Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
806
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2010
I recall the earlier version with Gene Wilder from my youth although I never saw the film from start to finish for some reason. Having done so I have to say the whole thing really worked very well. The characters were nicely portrayed and Gene Wilder's version of Willy Wonka was like a mad professor. Considering it was 1971 made this had loads of colour and the action sequences or special effects were pretty good for the time.

I never saw the Johnny Depp version until now and it is (typically for a Tim Burton release) a darker piece of film but no less brilliant than it's predecessor. Depp's portrayal is much more sinister in places and there is a more rounded story of Wonka's family past (replaced in the Wilder film it seems by the gas-y drink scene). Truer to the book, too, this had it's own brilliance compared to the 1971 film even if the soundtrack occasionally overpowered the dialogue.

If Dahl's most notorious children's book was a good read then watching both of these films is a must, even if just to compare the interpretations over the 35 years gap between each being made. Great family films, both and very entertaining for a light afternoon film session. Very enjoyable and recommended.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
Delivered really quick. Pleased with packaging, I thought for the price it may be second hand but was really pleased to see its brand new and was cellophane wrapped. Two discs, old and new version. My favourite film. The original had a few scenes I had not seen on TV before.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
Willy Wonka And The Chocolate Factory / Charlie And The Chocolate Factory (2 Disc Box Set) [DVD]

This was bought for my daughter as an Easter present & despite the "repeatative" story - each movie surprisingly have their own takes & unique viewpoints.

The classic version has all of those great songs + a classic performance from a loony Gene Wilder!

The updated version excells in scenery & gives more of a backstory to Willy Wonka himself, played admirably as always by long term Tim Burton partner - Johnny Depp.

Also - at Amazon's prices, while buying one film, you might as well buy both!

Highly recommended - especially for an annual Easter showing...

Cheers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Bought these for my son as he is studying Charlie and the Chocolate Factory at school and we are reading the book at home as well. These movies are similar but different! Neither Willy Wonka looks much like the description in the book - where is the goatee beard for example?! Love the films though. Great entertainment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
There was at time, an era, a decade, a non-internet generation, a non-obsessive smartphone generation, a non-short attention spam, a generation who loved, marveled and analyzed comedy films that had sublime scripts, intelligent storyline, brilliant acting, amazing film scores and soundtracks, lovely editing, and respected it's audience intellect without simplistic economic/financial cynicism as means of profit and over-multiples of low quality film output of today's madness mania.'Nuff Said.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
A lovely DVD, it's the original and the best! Gene Wilder played a fantastic part as Willy Wonka, the little boy was very good also and played well along Gene Wilder, i know they have a more recent one, but this i believe still out shines the modern version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
Great value. My 5 year old has just got into the Roald Dahl books, especially Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, so it was great to show him the magical chocolate factory on tv! Delivered quickly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
What a lovely surprise, heard about that film for years but had never felt like watching it!
The main characters are really attaching, and it is quite amusing at times.

I didn't know the end, as I always thought Wonka was a baddy!
All ends well in the end LOL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2016
got thid dvd as my little boy loves this film and we wanted to take it camping for the journey.
he loves it and is really happy he can watch his oompas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2016
My 5 year old son loves the dvd and especially when the children dissappear but the dvd was bit costly. My son only watches the willy wonka and the chocolate factory.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse