it for the 1 hour of extras provided on this new DVD.
33 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I'll start off this review by saying that I only just watched it for the first time, last year. I had heard of it years ago and although I had seen Snatch (which I regard as another great movie) years before I first watched this, it was a while before I got round to watching this movie. When I did watch this, it was when I rented it from Lovefilm and I found it so enjoyable that I went ahead and bought a copy of this from here, on amazon.

Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels is a London crime movie, directed by Guy Ritchie and released in the year, 1998. The film has several different plots, all of which are interlinked to one-another - some loosely and some strongly. But I won't divulge into every single storyline, but rather the pivot of the movie.

The main protagonists are four men - Eddie, Tom, Soap and Bacon, played by actors, Nick Moran, Jason Flemyng, Dexter Fletcher and Jason Statham, respectively. The four live together and have illegal jobs, which include black market jobs, selling stolen goods. The single exception is Soap, who goes by that name because he doesn't like to get his hands "dirty" with anything unlawful. The four have spent some time earning money so Eddy, a genius card shark, can play a card game with unlawful businessman, "Hatchet" Harry and earn a lot more money; playing his weekly card games requires at least £100,000 upfront.

Being a genius at cards, Eddy has a very high chance of winning. However, aware of these odds, Harry rigs the game so that he will win, and Eddy not only loses, but he also leaves the game with a £500,000 debt, which he and his friends have a week to find! If they fail...well, put it this way, Harry is a man you pay when you owe.

I won't say any more with regards to the plot, due to spoilers. I think that this is an excellent film. It has a lot of excellent characters, including Harry's bodyguard, Barry the Baptist, who was played by the late Lenny McLean, also known as the Guv'nor, who sadly passed away the very year this film was released. Other great characters include Big Chris (played by Vinnie Jones), the marijuana growers, Winston, Charles and Willie, and my personal favourite, the sociopathic Rory Breaker (played by Vas Blackwood).

The film is very fun to watch, not to mention intriguing, what with the plot, the characters, the way the film was put together and the soundtrack it has. This film was very well done. The colouring, the characters, the dialogue, even the soundtrack and of course, the story, gives this film a true London crime feel. But what I like most about this film is the dialogue, which delivers a lot of humour to the film. I won't deny that there are many quotes that I like. These lines are among my favourites.

"Shotguns? What, like guns that fire shots?"
"Oh, you must be the brains here. That's right. Guns that fire shots."

Overall, I'd say that Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels is a classic British movie and is definitely one that is not to be missed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 June 2015
This is quite possibly one of my favourite 1990's films, but this is the first time I've ever seen the Director's cut version because I was curious to see which parts were cut out. Having seen it I can say that it's a bit of a mixed bag over the various choppings, some of them (like the card game scenes) I can see why they went because they don't add much to the film, and some of it would have actually detracted from the film's appeal, in my opinion, particularly the needless use of the C word. However there is quite a lot about why Big Chris is who he is, which I think might have explained to some people more about his character. Overall I think I prefer the original version, and this is of curiosity value and interest, but no doubt this was fresh and original at the time and remains an essential viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
Audio: English dts-hd master audio 5.1
French,german,castillian spanish dts soundround 5.1
Subtitles: english sdh, french, canadian french, german, latin american spanish, dutch
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
If you have already watched the original shorter version of this film I would recommend you to buy this version because it explains some rather vague sections of the story,such as the origin of JD and Hatchet Harrys enmity.The original film is very good,this justs adds to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
Irreverent, violent and wickedly clever, this smart-mouthed UK crime picture concerns four nice loveable rouges who get into some bad company and must get themselves out before things get really ugly. Cardsharp Eddie wheedles his way into a high stakes game run by a unpleasant porn peddler and all-around nasty villain Hatchet Harry, thinking he can turn his £100,000 stake into some really big money. But the game's rigged and Eddie walks away owing Harry £500,000; if he doesn't pay up in a week, Harry's gangsters will take Eddie's dad's bar in lieu of the cash. Oh, and three-quarters of the original stake belonged to Eddie's three pals, who can ill-afford to lose that kind of money. Fortunately, the flat next door to Eddie's houses four extravagantly loud ammeter and incompetent coke sniffing weed selling drug dealing thieves and the walls are very thin: so Eddie knows the blundering baddies have a big score in the works, and ripping them off to appease Hatchet Harry seems a reasonable way out of the mess.

When it comes to characters, Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels boasts no fewer than 22 significant roles. Many of the actors are not recognizable faces. In fact, a few of them are making their motion picture debuts. For the most part, everyone does a solid job essaying one of the various inept thugs or criminals. Those familiar with the British soap "Eastenders" will find that any of the characters from Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels would fit into the neighborhood of Albert Square with little difficulty ( Some have even ended up there) . Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels has plenty of laughs and a few surprises to offer to all but the most squeamish of viewers. It's a superior thriller made with the guts and gusto that too many recycled entries into the genre fail to exhibit. It's a slickly edited movie with no real stand-out performances (in fact some of the London accents are well dodgy), but the presence of soccer hardman Vinnie Jones, making his surprisingly effective acting debut.

This larky, self-aware crime picture has Tarantino-esque written all over it. First-time writer-director Guy Ritchie appears to have been paying attention to what made Reservoir Dogs work. Consequently, his film has both characters and a story, complicated by a slew of carefully worked out intertwing subplots involving boneheaded burglars, antique shotguns, yuppie hydroponic dope farmers, Debit Collectors, Hit men, Jamaican drug dealers and multiple gangs of hard. The film relies uniquely on heavily on ironic plot twists, blink and you will be lost. One of the most enjoyable aspects of Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels is appreciating the way in which the story unfolds, using both expected and unanticipated turns to enhance the comic flavor. To the very end, the movie manages to be unpredictable, and it never loses its sense of humor.

Surface likenesses aside, Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels is actually a kinder, gentler motion picture than Reservoir Dogs or Pulp Fiction. While there's as much violence. All of the most vicious acts occur off screen. We see the ramifications, but we miss the genuine brutality. This effectively distances the viewer from the bloodshed, allowing us to see the proceedings in an almost surreal light.
If the criminal ranks in London are comprised of losers like this, it's a wonder that anyone gets away with anything.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
One of the best gangster films, packed with action, humour and unpredictible twists. Keeps you rivetted to the very end. Highly recommended, worth every penny, at 8-9 quid a bargain compared to some other films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 February 2016
Oddly I'd read the book, listened to the audiobook about 10 years before I got to watch the film only recently. If I had write a once sentence review, it would be that LSTSB is basically a modern, adult take on the old Ealing Comedies. The story is very similar to The Ladykillers with a different twist at the end. If you've no idea of the story, essentially it's all about the botched jobs and interactions between several groups of East End hoods and how one small mistake can cause so much trouble for so many people. I know people like to mock Guy Ritchie but he does make funny, interesting films. They're never going to be Oscar winners but they're enjoyable films and after all that's why we watch them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)