Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 6 December 2017
Whenever I’ve come across Roman Polanski’s “Frantic”, I’ve remembered a film that I enjoyed a great deal twenty five or more years ago, and I had wondered if I would still enjoy it today. So risking spoiling a good memory I watched the film again the other night and was pleased to find that I was watching a film with as much enjoyment as I remembered doing, the first time round.

I’m not sure if I enjoyed it because of Harrison Ford or despite him, because my memory of the film is more a memory of Emmanuelle Seigner as much as anything else. I’d forgotten just how long it takes for her to appear on screen but once she does the already high tense thriller gathers more and more pace. With a great story that is told well and with Paris as the backdrop to the film (though it is not over-stated), with some great music and very charismatic central characters this is a very watch-able film even another time around, many years later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2012
On a trip to Pairs for a medical convention, Dr. Richard Walker becomes embroiled in a dangerous situation. Taken at face value, the plot and situation, for an A-List Star, Hollywood movie, are somewhat underwhelmingly utilitarian. Then again, life's sort of like that :-) However, upon reflection, the film's primary objective would appear to be about how Dr. Richard Walker comes to better appreciate what he has in life and in his marriage, via his acquaintance of Michelle who provides an element of temptation and symbolises his kidnapped wife Sondra, from twenty-years earlier, when they romantically honeymooned in Pairs. Thus the ending in which the paths of the two similarly dressed ladies (Michelle and Sondra) in the red dresses, etc., literally overlap, and Michelle is killed, as if putting the ghost of a memory to rest.

To add to the potential for unsettlement/tension, in those who are not paying scrupulous attention, there is a trick variation on this at the beginning of the movie, when the taxi pulls up to the hotel: As a a hint of foreshadowing, a lady pedestrian in a long skirt walks by, and then, because of how the lady taxi driver is dressed, it seems that Sondra gets out of the driver's side door and not the rear passenger door.

To the extent that Frantic has failings, it seems to me that Frantic does not convincingly bridge the expectations of popular American and European expectations. Nevertheless, it is a good movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2013
If you like Harrison Ford you'll like this. Released in 1988 after he became a household name as Han Solo in Star Wars and as Indiana Jones, this film is an opportunity to see the man play a character that is more ordinary and vulnerable as he tracks a trail to try and find his kidnapped wife. There is also an alluring performance by Emmanuelle Seigner, who plays the wastrel that helps him to find her.
Varied and nail biting, Frantic takes a leaf from the film 'Into The Night' starring Jeff Goldblum, which was released earlier in the decade, with it's real time, 'no time to lose' feel to the story. Set in Paris, the aspect of being in an unfamiliar city, knowing little of the language, and with a very emotional conclusion, this is a classic rollercoaster.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 November 2013
I really don't feel this is Polanski on top of his game. When he is on form he is right up there with the best. Whilst this does open well for the first 45 mins or so I felt it went downhill thereafter, with plot developments that tended to beggar belief. Ford is good (if you like Ford), but I couldn't take to Seignier, which was disapointing as her role is crucial. All in all I enjoyed it more than not, but I was nonetheless disapointed, but that could (and is) me! The print is very good Ratio 1.85.1 (don't know what version one irate viewer was watching, it certainly wasn't this DVD (not BR) from Warner.) Recomended with above personal reservations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2012
Surely if any film deserves the blu-ray clean up, it's this fantastic, and haunting Polanski film from 1988.
One of Harrison Ford's very best roles, he pitches it perfectly in all his scenes, however Emmanuele Seigner
(Polanski's wife of the time) produces a truly masterful display, and the two sparkle with chemistry on
the screen. It remains one of my favourite ever films
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2009
A convention in Paris, a wife gone missing, an incompetent officialdom, a girl in a tight red dress, Israelis and Arabs competing for a hi-tech trophy... out of this mix Roman Polanski fashions a top-notch suspense-drama. The film's attention to detail and pacing are marks of the very best movie story-telling. Harrison Ford is as good as he gets (which is pretty good) but he is outshone by Emannuelle Seigneur and a fabulous supporting cast. I have seen this a few times now, and it does not fade.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2012
Harrison Ford fans will love this fast paced gritty thriller. It is well written, well acted and still one of the best films he has ever been involved with. I don't know why this is but I find that many of the films from the 80's were so much more enjoyable and entertaining to watch than many modern day films, perhaps because they didn't contain so much computer graphics! Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2017
Always difficult to write a review for a DVD because it's very subjective. My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed 'Frantic'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2018
Decent 80s movie, fords facials at some points were suspect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2015
Worth a watch but I liked it more the first time years ago, maybe not a film to watch twice. Still nostalgic for the 80's, some good music, locations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse