Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
91
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2001
I thought that this movie was absolutely amazing.I am a huge fan of Antonio Banderas and have seen all his movies but this one I find I can watch over and over and over again.Everytime I do watch I see something different to the last time I watched it.I also was pleased that Catherine Zeta Jones was in it as she is my favourite actress.She played her part very well and coming from a spanish background she really looked the part.As I have said, I really loved this movie and watch all the time.If someone was to ask my opinion on a movie to watch I would definately say "The Mask of Zorro".
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2010 BLU RAY/DVD COMBO ***

Back in the day I had a Superbit DVD of this beautifully filmed and hugely entertaining hero-of-the-people movie - and along with "Vertical Limit" - it was a virtual benchmark for how good the DVD format could look. The Superbit Series to DVDs were like gold audiophiles to CDs - dedicated to giving you the best quality possible.

So it's not surprising to find that Martin Campbell's skilfully filmed "The Mask Of Zorro" on BLU RAY is a proper 'looker' - gorgeous - and then some.

Right from the opening shot of canvas being slit by the two young boys hoping to get a glimpse of Zorro (Anthony Hopkins) - through to the confessional scenes between Antonio Banderas and Catherine Zeta Jones where she explains her passion for a bandit (dialogue above) - indoors or out - "The Mask Of Zorro" is a treat to look at. You see their costumes - the sweating skin - the heat of the desert and the dust of the towns - even the deliberate sepia-tint that surrounds the face of Zeta-Jones at times - it's all cleanly rendered.

And while the film's natural default is 2.40:1 (which means bars at the top and the bottom of the screen) - even switched to FULL SCREEN - there's only minor stretching and very little loss of definition. The sound too is magnificent - horses hooves, blades clashing, gunpowder shots, wood splintering, buildings exploding - all brought to the fore by a storming 5.1 mix.

The cast is spot-on too - Stuart Wilson as the dastardly and arrogant Don Rafael - Matt Letscher as the cold-blooded killer Captain Harrison (in the employ of Don Rafael) - and of course the trio of lead stars - Hopkins as the wronged older Zorro, Banderas as his hot-headed protege and replacement - and Zeta-Jones as the daughter stolen away from the older Zorro 20 years earlier along with his beloved wife. They have a ball donning capes, dropping onto moving horses and pitting steel-against-steel on tables, in barns and around goldmines.

And while Banderas is perfect for the part (sexy, witty, charming) and had great chemistry with his leading lady - it's the ethereally beautiful Catherine Zeta-Jones who steals the show. She had a star quality about her at the time that was almost palatable - part Liz Taylor part Joan Collins - she was all-woman and a swordplay match for any wannabe bandito wanting to compromise her virtue. All in all - a wildly entertaining ride that stills stands the test of time (it even comes with a DVD and copious extras too).

"The Mask Of Zorro" is a cinematic blast on BLU RAY - a film that likes itself - and has every good reason to.

Recommended like a drunken canter with Tonto...

BLU RAY Specifications:
ASPECT; 1080DP High Definition 2.40:1
AUDIO: English, Italian and Spanish 5.1 DTS-HD MA
SUBTITLES: English, English for Hard for Hearing, Danish, Finnish, Hindi, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish

EXTRAS:
1. Blu Ray Exclusive - Movie IQ BD-LIVE connects you to access real-time information on the cast, music, trivia and more while you're watching the movie
2. Director's Commentary
3. Exclusive Documentary: Unmasking Zorro
4. Deleted Scenes
5. "The Legend Of Zorro" - Behind The Scenes Sneak Peek
6. Music Video by Marc Anthony and Tina Arena
7. Exclusive scene from "The Legend Of Zorro"
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
Now a regular fixture on Saturday afternoon TV, this undervalued movie really comes alive on Blu-Ray. Looking effortlessly fantastic 99.999% of the time (except for one out-of-focus shot during the Hopkins/Zeta Jones dialogue scene in the stables - not the fault of the blu-ray), the transfer is crisp, clean and full of detail. The audio matches the visuals with great clarity and impact - particularly during the climatic shots of the gold mine exploding.

The cast also seem to be enjoying themselves while never coming across as smug - and so they should: how many big-budget swashbucklers are made these days that don't feature Johnny Depp? It's a great 'they-don't-make-'em-like-this-anymore' movie. Which proves that Hollywood can produce a satisfyingly entertaining family movie when it puts its' mind to it. Unfortunately, the magic formula wasn't to be repeated for the dull sequel (The Legend of Zorro), but don't let that put you off this far classier original. A great blu-ray at a bargain price.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
Blu-ray all zone

Ratio of the feature film:
2.35:1

Languages of the feature film:
DTS Master Audio 5.1: English, Italian, Castilian Spanish
Dolby 2.0: Commentary by Martin Campbell

Subtitles for all the videos:
English, Italian, Castilian Spanish

Extra subtitles only available for the feature film:
Danish, Finnish, Hindi, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish and English for Hard of Hearing

Verdict:
Very good picture and sound for this master-piece which has not aged at all.
As usual, a very good picture means details we are not meant to see:
- At Diego's house, the sword fight in the wide staircases, we can see the 2 stuntmen standing for Mr. Hopkins and Mr. Wilson.
- Even there is not much action in the dance scene between Elena and Alejandro, another double stand for Mr. Banderas.
- The first fight between Zorro and Captain Love, Montero, Zorro runs in the map of California and cuts it down, over all of the men. You can clearly see that strings are pulling it over the men.
- At the end of the film, at the mine, Alejandro grabs a shovel and slides down the hill. If you look at the shovel, you will see the strap that holds his feet to it.
And much more of course.

A true pleasure to watch this film again in such fantastic conditions.

NB: Antonio Banderas does not dub himself for the Castilian Spanish soundtrack unfortunately, as according to Mr. Banderas dubbing is not as good as acting.
Therefore, that was Salvador Aldeguer who dubbed Antonio Banderas.
Curiously, Mr. Banderas dubbed himself for Shrek 2, 3 and Puss in Boots
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
“Children should never have to see the things we do.” Governor Mendoza]
This 1998 adventure comedy tells the tale of Zorro (Anthony Hopkins) who escapes from his prison of 20 years to reclaim his daughter Eléna (Catherine Zeta Jones), who was taken from him as a baby, by Don Rafael Montero (Stuart Wilson), the governor of the region, to be brought up in Spain. Now aged, Zorro trains a vagabond Alejandro Murrieta (Antonio Banderas) to take on his mantle and win back his daughter who has no knowledge of him and thwart Montero’ evil schemes.
From the outset this swashbuckler adventure dazzles with it’s large scale setting and action sequences. A simple tale of Good vs Evil with over the top heroics and stunning stunts. The beautiful cinematography creates an heroic atmosphere and all tinged with a wry, dry humour and romance.
The disc offers languages and audio set up [English 5.1 or German 5.1], subtitles [15 languages, mainly European but also Hebrew and Hindi], scene selections, extra features [directors commentary, making of, deleted scene, us trailer] and play.
The action is fast paced, the music lively and jolly like the script and the cast is perfect. There is definite chemistry between the three leads who all turn in very credible performances as do the supports. What’s not to like? This is a PG and the only offence is the slapstick ‘adventure’ style violence, there’s no swearing, no nudity and no sex. Fantastic family fun, and plenty of laughs, provided you let yourself enter into the spirit of it all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
There are so many reviews on this that I'll keep my review short. Catherine Zeta-Jones plays a very convincing role in this 'swash-buckling' adventure from yesteryear. Ably supported by the great Anthony Hopkins as her father and new masked avenger Antonio Banderas, the well known story unfolds at a steady pace. It's entertainment in the true old fashioned way. Good v evil, love lost, love found etc. and it certainly tries to instil a feel good factor in its portrayal. It just falls short of being a great movie however but still well worth a view. Good acting performances all round, great sets and an entertainment value of 8 out of 10. At the right price this is good value for money.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2001
Being an avid Anthony Hopkins fan I surprised myself at the long wait I gave myself to watch this. I saw it last night and I thought Hopkins performance was sublime. Not a part I would associate with AH but one in which he pulls it off superbly. Not only that but he looks the part. An excellent film... buy it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2000
This DVD is in letter-box format i.e. it doesn't fill the full screen of a typical TV. But when you come to get a widescreen TV in a few year's time, you may be glad to have this film to slap on the DVD player. Zorro is a swashbuckling adventure with high production values and a strong ensemble cast. Anthony Hopkins and Antonio Banderas make a great master-and-pupil team while Catherine Zeta Jones is simply stunning. If you're into movies at all, there's a fascinating commentary on every minute of the flick from director Martin Campbell. When you listen to his remarks, you really come to appreciate how much work went into making Zorro, which was shot on location in Mexico. There's also a good documentary about where the Zorro character came from and how the film got to be made. So a good movie and a good example of how the extra bits really give DVD the edge over VHS tape.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
This is one of those films that I wish I had discovered earlier. Considering that I am a girl who loves fencing (I actually fence myself) this movie is basically a dream come true for me because it has swordfights AND romance. Antonio Banderas and Catherine Zeta-Jones's acting skills are amazing, and Anthony Hopkins as the older Zorro was a perfect casting choice. The DVD arrived on time and in perfect condition, and I haven't seen any faults in performance yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2005
This is one of those real feel-good movies - a real swashbuckler for those who like their swashes buckled. It's one of those ones you can watch over and over again too - I've seen it on TV, on a coach journey across Europe, through the window in TV shops...in other words, it's no deep, thoughtful cinematic classic, but it's a good way of killing an hour or two snuggled up with the person you love most.
Hopkins and Wilson are just made for each other - and so are Banderas and Zeta-Jones. The film maintains its pace admirably, and the pyrotechnics and final fight scenes are the best I've seen in a long time, eclipsing most other similar movies I've seen. The plot keeps you hanging on in there, and the subtle and rather tragic ending comes almost as no surprise - it's one for the "bright new hope" school of thought.
Definitely a must-rent, if only because it pops up so frequently that there is no need to buy the DVD - unless you need constant reassurance that good can triumph over evil.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)