Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
45
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2004
To a true Mortal Kombat Fan, this movie is amazing as it includes a load of characters from the computer games such as Jade, Sindel, Mileena, Rain, Baraka, Sheeva, Motaro, Shao Kahn, Jax, Ermac and Cyrax who weren't in the first movie. There are loads of special moves incorporated in the movie, taken from the game, which makes it great. The storyline is abit simple, some scenes were repeated (Rains/Baraka death) and there is some historical inaccuracy, thus decreasing the popularity of the game. But if you like mortal kombat the game, film and TV shows you will find this sequel fits in perfectly with the collection.
P.S. Watch out for the 3rd Mortal Kombat Movie which is up and coming. It will follow the plot from Mortal Kombat Deadly Alliance. Most of the characters will be played by the original characters in the first movie. This movie has great expectations!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2001
I must say that this film is not as good as the original, but that said it is extremly faithfull to the game, with no fewer than 24 characters from the game (two of which only get mentioned in conversation)including Shinnok from MK4. The fight scences are excellent, and the costumes exactly as they were in the game. Lynn Red Williams as Jax also delivers some superbly hilarious lines. Go Buy it
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
You know how it is, you have one drink, then another. Before you know it, you're knee deep in a bottle of scotch and having a conversation with the television screen. Which, if I'm honest helped a great deal when viewing ''Mortal Kombat: Annihilation'' - a film so mind-bendingly awful, it sobered me up. Well, almost.

So, why the three stars? Well, this level of awfulness takes much dedication and I gotta take my hat off to the production team involved - with or without the drink, I have to scratch this one up as some sort of religious experience - as I haven't seen anything like it before... or since. Anyway, my mouth's dry. Let's pour another one, crack open a bag of scratchings and give you a quick rundown of the ''s-t-o-r-y'':

Every generation, a portal opens up between the Outerworld and Earth (steady, steady...). Emperor Shao-Kahn (a post 'Cobra' Brian Thompson) is a namby-pamby ruler and with his warriors (led by the hottest woman I have ever seen in a fright wig and Mr Motivator leggings, Musetta Vander) are intent on total domination by uniting the two worlds so they can rule the universe... or something. However, they didn't count on the combined forces of Sonya Blade (Sandra Hess), Jax (Lynn "Red" Williams), Kitana (Talisa Soto) and Liu Kang (Robin Shou) who are ready to kick some outerworld butt and restore balance to the force. I mean, the world. Luckily for our heroes, they have Obi Wan Kenobi, sorry Rayden (James Remar replacing Christopher Lambert, who clearly must have had better things to do) who is on hand to offer mystical advice, look lame in a white wig and pretend he's above all of this chop-sockey martial arts nonsense. Until he forgets all of that and beats the living rhubarb out of some back-flipping sci-fi ninja types - then apparently he's okay with it.

Director John R. Leonetti is a respected cinematographer, but when it comes to directing he's well... erm, not. Dropping the ball at every available turn, his movie fumbles along like a school play made by an angry kid-hating teacher on crack. The pacing is non-existent, the cast look like they are just standing around looking for motivation and the whole endeavour would make the production team behind a 1984 episode of 'Dr Who' blush. Production design, fight choreography and visual effects are well below par and I can only imagine what the real fans of the game made of this when it was first released: I'm sure the game's original story was no great shakes, but I wager it was like a blooming Lars Von Trier movie in comparison. However, even with all being said, I can do nothing but recommend it. You want awful acting? Step right up. You need to witness sheer awfulness up close and personal? Take a seat. You wish to laugh so hard you almost burp up a Dorito? Come right in. This movies got it all. Or nothing. Or everything. I just don't know anymore.

Warner's Blu Ray release sports a sold transfer with vibrant audio - sadly, this also highlights the shortcomings of the production: Awful CG effects work that look like they were created on a Commodore Amiga 500 (ask your Dad), lacklustre set design where everything resembles foam and below par fight choreography is accentuated for all to see. But, screw it! It doesn't matter what I think - just sit back and let it all wash over you. If you can't do that, just crack open another beer. And another. And probably another. Just incase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2003
The first Mortal Kombat film was a good feature with all the original characters from the first game itself (except for Kitana and Jax). This second instalment is one of the best sequels that I have seen in a long time. Its not very often that we get a sequel that is just as good as the original.
To be fair, the second mortal kombat film has almost all the characters from MK 1 to 3, and the costumes and moves are all intact. The special effects are better there, with most of the characters performing the special moves from the game. Lets be honest, which character does a fatality in the first movie; Scorpion.
I truly recommend this movie to any MK fan, because trust me it is a good follow up, and although a lot of people have said that its a flop, I think that once you watch it, it will influence you to watch again and again.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
Excellent film for including some many characters from the actual games but this version is CUT. Why?
I just don't understand it. With so many good fight scenes why cut things like Sonia Blade finishing off Mileena?
Where is the uncut version? I've seen it on video but this dvd is not it.
Disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Utter Garbage.The First Entry was slightly Camp with a n almost non existent Storyline,where as Annihilation is Fully Camp with A storyline you'd need a Satnav to find.Even the Fight Scenes lack the Action of the first and don't get Me started on the Pantomime Dialogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Picks up exactly where the last one left with fights left, right and centre. Despite the story not been as smart as the previous movie, there is still plenty of action and a number of characters true to the best "beat 'em up" video game around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
It 's amazing color. It's a great movie with a lot of special features, the sound e imagem was amazing too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mortal Kombat wasn't exactly a movie that was heavy on plot, but at least it had one. Too bad "Mortal Kombat: Annihilation" didn't manage to cobble together a bare-bones plot either -- it's big soggy mess of bad acting, wretched special effects, and a hilariously over-the-top Evil Army.

Earth is suddenly invaded by Shao Khan (Brian Thompson), who plans to merge Earth with the Outworld despite Liu Kang's triumph in Mortal Kombat. So Raiden (James Remar) and his friends set out to various parts of Earth to... really, I'm not sure WHAT they're trying to do. They're trying to defeat Shao Khan, but I'm not clear on the "how."

So Sonya Blade (Sandra Hess) goes off to find her partner Jax (Lynn "Red" Williams), who has somehow gotten back to the USA and acquired Arms of Steel in just two days. And after a clash with some familiar foes, Liu Kang (Robin Shou) loses his beloved Princess Kitana (Talisa Soto) and ends up on a new quest to become strong enough to save the Earth.

There's no real plot in "Mortal Kombat Annihilation" -- people just sort of wander around, fight, and hope that eventually they'll end up being able to defeat the Big Bad Guys. And the script is a total disaster -- the dialogue is simply atrocious ("Mother, you're alive!" "Too bad YOU... will DIE!") and the story is riddled with plot holes (how did Scorpion come back to life?).

Even worse, the entire thing is ridiculously goofy: bouncing ninjas, bad CGI monsters, giant vaguely-erotic balls that transport you to anywhere in the world, and Sonya fighting with a Kitana-lookalike who is NEVER EVEN IDENTIFIED. She just appears and mud-wrestles with Sonya! Oh, and the mother of all predictable plot twists smacks us in the face halfway through, and is more likely to elicit eyerolls than shocked gasps.

It's also kind of disorienting to have all but two actors replaced from the original movie -- most of the actors are pretty wooden, although Remar does a pretty good job as Raiden. Shou looks like he's confused about what he's doing most of the time; Hess's Sonya Blade is repulsively whiny and selfish, and usually gets upstaged by Lynn "Red" Williams and his metal muscles.

As for the megahammy Thompson ("On the seventh day, mankind will rest... IN PEACE!") and the constantly smirking Musetta Vander (and her Run Lola Run shriek), the less said about them the better. It just gives me flashbacks.

"Mortal Kombat: Annihilation" leaves you wanting annihilation - specifically, wanting this stupid movie to be annihilated. A reeking, low-rent disaster.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first Mortal Kombat film is one of my favourite computer game films and considering this, it is suppressing how much worse this sequel actually is. This film starts off pretty much where the previous film finishes with the forces of Shao-Kahn the Emperor of Outworld, invading Earth in violation of the rules of Mortal Kombat. Raiden and Liu Kang travel the world to gather warriors to defeat Kahn's forces.

This is something of a mess of a film with cast changes, a terrible script, bad CGI and some fight choreography that makes Power Rangers look good. The film is not without merit however with a good attempt to stick to the plot of the game and a plethora of characters and special moves shoehorned in various places. This cannot save the film however, leaving this in the same league as the Street Fighter movie in terms of quality, a great disappointment considering its predecessor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)