Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
92
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£4.99+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2007
The picture has got a simple and clear plot, but all those absurd, crazy jokes and strange characters could really blow your mind if you're not accustomed to John Lennon's jokes. It all reminds me of 'Alice in Wonderland' a lot. One should accept the picture 'as is'. Though my 3-year-old daughter loves it a lot! No need to talk about music - it's outstanding! In general, it's different and a definite must-see.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 August 2016
This is the "Yellow Submarine" on DVD - a full-length animated film, from 1968, featuring a very psychedelic Beatles on a mission to save Pepperland from the Blue Meanies ... It's a cartoon classic - and this 2000 DVD edition has been digitally re-mastered for better video and audio quality. Yet, just to say, the movie has subsequently been fully restored and issued on Blu-ray (see Yellow Submarine [Blu-ray] [2012]) and the improvements are amazing. As such, while I have enjoyed watching this DVD version, I do suggest that you consider the more recent 2012 release.

The story involves a musical paradise, full of peace and love, being attacked and conquered by the Blue Meanie invasion force - intent of ridding this place, Pepperland, of joy and colour. Yet one man, Captain Fred, manages to escape in his yellow submarine ... and he goes in search of the Beatles - who, through their singing, possess the means to stopping the meanies. Fortunately, the Beatles agree to take part in this quest - and the adventure begins. On their way to Pepperland, we witness the Fab Four visit a myriad of strange and wondrous places (as well as meeting the Nowhere Man). And, finally, as the Beatles sing so the evil powers of the Blue Meanies fade away.

This is a very surreal animated film, made in 1968 - immediately following on from the 'Sgt. Pepper' and 'Magical Mystery Tour' phase of the Beatles career during the Summer of Love. It's fun and entertaining, not least because of the fantastic music. Four (then) new songs were included in the movie: 'All Together Now', 'Hey Bulldog', 'Only A Northern Song' and 'It's All Too Much'. Several other Beatles songs also feature, including 'Eleanor Rigby', 'When I'm Sixty-Four', 'Nowhere Man', 'Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds', 'All You Need Is Love', and the title track 'Yellow Submarine'. The album is available: Yellow Submarine Songtrack.

It's a shame that Lennon, McCartney, Harrison and Starr didn't provide the voice work in the film, although the voice actors do a great job. And, fortunately, the Beatles make a (brief) appearance at the end. The animation itself is brilliant, albeit often creatively weird. If you're a Beatles fan then I highly recommend this movie. It's fun for children and adults alike, and now stands as a timeless classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
Firstly let me say don't waste your hard-earned on overpriced new or second hand copies of this film priced at £40 or over. Buy a brand new sealed Canadian region-free copy with the brilliant soundtrack remastered into amazing 5.1 surround sound, the ability to play the isolated score and complete with booklet etc for £15 instead.

Both the new picture transfer and surround mix are brilliant, the latter being quite a rarity on old films like this. It's obvious that a lot of time and effort have been spent on both, unlike "Magical Mystery Tour" which languishes in poor quality mono with a picture to match - so full of damage and sparklies as to be near unwatchable.

I can't praise the Canadian issue of "Yellow Submarine" enough in those departments - everything is pristine as if it was a brand new film just released and of course it's in widescreen format too.

I would say that with all the psych imagery and music this one is best watched on a big screen in a darkened room with a tankard of ale and preferably something strong to smoke too (or if you're a non-smoker then bake it in little buns or make tea).

Absolutely amazing!
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2003
This film combines the graphic style of Peter Max and the cinematic psychedelia of "Fantastic Planet", adds the humor and musical talent of the Beatles, and manages to transform the genre of the "musical" into an entirely new flavor of music video.
The Beatles had already invented the music video with earlier filmed renditions of songs released after their Beatlemania touring days had come to an end. Those films were released as substitutes for the real Fab Four, touring the world in their absence. Yellow Submarine was an altogether new species, conceived as a whimsical but coherent story - sort of a WWII Lite, surrounding songs from the Rubber Soul, Revolver, and Sgt. Pepper albums. It somehow manages to deliver not only a series of exceptional animated "music videos", but also a funny and engaging Beatles movie, every bit as entertaining as "A Hard Day's Night" and "Help".
Yellow Submarine was produced while the Beatles were on sabbatical in India with the Maharaji, and had no input to speak of in the creation of the film. They however, along with their fans and the movie-going public, were quite pleased and impressed by the results.
This film will appeal to fans of The Beatles, fans and students of animation, and anyone who enjoys a well-made cinematic fantasy.
--- Greg A.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2004
I first encountered Yellow Submarine as a child and have been a fan of the Beatles ever since. The film is as funny as it is clever and, as you'd expect, it is spilling over with Beatles music.
Unfortunately for everyone it's not the Beatles doing the voices for the animated fab four, but those filling the shoes have captured their public personas and personalities to a tee.
The story is every bit as bizarre as a Beatles fan would expect. The plot meanders from the sensible, to the obscure, and everything in between. All in all, however, we are left with, essentially,a family film that was seen and enjoyed by generations fading, and to be equally enjoyed by generations to come.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
What can I say other then this is simply one of my favourite films of all times. It is great to watch when you want a nice simple film with amazing colours ( This is one of the most colourful films I have ever seen and truly out of this world ) A lot of people say to me, you have to be high as a kite to enjoy this film but I disagree and appreciate the old technology used in the 60's to make it and the hard work put in to produce it.

Truly amazing. 10/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2000
What an outrageous film! Exploding with creativity. The wit and genius of the music of the fab four is complemented by superb psychadelic animation, which, although very much 60's, is really timeless. Full of humour and joy. One of the best animation films of all times, suitable for all ages.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2005
A super bit of Beatles 'summer of love' style here. The Blue Meanies do not stand a chance and it's great fun throughout, though I think the kids of today will not appreciate it quite as we did. I agree that the best feature is the songs and how they are now available as a 'pre-selection' process rather than winding through the film to find the best. Crucial cuts are the undiscovered/underrated classics "Hey Bulldog" and "It's all too much" which are close to the end of the film. Both would have made brillient singles. They are real gems in the final chapter of Sgt Pepper but never quite made it to the masterpiece LP, only being relegated to the soundtrack of this film. The restored digital version and remixed songs are excellent. A splendid time guaranteed for all!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
I'm so happy that I finally acquired this movie! I saw it as a kid, but only now, at my mature years I fully grasped the more subtle levels and symbols of this masterpiece. A "must-see" for anyone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2006
Watch this film, it is a classic.

The narrative involves cut out animated characters (including the Beatles, well the Lonely Hearts Club Band) in a fairy-tale struggle. Not only is it imaginative and visually articulate, you also have the pleasure of many a Beatles tune. Furthermore, it is hilarious.

If only all music television was this good. The bench mark - A seminal work.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)