Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
305
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2010
Unlucky banker Stanley Ipkiss (Carrey) discovers a mask in a river that gives him superpowers at night.

The film that launched Cameron Diaz into our hearts and lives is also one of the more forgotten Jim Carrey masterpieces of slapstick comedy.

When son of the mask was released 5 years ago it was slated as destroying the original concept of this film and ruining the family entertainment value of cinema and whereas plans for a sequel were originally thought up in the 90's this is a film best left alone as a sheer conceptual mind blast.

Opening with an attempt at cementing some mystical origin, a scuba diver uncovers a case where the mask floats away and our adventure begins.

Converting to the interior of an average bank we see Carrey's ordinary Joe conversing with a friend about concert tickets and is attire and laid back attitude instantly recognises as a push over who has no romantic socialism. Therefore cue a fresh face to give the film a far fetched romantic premise and we have a new star on our screens.

Cameron Diaz, shot in one of the best making career openings ever (Megan Fox has nothing on this) director Chuck Russell chooses a soaking 20 something Diaz walking through the door before cutting back to Richard Jeni's beautifully spoken "Hold the phone" before switching back to the entrance and zooming in and then up to allow Diaz flicking her hair and walking confidently and purposefully towards the two star struck bankers. A moment of pure genius and idolism. As far as performances go, Diaz certainly generates the right mood for this picture, being perfectly innocent and charming, a figure looking for friendship and love, and the American certainly chances her own splendid dancing and witty humour. Whilst her comedy persona has improved through films such as My best friend's wedding this was a film that begun her road to stardom.

Choosing a normal average bored character in day to day rota Carrey expands on the conventional through true wacky styling when the mask is in place. There are occasions when there is an over step of eccentric portrayal, on the park bench for example, but the majority has viewers siding with his spontaneous mischievousness. Not to forget Carrey is able to capitalise on the script through splendid catchphrases and facial expressions.

The script itself is a good vs evil eventuality that adds some spice and tension in the final third whilst constantly having us smiling and laughing along with the array of familiar villains and good guys.

A quick mention of the score by Randy Edelman which has a way of capturing the moment of vivaciousness perfectly whilst being sentimental when required.

It may have flaws of over exuberance and a formula of eventual outcome but this is a joyous ride of passion and vigour that is certainly worth catching as a reminder of Carrey's brilliance.

8/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Unfortunately the DVD sticks at a certain point and has to be manually fast -forwarded to resume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
did not work
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
It doesn't play on my DVD player I think you've sent me one that doesn't play in England :(
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Gutted was looking forward to this all week. I live in uk and the disk came and can't use it says wrong region. Which wasn't stated in the description ect. Kids was so upset.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
Definitely one of Jim Carrey's best movies, and the amazing special effects still look great today. It's funny, sweet, and original. Even if someone's not a fan of Jim Carrey's style, I'm sure they would still enjoy this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
Got for my daughters bday just gone in march and had scratches all over it..an doesnt play at all
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2004
I absolutely love this movie. It's the best cartoon ever, but in live-action - it's funny, madcap, enthralling, romantic, exciting and all the rest. It's the perfect movie for children, but anyone would enjoy it. I would whole-heartedly recommend this movie to anyone - Charles "Chuck" Russell did a great job, redeeming himself for Nightmare on Elm Street 3, and his special effects department and actors really made the film special.
The problem is, though, that this DVD really doesn't do the brilliant film justice. I don't normally notice the sound quality in films - my ears aren't that great and I only have stereo speakers anyway, so I don't usually mind the sound in films that others condemn to the pits of hell. This dvd is an exception. For some reason, totally unknown to me, it goes quiet, loud, quiet, loud, regardless of the on-screen action. This is particularly annoying and noticeable during the otherwise brilliant dance numbers. Also the speech occasionally slips out of lip-sync. These problems aren't enough to really spoil your enjoyment of The Mask, but they are worth mentioning all the same.
Otherwise the disc is OK - extras include interview bites with all the important cast members (Jim Carrey, Cameron Diaz, Max the Dog) and brief B-reels and making-of documentaries. There is also a trailer, cast profiles and a commentary by the director. Note: no alternative langauges or subtitles.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
What a joke. . Paid for the mask dvd n it came a copy wouldn't work so all in all not pleased at all rubbish don't order from them crap!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is Jim Carrey on top form: restrained but manic as Stanley Ipkiss, and totally unstoppable as The Mask, without being as sickening as he was in the second Ace Ventura film. The plot is fairly simple, and all the better for it. The bad guys are disposable but their presence is felt nonetheless. And Cameron Diaz (of whom I've never been a fan) is undeniably smoldering in her debut role. The one liners are zany, for lack of a better word, and for fans of cartoon humour this is a must.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)