Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on 4 March 2001
The greatest Sci fi movie of all time is also the shoddiest DVD i have ever seen. I am ashamed to say that i purchased this disc which is totally barren of any special features. They did'nt even remaster the movie for DVD. Steer clear of this Film until it gets the treatment it deserves.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2006
I'm giving this 1 star - not because Blade Runner is bad (we all know its the greatest movie ever made) but because come 2007 they are releasing Blade Runner The Final Cut, which includes 4 versions of the movie - including this one!

Don't be suckered in by this cash-in.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2001
I am a huge fan of Ridley Scott, and "Blade Runner" is a big favourite of mine. I remember how great I thought the Director's Cut was when I first saw it, and I've owned the film on VHS for many years. So, would I consider buying the DVD version? Absolutely not! Look at how badly this film has been treated. Firstly, the picture is framed at approximately 1.85:1 and is non-anamorphic. Secondly, the soundtrack is Dolby Pro-Logic only! This is completely unacceptable for a film as important as this! Why can't we have Dolby Digital 5.1, the current industry standard? Films such as John Carpenter's "The Thing" (1981) and Ridley Scott's "Alien" (1979) have been released on DVD with DD5.1. Surely "Blade Runner" deserves at least the same treatment....If you already own the VHS version, save your money until they issue a decent DVD of this great film....
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2007
Do not by the uk blu-ray version as you only get 1 version of the film, buy the American release it works out around the same price and you get 5 versions of the film. As usual with the UK we pay more for less.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
The original version that was released had the voice of Harrison Ford narrating in the background. I actually miss having the narration in the background, and should still have the option to purchase the original. If Riddley Scott, didn't want the narration, he shouldn't put it in the first place. But, since the narration was in the original, I thought it was very much part of the film. But to delete it and then give the customer no choice as to whether or not they can purchase it, isn't right. I've been looking everywhere on the internet to get the original version with the narration and it is completely deleted.

But as far as the films new format is concerned? I have purchased Blade Runner, twice as a re-release and have had the option of seeing two new versions of it and I've seen hardly any difference from the original from both. It's just the same film without the narration and another excuse for Riddley Scott to milk an old film for all its worth in order to make more money.
55 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2016
I bought this to replace an old DVD version of the film but the dialogue in a few places is out of sync with the picture
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2016
Action packed and an eye opener to the state of a country which fell into anarchy from the clutches of a dictator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
Poor due to the fact it wasnt accurate in fact it covers up the acutual events and you only saw the fire fights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
The Film is wonderful but what you get in the collector's Edition is a serious let down.

The biggest complaint I have with this box set is the digital copy being Ultraviolet. If you live outside the UK or USA forget it. You have to register at both Ulraviolet and Flixster sites but then you will be told that you can't download as it is out of region. Even though this is a bought from UK Amazon it will not work in IRE, Channel Islands or Isle of Man and defiantly not in rest of Europe. So I would not suggest buying this version if you want a digital copy.

The packaging is no where near as nice as the blade runner 5 disc ultimate collector's edition. UK one coming in a metal box, if you want it and especially the American one that came in a case with loads of extras. For some reason they thought they would also print half the book upside down, because everyone want to covers to a book and likes to flip it half way through. It then just shoved in a thin cardboard shell.

If you look for the same product on amazon.fr it comes with an extra DVD : la version "Final Cut" de 2007 with the Blu-ray set and nicer packaging.

'Celebrating three decades of visionary sci-fi epic' it says on the back, but it feels like a cheap cake and a party popper.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Discs were faulty. Seems to be a problem with the particular release.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse