Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
85
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2017
A good example of a mediocre film hyped up with unrealistic reviews and oversold. No great revelations, some maths,some cabala some germatria but very little content or meaning given the rave reviews and premise of the film. Eraserhead style influence and some Banco audios helped keep some pace, but it chose darkness and angst over insight, and the sub-plots and secondary characters seemed archetypal and two dimensional, perhaps intentionally. Not enough originality to warrant a good review and not very satisfying to watch, though I was never bored. A shame really as the concept has good potential. The bottom line really is if you present a big budget style film that has been shot on a shoestring then even artsy black and white film can't bridge those high expectations, and that what I just paid around £4 for.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Perfect thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
A dark and very imaginative take on the power of maths, the ludicrousness of religion and the benefits of lobotomy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Check the region!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
This film has about ten minutes of interesting content, spoon fed between many self indulgent intermissions void of any merit and which add nothing to the plot. The content itself is highly implausible, no insight into psychology, the true nature of mathematics or any other subject which it might pretend to include. What was this all about? Off to read some ratings on imdb now to see why it scored so highly there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Cheaply made film riding on the back of the Da Vinci code. Nothing to learn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 April 2011
I don't know if this is as good as my rating, but it's so odd, brave,
idiosyncratic and haunting, that I want to forgive it it's flaws.

Made on a shoestring, but using those limitation to create a unique
look and style, this is a psychological thriller about paranoia and
ideas, that puts you inside the lead character's head as he slowly
cracks up, trying to figure out the mathematical basis of all life. He
gets mixed up with Hassidic Jews who think he may have found the true
name of god, and wall street traders who want his secret for riches.

Full of surreal touches, it's not always clear what's real and what's
in our lead character's head - but rather than being annoying, that
only pulls you in deeper.

To me it recalled great surreal earlier films
like "Eraserhead", and "Seconds", but on speed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
Darren Aronofsky's debut as director is an intellectual thriller - there is a little action in it but most of the tension is on a much more psychological level. Daringly shot in an arty, monochrome style it intrigues the eye as much as the mind and Clint Mansell's excellent soundtrack (the beginning of a long and successful partnership) entertains the ear equally - in fact all elements of Pi knit together into a very gripping and thought provoking movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
I liked this film, it held my interest. Loved the director's sometimes use of very high contrast and very grainy film. I picked up his Requim for a Dream and look forward to seeing that. I think that any man who would make a film like ♊ is well worth watching and following. Good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)