Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2001
As a collection of sketches, this is outstanding - some of the all-time Python classics are here, including Bicycle Repair Man, Upper Class Twit of the Year, Nudge Nudge and many others from the first series. Some of the additions - such as the Karaoke Lumberjack Song -are nice to have, but if there's one thing that stops me giving it the top rating it's that I'd have preferred to forgo the extras if it meant having each episode complete. Yes Python is hit and miss in places, but looking at what's left out - Johann Gombolputty.... of Ulm, for example - and the use of repetition in some episodes (How to recognise different types of tree from quite a long way away) makes me want to have the lot, not just selected slices no matter how good. This approach could cause havoc with for example the Spanish Inquisition, who appear several times in one episode of series 2, or the Bishop rehearsing his one line who appears in several different episodes.
None of this is particualarly a reflection of the quality of the material - which is excellent - and if you're just interested in having the best known sketches then this is ideal - however for those of us who want the whole lot on DVD this is at best a stop-gap.
0Comment| 132 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2000
This compilation of sketches from the first series of 'Monty Python's Flying Circus' is excellent in its own right - it has all the fondly-remembered favourites from the first series, including 'The Lumberjack Song', 'The Upper Class Twit of the Year Show', and of course, 'The Parrot Sketch'. Good enough in its own right, but the presentation of the DVD is what makes it really special. The picture and sound quality is excellent, and together with a decent ( albeit limited ) compendium of extras, including a 'Karaoke Lumberjack Song' feature, 'Palindromes' and the original Radio Times billing for the show, this is a must-buy DVD. Roll on Volume 2!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2000
We watched this on DVD and enjoyed it thoroughly. Some of the sketches are real classics and had us in stitches! Especially the bicycle repair man sketch and the hell's grannies! I would recommend this to all python fans, or even just any-one with a wierd enough sense of humour to appreciate this kind of thing. I think that you would have to buy the whole collection in order to have all the old classics, like the ministry of silly walks, etc. and I can't wait until these are also available on DVD.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2003
We kick off here in October 1969, where the world was first introduced to the brilliance of Monty Python! John Cleese appears first, as Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, hosting the "Famous Deaths" sketch (Ghengis Khan, Lord Nelson, etc...)
Highlights of each of the 4 episodes are:
1) Italian Lesson (with Italian students)
The world's funniest joke
2) Flying sheep
The man with 3 buttocks (Mr. Frampton)
Marriage Guidance Councellor
The Wacky Queen
3) How to Recognise Different Trees from Quite a Long Way Away (eg. Larch)
Court Scene (Witness in coffin)
Bicycle Repair Man
Restaurant Sketch (dirty fork)
Seduced Milkmen (imprisoned in lady's bedroom)
Kidnapped Newsreader (including an amazing sequence with John Cleese being driven down the motorway on the back of a trailer - still reading the news at his desk!)
Nudge Nudge
4) Self Defence against Fresh Fruit
Secret Service Dentists (Lemming of the BDA)
All in all some excellent sketches here, but the real quality comes in series 2!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2006
This DVD is hilarious from start to finish. All the sketches are great, but my personal favourites are: 'Hell's grannies', 'Storytime', 'Kilimanjaro', 'Dirty fork', and of course, the famous 'Parrot sketch'! It will be interesting to see how the other series of 'Flying circus' compare to this one.
My only criticisms of this DVD would be that the special features are somewhat limited (though I think the sing-a-long version of the 'Lumberjack song' is a good addition!), and also I think it's a shame that you don't get the full 1st series- it would have been nice to see the full selection of sketches in the first series. However, these are only minor criticisms, and all in all I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2003
This DVD is really funny, all the classics are here. I'd only heard of some of them before, but now I watch this DVD all the time. Hilarious.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2002
This DVD is one of the best DVD's that i have watched in a long time. It features all the best Monty Python Sketches from the first and best series. My favourites are 'The Upper Class Twit of the Year Competition', 'Hells Grannies' and the popular 'The Dead Parrot sketch' featuring the Norweigen blue and the dum pet store owner. It also features the lumberjack song with the words so that you can sing-along at home!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2001
Brilliant in every sense of the word. From the dirty fork to the Albatros this is one hundred per-cent non-stop hilarity. Every sketch still rocks today and influences so many of today's modern comedies such as The Fast Show and The Simpsons. Brilliant no one with a sense of humour should be without. Warning: You may die laughing!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2001
On this tape you'll find only the best, hand-picked clips of Python comedy. Some of them are the 'Summarise Proust Competition' and of course the unforgettable 'Dennis Moore'. 'A quite controversial look on the world' and some 'French Osteopaths' are also, among with many more sketches, are included. Everything is stiched together by the animations of Mr Gilliam. Every true fan should own the 3 volumes (yes, there are 2 more available at Amazon.co.uk) of The Best Of Monty Python's Flying Cirus.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2003
Say no more! This 3 DVD set gives almost 5 hours of incredible Python's humour. It is too much, it is 16 TONS! This outstanding compilation is an absolute must have for the collector.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here