Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
Police And Thieves
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 24 July 2009
Lee Perry is a genius! but like all gifted creative artists who were prolific (Scratch certainly is) he was capable of producing,less than inspiring material also.But when he came together with Junior Murvin they created magic to write,record,produce and perform Police Thieves.Sure the title track is so well known (and influential) but every song here is well crafted and uniquely sung.This album has given me so much ejoyment over the 32 years I have regularly listened to it (since release) and I stil hear new sounds in the mix!.The combination of The Upsetters inspired playing and Scratches manipulation of the sound on his Teac reel to reel never sounded better than on "Tedious".Just listen to Boris Gardiners bass -hypnotic,if this does'nt make you dance -perhaps you ought to listen to Gary Numan instead.Perhaps Im biased but this album still sounds vital,if you are just discovering Lee perry or classic reggae;Police and Thieves with War in a Babylon and Super Ape epitomise the creativity of a "one off" master of his genre-Lee Perry.Footnote-the cd version I have just bought has a horribly truncated account of Tedious,try and source vinyl if you can.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
This is a classic album which was not cheep but I didn't mind that, However it took forever to arrive, I kept receiving emails to say they're still waiting for it so they could send it on to me, it took months.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
It's a big mistake to write off this album as a classic title track with a load of filler on it, but all the songs are strong, the rhythms majestic, the vocal arrangements understated, but perfect. It might not be as trendy to like as The Congos magnificent debut, but I think it has more relevance today, in terms of the subject matter contained within it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2003
in the top 5 best reggae LP,S of all time !!!!simply a classic a must for anyone who is just getting into reggae, or who wants to broaden their horizons.!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
Very happy with CD and service provided by seller. Would be happy to recommend and use again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2002
This is considered one of the top ten reggae classics of all time, and the accolades are well deserved. Murvin's unique falsetto comes into its own on a collection of brilliant, melodic songs, masterfully produced by Lee Perry. My favorites include Roots Train, Solomon, Rescue Jah Children and the title track, which has been covered by The Clash and Boy George among others. Serious social issues are addressed here but it never becomes preachy or repetitive. A unique album with great music that will reward the casual listener and reggae enthusiast alike.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Great cd timeless reggae at its best
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
Great! V. pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
worth buying just for title track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2016
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here