Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
79
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2014
Whatever anybody says. This is a lovely film and the two of them are great together. I love the line"Land. It's the only thing worth fighting for"
The Irish and the Chinese built America and Ireland's greatest export has always been it's people. This film portrays that perfectly!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Joseph Donnelly' (Tom Cruise) a potato-farmer working the fields in Ireland in the late 19th century seeks revenge for
the death of his Father blaming wealthy land-owner 'Daniel Christie' (Robert Prosky) his attempt failed miserably,
it was at the big-house that he meets 'Christie's' daughter 'Shannon' (Nicole Kidman)
'Shannon' persuades the young farmer to join er on a venture to the New-World 'America to seek land and fortune.
On the voyage 'Shannon' treats 'Joseph' as a servant, after all she was a lady of means in the big-house, he, a humble farmer
working the land her father owned they learn that the lands are indeed being given away in Oklahoma, they have to race to
stake their claim, however Boston where they land is 1000 miles from the territory.
They have no money to buy a wagon and horses they will have to work, it's tough, 'Joseph' turns to fightingt to earn a crust,
further misfortune awaits them just when they realize they have feelings for each other, circumstances see them pulled appart.
However they will meet again in Oklahoma as they both seek the lands they crossed the Ocean to claim.
Will they share the dream or will circumstances keep them apart ?
A sweeping drama that will pull you in as the two seek their fortune in America.
A long time since previously watching this 1992 movie, of course both, then young actors certainly went on to achieve much during
their careers ...and still do to this day.............well worth a re-visit or indeed a first viewing.
The Blu-Ray upgrade is good.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2002
I know this is not a good film, but I do love it! It's romantic, charming (even the sometimes dodgy Cruise Irish accent) and it looks very good. The plot is simple- a rich, stuck-up daughter of an Irish landlord, and a young farm worker run off together to seek their fortune in America. Their dream is to enter the Oklahoma landrush and find their own pieces of land, but things aren't what they expected when they reach America. Kidman and Cruise have a real screen chemistry (not surprising really I suppose), and they give good performances. It is overly sentimental and slushy, but what's wrong with that from time to time? Nothing, so watch it, and have a sweeping, romantic feast.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
I had the DVD but when I upgraded to a Blu-ray player my DVD copy played the film with a colour shadow - so I simply wanted to get the film again in cinema quality as I enjoyed the storyline & the performances, the Blu-ray quality is stunning & the aspect ratio ensures I see all the picture on my television as it's a widescreen. The performances are great & although it wasn't the critics favourite, it is still a great movie & any Ron Howard film is guaranteed to have very high production standards & strong performances from the cast.
44 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
The film itself I enjoyed previous it's a good film to watch, unfortunately the disc had scratches and paused or skipped parts, I reported this and was refunded. I had purchased the field for my wife to watch but as it skipped parts it as you can imagine spoilt the enjoyment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Fantastic film! Yes it's cheesy, predictable and the accents are a bit dodgy but it's a beautiful story and the scenery is breathtaking. I've just added a copy to my collection after rediscovering it 20 years later...loved it then and now....feel good escapism at its best :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
This is not a bad movie from Tom Cruise' earlier films back in the 90s. It's not an Oscar winning performance nor is it fantastic but it is enjoyable to watch.
The print from the blu ray is not bad, but sadly there are no features on here either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
That was the dream of everyone in those days and this is the main subject of this beautiful story about ambition to accomplish your dream, the courage to try, the power to be able to pass over obstacles and above all the love that is born where you least expect it. I liked the couple formed by Cruise and Kidman, I liked the decor done very well, I liked the costumes and of course direction and screenplay of the film claims rising to be both successful. Although you enough, very nice blend drama, romance, comedy and adventure that you will not get bored. I recommend it to everyone. Enjoy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Cruise plays a little Oirish boy, whose father is killed during a stand off with the towns landlords.

Seeking revenge, he meets Kidman, who stabs him with a fork. He then spits in the main bad guys face, who challenges him to a duel at dawn.

Kidman rescues him and they set off for America, with dreams of winning some land in Oklahoma. Cruise becomes a bare knuckled fighter, and Kidman learns how to wash clothing properly.

They get double crossed by Colm Meany, and Kidman gets inadvertently shot.

Then we get treated to a big finale....

There is a reason why I have held off watching this movie for 22 years. I saw the trailer endless times, and it looked a bit, well, meh...

Now I know why I never bothered, it's blooming awful, and Howard treats the viewer like an uneducated idiot.

it's as if Hollywood has taken one of the most depressing (albeit fictionalised) times of a country, and gave it a wonderful shine.

It ticks all the clichés you would expect in a wannabe epic, beautiful sets, costumes, and awful accents.

Yes, the race at the end is pretty brilliant, but you have to endure two hours of awful dialogue and pathetic stereotypes to get there.

It's by 'Far and Away' the poorest film Cruise and Howard have worked on.

But, it's the best film that has Cruise run so fast, it skips eight months....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Why this film got bad reviews when it was released I will never know, it's an old time Classic and Tom cruises Irish isnt that bad,. Got my other half to watch this as she never seen it,.l and she loved it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)