Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2017
I bought this "Water from the Well", looking forward to the 31 tracks by the Cheftains. Alas, there are only 17 tracks, the listed first 14 are missing! The first track on the disk is "Lots of Drops of Brandy" and what follows is the remainder in the list below it. If you click on the thumbnail picture of the back of the disk case you will see the truth, which is the list of the meagre 17 tracks. Swizzled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2001
Good traditional with a good combination of instruments. The variety of the selections is great. Solid all the way through.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Wonderful traditional Celtic music played by great musicians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2000
As an Irishman who is sometimes a little cautious about some of the "Irish" music available, I am hard to please when it comes to Albums like this. However, the Chieftains never fail to please. In short, when a Canadian friend asked for an example of Irish Music at it's best - I posted her this CD. Enough Said !
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2000
This is an excellent album they have created that magic yet again.A real combination of traditional tunes and vocals, i am sure that everyone who listens to this album will end up tapping their feet at some point.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2000
A little over two years ago, I purchased my very first Irish music CD - Music At Matt Molloys. We then visited Ireland and heard a LOT of pub music. I now have over 100 CDs and I rate "Water From The Well" second only to "Music At Matt Molloys". This is a great compilation of typical Irish traditional tunes. My only advice is - get it!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
The Chieftains have done a remarkable job over the years of convincing the mainstream public - ie. those not conversant with Irish music - that they are 'the real thing'. Celebs have queued up to endorse them, originally in sleevenotes, and then by performing with them - and thus mark themselves out as people who know rootsy authenticity when they see it.

But in fact, the Chieftains are as much a high-concept band as the Pogues, and the music they play has never been traditional. They merely take that music and use it, as others do, as a base - in their case, for quasi-classical Chamber Orchestra arrangements (admittedly performed with great proficiency).

It's years since I've bought or listened to them but, reading these reviews, I hoped they might genuinely have gone back to basics with this one. But no - still much the same old Chieftains. The only thing that's changed is I have grown less able to tolerate the archness of it all.

This is a bitty, miscellaneous-seeming album. It has its moments, but does no more than hint at what the music is capable of.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
A superb CD, with nary a dud track. I think this was one of the last CDs that Derek Bell played on. If it is the last the the "classic" Chieftain works, with Derek Bell, then it is a worthy memorial to him. A bright and breezy collection of tunes, this is one of my favourite Cds from one of my favourite bands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
The album confirms the value of good music played well. I first saw The Chieftains in the seventies at the Royal Albert Hall in London and have followed the development of their music since. An oasis of dignity in a harsh modern world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)