Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
117
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2010
The film without saying would get 5 stars. But I am reviewing the total package and the fact there is not one extra on this blu ray is a disgrace.

Why could they not get the extras from the 10th Anniversary editon on there?

Does explain why both sequals were out before the first film. As they are hoping people like myself will buy this one regardless to complete the trilogy.

Looks like Dr Evil may have had his revenge after all....
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Re the Blu Ray. Three Wolves are releasing this and they have royally messed up the transfer to blu ray. There is a constant stuttering throughout which apparently is attributed to a below par bit rate. It was also the same with their release of House On Haunted Hill. Avoid!! Its a stinker
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
To be direct I like Mike Myers movies & this one is my favorite.I went to the cinema to see this with my wife & friends when it first came out & I remember 2 things which were the constant laughing & embarrassing laughter when a joke was awkward or really quiet crude but you laughed anyway hoping to not look stupid & that is the whole of this movie as it is not PC & makes great humor of a man from the 60's in today's world.
I also especially remember when Elizabeth Hurley (all men say wow) when she came out with the silver outfit on as I think as I got a few other men probably got from their Girl Friends the jab in the ribs for maybe ignoring them whilst looking & thinking why can't I trade her in for Elizabeth Hurley.
Good movie you have to own it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
1960's British hipster secret agent Austin Powers is brought out of cryofreeze to oppose his arch-enemy Dr. Evil into the 1990s.

Austin is then released, and thawed back into action to once again battle Dr. Evil where he wakes up somewhere in Nevada and steals a nuclear weapon to hold the world to ransom.

After Austin is woken up to stop Dr. Evil he gets a new sidekick Vanessa Kensington, his ex-partner's daughter.

They go to Vegas to stop Dr. Evil's plot to control the world for 100 billion dollars.....

It's clear that Myers has a love for England and the sixties, as this has so much intense referencing and in jokes, it commands you to watch it several times just to get all the jokes, and this is why it works so well.

The plot is second fiddle to characters, its a perfunctory maguffin that showed up in most spy films of the sixties, Myers concentrates on the characters most of all, and they are fantastic.

The titular character is a little tired thought to watch now, but its nothing to do with the film, its just pop culture has wrung the comedy out of Powers so much, you do cringe whenever he says one of his catchphrases.

Dr Evil though is still timeless, because he is just so straight faced and the clumsiest character you'd ever likely to meet.

It's pretty left field stuff, from surprising cameos, to in my opinion the funniest thing of the film, showing the personal life of a henchmen, brilliant and totally unexpected.

Watch this and then watch Danger! Diabolik, the film it homages the most.

Good stuff, but referenced within an inch of its life, which tarnishes it a little.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A true classic of it's day and maybe it's not aged that well but I still love the film itself.

This is not the best of transfers, obviously not remastered as the film weave on the titles at the beginning is pretty awful. That said the picture quality itself isn't too bad, and the sound is very good.

One problem though is that there are no subtitles on this film, something you sometimes find on lower budget discs but why this one?

I also bemoan the lack of extras, looks like they're waiting for the 20th anniversary but by then it'll be a 4K release!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 April 2006
Now common parlance, it's impossible for anyone to be called "baby" or pronounce something as "smashing" without sounding like Austin on a bad day. Top marks to Mike Myers for his fine creations and a fantastic movie. The injection of time travel in a film never fails to produce weird and wonderful plots, especially Austin's maladjustment to modern day courting and chat up lines. I loved Dr Evil and how the practicalities of being father to a stroppy teenager will rob the dignity of even the most fearsome of megalomaniacs. Bloefeld never had to attend group therapy in the James Bond films and perhaps if he did, he wouldn't have wreaked so much havoc on the world stage.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
The first of a hilarious series, Austin powers is one of those films that anyone with a dirty mind will love. It's rude but not vulgar and has that sense of being a film that was made for a laugh than to actually do well. But it did, and this sex crazed womanizer would storm the world in style. Yeah baby yeah!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
to put it in simple terms, this film is just so good and i think out of the 3 its the weakest one, the comedy in it is just quality and even liz hurley manages to pull out a good acting performance, all around top film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
Look out James Bond, Our Man Flint and those Guys from U.N.C.L.E. there's a new cat on the espionage block and he is shagtastically sexy yeah!
From the catchy opening sequence to usually unseen consequences to the demise of henchmen Mike Myers puts the 60's back on the map, Yeah Baby!
An he saves the world too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
It's hard to believe that fifteen years have already passed since the debut of the Austin Powers franchise, but its held up quite well. Mike Myers does numerous characters brilliantly and Elizabeth Hurley puts in one of her better performances (admittedly not exactly an achievement) as Vanessa Kensington. With a good supporting cast that includes Will Ferrell, Seth Green, Robert Wagner, Mimi Rogers and Michael York, this first Austin Powers is a fun comedy that manages to take the mick out of the 60's/70's spy movies and culture whilst still maintaining its own charm and quirky catchphrases. Filled with sexual innuendo, the dialogue is funny throughout and the timing of the lines is brilliant. My personal favourite scene is Seth Green's character Scott telling Dr Evil he should just get a gun and kill Austin Powers instead of putting him on a very slow moving platform with one inept guard that is easy to escape. Basil Expedition is probably my favourite character and is an excellent little nod to the Bond movies. Recommended. 3.5/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse