Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 May 2017
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2001
I waited so long to see this film and knew it would be a "weepie" after many viewings of the trailer, but I have to say I was presently surprised at the lack of corny cliches which could have abounded throughout this film. Rene Zellweger, the daughter who is practically forced to quit her job to return home and look after her mother who has cancer, is forced to evaluate not only her own relationship with her mother, but also that of her father/mother. The excellent script in this film, saves it from diving headfirst into the mushy squall it could have and helps it retain an intelligent and adult perspective on family relationships struggling through bad times. Well worth a look.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 August 2006
What a great movie!! I was quite amazed and I do not share the previous reviewers' views that this is a girlie or weeping movie.

Here a NY girl ( Renée Zellweger) who wants to make a big career suddenly finds herself back in her hometown where a family drama unfolds: Mum ( Meryl Streep) has cancer and slowly dies. The daughter is - through emotional blackmail of her father (William Hurt) forced to take care of Mum. However,she is daddy's girl, adores the great university professor and has no real connection with her mother who she regarded as the typical, a bit stupid and uninteresting mum who just takes care of the home. But the picture suddenly changes: the adored father turns out to be a mediocre professor and writer, egoistic and most of all very, very week. Mum however keeps this family really going, keeps most of all dad going, knows all but says less, but takes care of family and friends and gets things really done. In a marvellous played scene between Mum and daughter all comes out and she gives her daughter the most important lecture of her life. And the daughter understands...Even in death Mum is the strongest of all, because she takes her own life; daughter and father/husband are too weak to do it.

On the surface one cloud argue that this is a tribute to the "housewives-mum" and their role in the family. Yes, there is this element. But I feel, most of all, it is about looking behind the façade, judging not just from the surface or from prejudices. Good message! I like that.

The acting, especially from Meryl Streep and Renée Zellweger is superb.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2014
Ellen is extremely committed to her job and therefore, does not go and see her mother and father regularly. However, when Ellen's mum develops terminal cancer, Ellen is forced to look after. I say forced because that's how Ellen feels when she firsts starts caring for her mother, as Ellen has always been closer to her father. Ellen's father is a lecturer at the University, who was always the perfect person/father in Ellen's eyes, but she soon discovers he has some quite deep flaws.

This story is very sad, however, it is also realistic. It shows how difficult being a carer can be for some individuals but also how rewarding it can be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2009
I am a massive Streep fan, so you can imagine my delight to find another film I hadn't seen! And this was no disappointment, by any means! Why she didn't get an oscar for this, god knows! Tells the story of an ambitious daughter who is asked to return home to care and look after her sick mother (Streep), while her father teaches. The story of the daughter overcoming the move and mother and daughter reuniting their relationship after so many years is very moving and emotional, and the screen play is beautifully done. Be warned, you will need tissues!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2001
This is a superb film which captures how important it is to be a family. When katherine developes cancer Ellen, an ambitious New York journalist, must return home and care for her sick mother. In doing so they develop a relationship which never before existed. Meryl Streep is wonderful and Renee Zellweger is in top form in this tale of family relationship that will have you reaching for the tissues every time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2015
All wonderful actors,of course, with a wonderful, mature story to tell. Not action packed, but very deep indeed. For the thinker, and student of human nature. Good education for adult family members.
I enjoyed it, but some may be less appreciative if seeking pleasure and entertainment only.

Can't wait to watch it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2016
WARNING!
This dvd is 5 minutes shorter version from the original film.
Just be sure before buying this dvd.
UK company cut out 5 minutes for no reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2014
It's not bad :) I would recommend watching it but it's not a life charger :)
Anything with meryl in is worth watching !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)