Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
68
4.5 out of 5 stars
Dragon - The Bruce Lee Story [DVD] [1993]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.73+ £1.25 shipping


on 3 March 2017
Interesting story but the fight scenes are very poor - ruined by that Hollywood vibe that gives no sense of reality. The heightened reality of Bruce's fight scenes felt much more realistic, but this just looks likea movie from beginning to end. Shame.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I used to watch this film alot growing up, I loved martial arts and Bruce is a legend without doubt.

I watched it again the other day and although it's a touch dated now I still really enjoyed it. Jason Scott Lee is fantastic at portraying Bruce and it really shows how much respect he has for the great man.

If you haven't seen this then avoid the other Bruce Lee stories, as they are usually bad, and check this one out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Great .film .but wish he looked more like bruce well can't have everything .good quality film .very pleased at this rate I will never leave my house lady di
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
brilliant film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
Great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2016
Received wrong DVD inside this cover
I was actually looking forward to watching the dragon
But got disappointed with what was inside.
review imagereview image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 March 2013
Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story is directed by Rob Cohen who also co-adapts the screenplay with John Raffo and Edward Khmara. It stars Jason Scott Lee, Lauren Holly, Robert Wagner and Michael Learned. Music is by Randy Edelman and cinematography by David Eggby.

Based on Bruce Lee: The Man I Only Knew by Linda Lee Caldwell (Bruce Lee's widow), "Dragon" is more tribute movie than biography. A big success on release, it's a film that still causes some consternation with a number of Bruce Lee fans. The reasoning is because in true Hollywood style it tinkers with facts, misses out other notable points and has some timeline issues. Yet if you can accept it as a "painted always in a positive light" homage piece more than a definitive biography? Then you find the essence of the man and his short life is there in glorious splendour.

In many ways it's an inspiring tale of a complex man, while it also plays out as a wonderful love story between two people of a different race making it work at a time when such a thing was frowned upon by the ignorant. Lee's skills as an artist and a human being are firmly portrayed, with Jason Scott Lee (no relation) proving to be admirable in his depiction of such. The fights are very well choreographed and perfectly OTT, but crucially they do not come at a cost to the story, it's the narrative that shines through even as the action appeases the action hungry hordes. While rightly there's iconography unbound, naturally.

The production value is high as regards quality of colour photography, set and costume design and recreations of famous moments. Edelman's score is a heart swelling and heroic scorcher that avoids over dosing on Oriental strains, Cohen moves it along at a nice clip and Holly is fabulous in her sympathetic portrayal of Bruce's wife. It's not all perfect, though. Away from the issues the hard core Lee fans have, the Demon that haunts the Lee family dreams is more funny than scary and the finale feels rushed and not dramatically fulfilling. It's fair that Lee's wife voices over the end and tells us it's about celebrating his life, but his death remains a key issue and skipping over it is a mistake.

In the year of the film's release, the Lee's first child, Brandon, would be killed whilst filming The Crow, aged 28. Thus as Linda Lee Caldwell helped craft a film about a husband who died aged just 32, she lost her son. There is added poignancy in that, it's something that undeniably makes Dragon even more of a moving experience, but rest assured, as a film tribute to Bruce Lee, it earns every one of its emotional and thoughtful beats. 8/10
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Great film about a true icon and legend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
It was an extraordinary movie with lots of action and scenes full of martial arts movements.
I believe that the main actor was a great choice to play the legendary Bruce Lee and the
entire movie has been the closest to his life so far.

So, I vote for this movie and I recommend martial arts fan to buy that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
Good acting, the guy acting Bruce in the movie was very convincing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse