Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2007
Mr Jones is a film which could, and should, have been much better. Richard Gere, the director and the writer have gone to considerable lengths to research the subject of manic depression and this is very evident. Gere's performance here is surely one of his best and with Mike Figgis he has created a convincing portrait of a man with a crippling mental illness. You can feel his absolute exhilaration when high, especially during the classical concert and you sense his descent into hell when he crashes into depression. Unfortunately this section is less than satisfactory simply because it is too short, this I believe because the studio decided in its infinite wisdom that the audience should not be subjected to subject matter which is too depressing. My response to that is not printable. In fact the whole film smacks of studio interference - it is strangely wobbly throughout.

Of course, we can't expect a documentary about manic depression and while mental illness may be the source of great amusement to many it is not, believe me, at all funny and should not be presented as entertainment. This film tries do do both and while it does offer some understanding of the condition it also uses it to motivate a romance which in context, is ludicrous.

The supporting performances are strong, in partiular Delroy Lindo as Howard, a co-worker who seems to understand Jones and offers him support but this relationship is not developed and simply sits on the sidelines. Lena Olin is somewhat flat but Gere injects his character with a vitality which endears the viewer to him and his portrayal of Jones as a man in total despair is intensely moving. We do not find out much about Jones though and this aspect is something which in terms of the script simply seems to be, well, missing.

Is it a love story or a study of manic depression? It undoubtably leans towards the former, but it is Gere's performance in the latter which makes it worth watching.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
A shallow portrayal of bipolar disorder. Hollywood has proved itself capable of depicting mental illness superbly (A Beautifu Mind, Rain Man) but this wasn't even close. Luckily, Richard Gere is so gorgeous, it's worth buying anyway!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Not a great film, but an interesting portrayal of manic depression. A bit stereotypical and obviously compresses the episode of mania and depression significantly. Once it starts on the relationship it becomes very routine
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2006
Richard Gere is fantastic as Mr Jones - one of his best performances. A super story that has a great ending - even though I didn't want it to finish!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
Richard Gere gives a chilling and convincing rendition of a mentally ill man. Bits of this equally beautiful, disturbing and wonderfully alive film are making bipolar depression look nearly 'good'. A beautiful and talented, if rather too quiet and stoic Lena Olin plays along with Gere's multi-personalities. I don't know whether I like the film but I know that here Gere acts more than I've seen him playing in most of his other films. He's going OTT but he's great fun to watch - as long as you keep in mind that this is not How Life Is... doctor's mustn't and shouldn't ever fall in love with their charges - but if you like those two actors, you're in for a fine surprise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2003
Just a wonderful movie.
Sensitive to the subject matter and passionate with the emotional bond that grows between the main characters.
Gere is brilliantly manic and Olin is beautifully challenging while seeking her own answers.
Can't quite decide whether this is better than Figgis's Leaving Las Vegas but it is a close call.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2005
I think Mr Jones is one of the best films Richard Gere has made to this date. His role as a man suffering from depression is so convincing and the relationship with lena olin in the movie is brilliant to watch.
The ending of the movie really does have you on the edge of your seats.
One to watch especially if you're a Richard Gere fan like me.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
My wif required the DVD for her studies. We could not find it any place in South Africa, yet, by making a request to Amazon, she received in less than ten days.

Give yourself a pat on the back!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
Anything with Richard Gere in has the ok from me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
Arrived early a nd as advertised... good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)