Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2009
I,m not going to review the film itself,I think everyone knows the "storyline",if your looking for sheer entertainment,this is it,definitely up there with the Die Hard films,IMO.
The blu-ray transfer is very good, for a film from the 80,s,sharp and clear,BUT,my criticism of this blu-ray version has nothing to do with the transfer,it has to do with the version itself.
WHY is the Director,s Cut available on standard dvd,but not on blu-ray????
I think we all recognise the blu-ray format as the BEST for Home Cinema,so why release the theatrical version on blu-ray when the Director,s Cut is available??????
I realise I,m probably nitpicking here,but I,m thinking,Lethal Weapon Director,s Cut coming soon to blu-ray,more of our "bucks" to be had????
If not having the extended version doesn,t bother you too much,then this blu-ray is a very good quality transfer,imo.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
Lethal Weapon is a classic buddy film. I've always wanted to see the director’s cut. Finally having found it on Amazon for such a great price I had to have it. A must for action film fans. Securely packaged and excellent delivery speed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
Just in case you are tempted to buy this, be aware that it is not the director's cut of the movie. the additional scenes are added on as extras and not part of the main movie .
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2006
lethal weapon is a 1987 cop buddy movie that blended in the over zealous blood kill that incorporated the 80s in the action movie genre,mel gibson and danny glover play riggs and murtaugh,two cops who come from different backgrounds,lead very different lives and treat their sense of living differently as gibson is more gung ho who has a death wish since his wife was killed due to him being a cop,glover is a family man,getting on in age who prides himself on playing it safe.

The two cops have to learn to work with eack other,like each other amd then respect each other all the while fighting evil and trying to uncover a murder plot,the film is witty and intense and violent and thats what we love.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Roger Murtagh' (Danny Glover) is a happily married man living with his wife 'Trish' (Darlene Love)
and children, he's beginning to feel his age as he's just turned 'Fifty'
'Martin Riggs' (Mel Gibson) lives in a run-down mobile home by the beach, he's experienced tragedy
losing his wife, he now lives alone, well, with his dog.
The LAPD who he is employed by consider him a suicide risk, he takes unnecessary risks out on the
street that normal cops wouldn't take.
'Martin' is transferred and is teamed up with 'Roger' being partner to 'Martin' is certainly going to be an
experience for the veteran-cop.
The two's first task is to talk a 'Jumper' out of actually going through with it.......could say the sequence
sets the tone for much of what's to come.
Still the first day they try to arrest a drug-dealer ending up with a shooting and a dip in the dealers pool,
all in a days work.
'Roger' takes his new partner to his home for a meal and a bit of bonding.........before 'Martin' leaves he
says to 'Roger' ''You don't trust me do you'' to which 'Roger' reply's ''Tell you what, if we get through
tomorrow without killing someone, then i'll trust you''
The case they are about to embark upon see's them try to close down a high-profile Drug-Baron and his
team of thugs.
Things get tough for 'Roger' along the way as his daughter 'Rianne' (Traci Wolfe) has been taken hostage
by group they are investigating...........
What a great team-up this was, pure genius, the chemistry between them is pure electric.
The film contains bucket-loads of superb action sequences often tinged with a measure of humour the two
bring to the screen.......certainly worth a re-visit or indeed a first viewing.
The Blu-ray upgrade is really very good.
A terrific beginning to the series.
Special Features -
* Commentary by director Richard Donner
* Theatrical Trailer
* Honeymoon Suite
* Lethal Weapon music video
* Additional Scenes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
It wasn`t the first buddy cop film but it`s certainly one of the best. I just bought the dvd box set which features the directors cut editions. Only watched this one so far, i had not seen it in over a decade and boy does it stand up well. Along with Die Hard the best action of the 80`s!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When I first got out of college and started watching some of the movies that I’d heard about but never seen, I added the Lethal Weapon franchise to that list. This was about the time the fourth film came out, so it’s been a few years. When I found the films on TV, I decided to rewatch the franchise, and of course, I had to start with the first in the series.

Roger Murtaugh (Danny Glover) is a 50-year-old detective in the homicide department at the LAPD. He’s got a family, but he doesn’t have a partner at work.

Martin Riggs (Mel Gibson) is cop for the LAPD as well, but he works in the narcotics division. He’s widower who has lost the will to live. He can’t quite bring himself to commit suicide, so he takes huge risks with his life. And he also doesn’t have a partner at work.

When a young woman takes a swan dive out of her hotel room, Murtaugh and Riggs are teamed up. She was high on a new drug, but the drug was also poisoned. Furthermore, this young woman was the daughter of one of Murtaugh’s friends from his days in Vietnam. With Riggs’s huge risks, Murtaugh is certain that they will both wind up dead. Will they survive working together and bring down the killer? Where will their investigation lead?

The first thing that struck me is that the movie is set in the days leading up to Christmas. Like Die Hard (which came out the next year), it’s hard to truly classify it as a Christmas movie, but the decorations and music definitely infuse the film.

I definitely remember the franchise getting lighter as it goes along, and viewing this movie again confirmed that. Yes, there are a few funny lines, but this film is pretty dark. This is especially true when dealing with the depressed Riggs. A couple of his scenes are hard to watch even though we know the outcome. Yet, that makes him very real. Murtaugh’s family does the same for him. Yes, it’s easy to like the two leads.

The movie is equal parts mystery and action. No, there are not the major stunt filled spectaculars we think of now when we think of an action film, but there are some decent action sequences for the time. This is the 80’s after all. And the plot does plenty to get the adrenaline flowing as we reach the final third of the film. There are some slow patches early on, but they never last for too long.

The stunts are all well done and very believable. Of course, this was the days before green screen effects were so popular, but they truly do hold up today.

Likewise, the acting is great. Danny Glover and Mel Gibson make it easy to care for the leads, and the supporting cast is just as real.

I’m glad I’m refreshing my memory of the Lethal Weapon films. I’m looking forward to watching all of them again soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2007
I watched Lethal Weapon 3 today, after buying the trilogy (I haven't seen 4, and I only buy movies I remember seeing and liking). It's still as good and funny as I remembered it; the other two movies are, too. There's just something so right in the chemistry between Murtaugh (Danny Glover) and Riggs (Mel Gibson). I don't think any other actors could have pulled it off. You genuinely care for both of them. Danny Glover's infectious laugh and Gibson's endless one-liners never fail to make me giggle. What's so great is these movies often go from laugh-out-loud funny, to tear jerkingly serious, in a matter of moments. They keep you rivetted to the spot, cheering them on as they fight to right injustice and "get the bad guys". And when they do, you feel real exhileration and want to punch the air very much like Riggs does (like in Lethal Weapon 2 when he brings that whole house collapsing down the hill, killing the bad guys within!) Some would say this is just cliched, painting with numbers movie-making. Maybe it is, but it just works! Even now, decades on, Lethal Weapon 1, 2 3 still hold up well as all-action, no-holds-barred, funny kick-ass flicks. The only thing I don't get is, Lethal Weapon 1 and 2 are 18 cert, with strong language and violence; Lethal Weapon 3 is 15, even though it has strong language (numerous "melon farmer" references, if you know what I mean) and general cussing as well as the obligatory gun violence. Why the lower certification?

Anyway, if you're knew to this series, just buy Lethal Weapon first to decide. But they're all well worth it, in my opinion. Well, at least 1,2 3 are.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Action packed as always with Mel Gibson, Good supporting roles from Danny Glover, Gary Busey and Mitchell Ryan, who is normally associated with Clint Eastwood movies. Magnum Force, High Plains Drifter etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Roger Murtaugh is a family man and veteran police officer trying to make it through the day unscathed.

Martin Riggs is a suicidal loose cannon cop who doesn't care if he even lives to see the end of the day.

Reluctantly thrown together to solve the mysterious murder of a banker's daughter, the duo uncovers a dangerous ring of drug smugglers employing ex-military mercenaries.

After a tragic turn of events, the mission becomes personal and the pair must learn to trust one another as they wage a two-man war against a deadly criminal organisation......

Its one of the most defining films of the eighties, one of the most defining action movies of all time, it catapulted Gibson into super-stardom, and along with Die Hard (the greatest film ever made) is the most copied action movie ever. And its plain to see why.

It's endlessly quotable, still fresh after 27 years, and is expertly produced by Joel Silver.

But despite the wonderful set pieces, the awesome pyrotechnics and Gibsons ability to outrun a car even though he chain smokes, the best thing about this beauty is the script and the story by Shane Black.

It's such an easy high concept thriller, that the story doesn't really matter, I mean its about drugs, which most eighties action films were about. Ask people about the story, and they will tell you the narrative.

Because the story doesn't matter.

Black has made the characters so down to earth and so familiar, that you bond with Mutaugh, and feel huge empathy with Riggs, and this is in the first half hour, and once you bond with the two, the rest flows as freely as water from a tap.

Its groundbreaking stuff, the second sequel complimented this,the other two, well it was good to catch up with the gang.

Among one of the greatest action movies ever.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)