Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
200
4.7 out of 5 stars
Pale Rider [1985] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 February 2017
I am f an Eastwood fan but may not be every ones cup of tea some actors you just love some you dislike. These Eastwood westerns are classics like most of Eastwood films whether acting or producing I think his talent is up there with the very best (my opinion). All I can say is if you like good westerns this is for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
This triple-DVD set features three of Clint Eastwood's best movies:Pale Rider,in which a mysterious stranger,known only as 'Preacher',arrives in a mining town whose inhabitants are being harassed by a ruthless gang.

The Outlaw Josey Wales,in which Josey Wales seeks revenge for the brutal murders of his family by Union soldiers.

Unforgiven: Former gunslingers William Munny,(Eastwood),and Ned Logan,(Morgan Freeman) renew their old partnership in order to track down those responsible for the maiming of a prostitute,in a town controlled by a corrupt sheriff,(Gene Hackman)

Three thoroughly excellent movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
Take the typical Eastwood western character, add a mysterious past, a clerical collar and a title quoting from the Bible and you have "Pale Rider", a film I enjoyed but did not think too deeply about. I have only taken Clint Eastwood really seriously, in terms of his films' content and what he is trying to say, relatively recently - "Flags of our Fathers", "Letters from Iwo Jima", "Gran Torino" - but his output has been prolific both as actor and director and he is obviously one of the greats of the film-industry. One of the few actors who made the director move and succeeded, he has a subtle eye capable of going well beyond the stereotypical and anticipated shot. Thirty five titles as director, thirty-four as producer and fifty-five as actor (and still counting) makes him a force to be reckoned with and one of the most experienced Hollywooders around and a long ways from "Go ahead, make my day" partner.
In "Pale Rider", directed by Eastwood but written by Michael Butler and Dennis Shyrack, like "Shane", the main character (mostly unexplained) seems to be making a life-change from the gun-fighting character the "Old West" must have been populated with to a less violent, more community thoughtful person; like Shane who struggles with the tree-stump helping his new family friends as the wife looks on amazed at her two men, now unable to choose but leaning towards the "tall stranger", the Preacher helps to break a huge boulder blocking the stream, preventing their small mining operations. Again the wife looks on yearningly from the darkness as her men, dripping with righteous sweat from the true labour of their task, gradually destroy the boulder, freeing the stream and their mining lives.
A slight complication is the daughter looking on too, later feeling her mother has already got her man, so why does she need two. It's mean. Later, in a violent rape scene, the Preacher appears on the horizon, shoots with unerring accuracy, wordlessly helps the daughter onto the horse and rides off having saved her from the men of the greedy mining company. (Remember the ranchers in "Shane".)
Despite the stereotypical characters and story, it is an enjoyable film, well-acted (in western terms) and directed succinctly, with style, even if many of the shots are well-worked, old standards.
Stepping out of the storyline, the film does capture some of the harshness and realities of life in the west in the pioneering days in California - the lawlessness, empire-building and ruthless business corporations, nature at its finest and families trying to make a life for themselves, establish communities and conquer all that nature could throw at them. I think the real lives were probably much worse and not fit to capture realistically on the silver-screen. " ... human kind / Cannot bear very much reality", especially in the cinema.
Although I may be doing Clint Eastwood a great dis-service, and, as the auteur theory would have it, this director's film may reflect the director's personal creative vision, made in 1985 and classified as an action western, I think that is what it is, albeit an excellent example of its kind and one which helped to sustain his name, made his money, thereby allowing him to make better films later when, as "auteur", I feel he did have something much deeper to say and was filming it.
Just enjoy it. I did, even if the more I consider it, the more there is to write.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
This movie still stands up. Beautifully shot and directed, with powerful, naturalistic performances, plus a(nother) mythical turn from Eastwood. Quite a "green" film, in some ways, with its critical evocation of strip mining and the men who pursue it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Arrived on time. Susan loves it, I think it is a bit slow, but that is me. The main consideration is Susan loves it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
He was and still is a master of portrayal and this film does it again, one for the Library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
They don't make them like this any more. Wonderful!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
Excellent quality, great value for money & delivery good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Can't beat a good clintg Eastwood western good to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2017
Love it ... promptly delivered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)