Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
248
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you look up the word "adorable" in the dictionary, you will see a picture of Meg Ryan. It's true; try it! She is so precious in this film that everyone will fall in love with her. She is the kind of girl that men drool over and women want as their best friend. Tom Hanks' photo can be found under the word "perfect," as in understanding, loving, mature, and funny. Put the two of them together and "You've Got Mail" is the ultimate feel-good movie.

Hanks plays a big, bad, chain book store owner who moves into the neighborhood and drives poor little bookshop owner Ryan out of business. Neither realizes they are, in fact, the secret e-mail admirers they've been pouring their hearts out to for months. He finds out first, builds a solid friendship with her, and when she discovers the wonderful secret, all's right with the world.

Yes, it's corny and totally predictable. It's also about an hour too long, but one overlooks this when enjoying the sight of two such beautiful people finding true love. The gorgeous location photography helps set the fairy tale mood; New York City never looked lovelier. The city takes on a cozy, small-town feel, where it seems perfectly possible for two strangers to meet and fall in love. The lovely soundtrack, made up of soft rock and bittersweet ballads, adds to the romance.

I recommend this film as a romantic date movie or a girls-night-out flick. It's silly and wonderful, and Meg and Tom are so right together.
33 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
A very enjoyable film. Comedy, romance and a nice story line.
Definetly worth a viewing. I wish they made more films like this. If you like Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks and films that are easy going you will enjoy this movie.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2005
It's pure heart warming silliness and who said there was anything wrong with that? Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks = a killer combination! It's not sleepless but who cares it has everything it needs to make a great romantic comedy!
Buy it 'I know you'll love it!'
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2000
A romantic comedy. Sure it's just like Sleepless in Seattle, sure it's really predictable. But what the hell, it's great. Meg and Tom are brilliant in this role. There is no way that you can't get drawn along with the wonderful flow of this film. It's so, so cheesy, but it's just so, so slick that it doesn't matter. Brilliant.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2003
I can't recommend this film enough. It's smart, funny and Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan are as always superbly cast together.
Based on the film "The Shop around the corner", and in my opinion echoes parts of the fantastic "Pride and Prejudice" this is the ultimate love story. Joe Fox owns one of the biggest chain book stores and opens a new store around the corner from Kathleen Kelly's modest family book shop. Both go into competition against each other not realising they are friends who met over the internet.
Fantastic support from Greg Kinnear and not forgetting to mention the beautifully shot New York city.
All in all - fantastic romantic comedy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2002
You've Got Mail captures the best side of New York, the side that usually get's missed by big action movies like Godzilla for example. The parks, the flowers,the trees.. and the romance.
Tom and Meg play rival book store owners, however unbeknownst to them, they are also secret e-mail pen friends.
This is an easy on the eye comedy suitable for all rom com fans. It's nice to see Meg and Tom interacting together in this movie, more so than in "Sleepless in Seattle"
If you enjoy this movie then I also recommend to you John Cusack's "Serendipity"
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2003
Meg Ryan plays a romantic to absolute perfection. In this delightful movie, she is co-stared by the ever lovable Tom Hanks. Superb acting by both. An amusing romantic comedy which has you guessing throughout - is Meg going to pick up on Tom Hank's obvious hints!...Oh my god! - what is going to happen now!! I was on the edge of my seat, gasping for air at the predicaments. The ending had me absolutely swooning with delight.I wanted to go hug the TV screen! A Great feel-good factor film, and if you are a romantic or fan of either Tom Hanks or Meg Ryan you have a real treat in store.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2005
Upbeat, feel-good romatic comedy about two people involved with books on a professional basis. Perfect ingredients for soft souls very much like myself. Also, and this is the first time I've noticed this watching this movie, Joe has an IBM ThinkPad (representing ruthless cold and big industry) and Kathleen is using an Apple notebook (can't really tell which make but it certainly is pre-OS X; representinghome/cosy/village small shop setup). Also no Botox yet to be seen around any of the main characters, which is always, as is mostly agreed upon, a plus.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2002
To my boyfriend's disgust, I think I may have watched this film upwards of 30 times (he liked it in the beginning but tired of it after about 10 viewings). I adore it - it's sweet and charming and makes you feel that the glass is half full. I must admit that I've never seen Sleepless in Seattle so I can't compare but, to me, this film is right up there with Breakfast at Tiffany's, It's A Wonderful Life and La Vita e Bella. The supporting cast are truly superb and deliver some priceless lines with style, while Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks' performances are pure movie magic. If you have a heart and a tendency towards optimism you will love this film.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
addicted to love has dated terribly, and well is just not funny, in fact it seems to be a film that tries to make jokes around stalking or desperation over loss of a lover, just doesnt work, and falls flat, it appears that the leads are aware of this in places, but soldier on regardless, couldnt watch to the end.
the over one is better, and although has dated as well, and is a bit sentimental its still nice and watchable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)