Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
40
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2012
I bought this album right after watching the movie. It creates a certain atmosphere and is definitely as far as you can get from a hit parade. Almost entirely instrumental and almost meditative. I have mostly listened to it as I wake up in the morning 20-30 minutes of lazy listening in the twilight zone as I regain consciousness. Very enjoyable time of my day. Like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2003
When I first heard this CD I had knew very little about AIR. Apart from the renound 'sexy boy' I knew little about what they had produced. On first listening, The Virgin Suicides appears to be very solemn and dark however when listened to again the true beauty of the music is apparent. The message potrayed is touching and symbolic and causes everyone to reminisce of a youth which wasn't as true as they'd imagined. It must be confessed that it was only when I saw Sofia Coppolla's production of Jeffery Eugenides' novel, that everything regarding the album fell into place. It's haunting tones introduce you to the emotions of the film and allow you to truly involve yourself in the story. On it's own the album is dramatic and pensive, however it is on understanding of the background story, that the piece descends into a world of it's own and inspires people to watch the film time and again, to appreciate what effect the music has an the direction of the film. For first time Air listeners, this album may seem a trifle sinister, however on a second listen no-one can defy it's symbolism and realisation of what Sofia Coppolla was trying to portray in her film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2001
Ok so im a fan of soundtrack albums but this stands out as a worthwhile listen in its own right. Reminds me strongly of Pink Floyds 'Dark side of the moon' in places and has a similar relaxing surface tone with darker undercurrents. I rate this as their best effort to date.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
This was apparently No 49 in the all time top 100 French rock albums (rolling stone). Moon safari was about no 68! Wonderfully melodic and harmonious first track with similar themes recurring later in the album. Great to drive to ! The final track with the voice over was difficult to understand without knowledge of the film. But this can be omitted if desired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2001
The music from 'The Virgin Suicides' is really beautiful. If one band manages to put together instrumental harmonies with well-placed and well-played synths, from time to time adding lyrics as well, it is Air.
And 'The Virgin Suicides' is the band's best release, which demands a lot! The main theme is repeated exactly on the spots of the CD where you long to hear it again.
Beautifully introduced with 'Playground Love', sung by Gordon Tracks, and ending in the somber 'Suicide Underground' which will bring back memories to those who have seen this poetically sad film.
A masterpiece. And I was never even a fan of electronic music before. Then came Air.
Truly a masterpiece...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2000
I adore this CD, Air do a great job in making us relate our own personal feelings and memories towards the excellent standard of music involved within, Playground Love, a must hear. Might be best to own a wide taste in Music to fully appreciate the album, otherwise enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
Anyone giving this album anything less than 4 stars is guilty of being one of the new generation of instantly gratified 'gimme gimme gimme' breed that must try to suckle at the breasts of bricks.

This soundtrack is utterly wonderful, uplifting and grim. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2000
If you don't own this discthen you are still listening to moterheadon a turntable, buy it and start coming up
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
a perfect soundtrack conceived by air for the beautiful movie the virgin suicides
now including a live version in a deluxe card sleeve
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's been over two years since Air's last long-player "Moon Safari", the critically acclaimed coffee table album that made the French duo household names. The official follow up is still being worked on, and following last year's stop-gap re-release of "Premiers Symptomes", Air have been commissioned to write the soundtrack for the film "The Virgin Suicides". This isn't really a surprise as much of the band's work sounds like it belongs on a soundtrack anyway. The thirteen tracks here offer a dark feel to them, but don't expect any sprawling soundscapes as most of the tracks are very simple, forgettable instrumentals that rarely make it past the two-and-a-half minute mark, the whole album only just touches the 40-minute mark. Several spoken-word songs litter the album, the descriptive "The Word Hurricane" and the drawn-out finale "Suicide Underground", but these just seem a distraction to remind you the album is still playing. The exception to this is the single "Playground Love", sung by the mysteriously named Gordon Tracks, which has a more traditional Air feel, but its impact is lessened by a cheesy jazz backing. "TheVirgin Suicides" is not a bad soundtrack, but purely as a listening CD it simply fails to grab your attention. So if you only want something to play in the background, this does the trick nicely.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)