Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 June 2000
oasis hav dun it agen.i used to think that wonderwall was the best song ever but now i hav to say that the best song ever is fukin in the bushes.i carnt wait for there next album.keep rockin liam and noel.i am your bigest fan.i hope oasis never splits up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2000
I am a devoted Oasis fan and I have all their albums. I was very excited about this new one and it met my expectations. Excellent Oasis sound backed up by really good lyrics. Must have if you are an Oasis fan or just like good music.
LIVE FOREVER!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2000
Very samey when first listened to but give it time and it is a great CD, very much as the third one was. It needs time. Don't judge it on the hype or the perfection that we all expect from oasis but on the CD that it is. Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2000
The album starts off well enough, it's loud and fresh but then it trails off into whine mode. The songs are just plain boring and the album has no consistency. One minute its indian then acoustic then back to rock again, it just dosen't fit together. If the songs were decent then this wouldn't matter but they are average at best. There are definitly no 'wonderwalls' or 'some might says' on this album.
If you want half-decent music buy definity maybe, leave this well alone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2000
This is different from there previous albums, but just as good. My favourite is Go Let It Out, but other great songs on the album include Gas Panic, Little James and Sunday morning call. Another class album, keep it up boys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2002
I could never understand why people criticised this album, I heard it once and loved it, which is rare for me. Tracks such as "Go Let It Out", "Who Feels Love", "Where Did It All Go Wrong?" and "Sunday Morning Call" immediately attracted this album to me, but none of these are my favourite. The best track on the album has to be "Gas Panic!", brilliant tune, excellent lyrics and a bit of an epic. A close second has to be the excellent "Roll It Over" with a cracking tune and lyrics to match. Liam's song "Little James" is another favourite of mine, great tune which got stuck in my head for days, but let down by some predictable lyrics. All in all, another superb offering from the Gallaghers who seem to be leading music in new directions. And lets be honest, had this album been crap, it would have still hit the number 1 spot, cos its Oasis.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2000
A fantastic new release from Oasis, with 'Where did it all go wrong?' and 'Go let it out' both brilliant tracks. It may not equal What's the Story, but then nothing may ever capture the nation that way again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2000
The new Oasis album is pretty good but not much different from the others. Sure, there are one or two new songs but not many. If you haven't got an Oasis album, buy this but if you have- just don't bother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2000
I was willing to give this album a try, even though I had heard absolutely nothing good about it at all, and I soon realised why. It honestly sounds like Noel Gallagher has forgotten every single guitar chord apart from about three, which he uses again and again in flat, boring loops. Liam's vocals are possibly the worst they've ever been (and that's BAD, believe you me), and the new members of the group offer nothing new or special, they just simply wade along with what are, without a doubt, Noel's worst songs to date. Everyone keeps slagging Liam's "Little James", but if I had to choose which song on this album made the most sense and which was the most original, it would be the one. It seems that Oasis have reached the point in their career where they can put out anything at all and millions will flock to buy it and say that it's brilliant. These people's judgement will be clouded by their love for the band, but trust me, this record simply isn't worth ANY money, let alone over a tenner. If you want Oasis, stick with 'Definitely Maybe' or '(What's the Story) Morning Glory?'. I would also recommended Blur, Nirvana, Radiohead, R.E.M. and the Stereophonics. Just keep away from this, for the health of your ears.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2000
Oasis are simply the best band the world has ever seen and although this album is probably their worst, it still ranks high above the tedious material of other bands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse