Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
251
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2015
Years ago I revelled in EF Benson's books, later I was captivated by this envisioning of his world, so detailed and faithful - a reviewer at the time commented on McEwen's 'audible narrowing of her eyes'. The BBC's current version pales into insignificance, it is camp and contrived, and it parodies where it should pay homage. EF Benson was describing a world with affection, this version captures that affection. Accept no other!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
ONE OF MY VERY FAVOURITE SERIES I BROUGHT THIS COPY AS A CHRISTMAS GIFT TO STOP EVERYBODY BORROWING IT. I WILL
HAVE TO BUY A THIRD COPY AS THIS WILL BE WORN OUT BEFORE LONG. THE 3 MAIN CHARACTORS IN THIS SERIES
ARE BRILLIANT
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
Take care to watch the 3 x CD set in correct order as mine were brand new, sealed but packed into box back to front by manufacturer.
( 3-2-1.)

I picked out the FIRST CD from the inside front box cover, popped it into the player to find Lucia
negotiating Mallards from Mapp so presumed the beginning.

No Episode Numbers or Disc
Numbers on the Title Screens to help the viewer realise the correct sequence.
It was the LAST CD - the last
episodes.
Until l reached for Disc 2, did not spot that Disc 1 was packed
underneath it on the back cover.

Watched 100s boxed sets before and not needed to check unless pre owned. My mistake but ruined
the looked forward to treat of re-living this old masterpiece.

This particular reproduction is
distorted and not comfy to view.

I have watched older movies with perfect reproduction onto DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Love this comedic drama series, so glad finally have it. Dvds are in fab condition, on time delivery, well packaged. Geraldine McEwan, Prunerlla Scales and Nigel Hawthorns make this well worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
This is the classic tv series (not the recent shorter one) and benefits enormously from the outstanding cast. A quaintand quirky masterpiece of tv period humour, its is probably an improvement over the original books. Everyone should see this at least twice!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Just LOVE this series. One of my favourite things made on telly. If you are thinking about it, or in doubt, I can't recommend highly enough. Go for it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Remember seeing this series on TV with pleasure. Interest renewed after watching the latest adaptation. Equally enjoyable. Had to buy at this bargain price and so pleased I did. The three 'big name' stars performed brilliantly and I enjoyed every moment. Thank goodness for DVDs and the reissue of gems such as these. Cheaper than 'going to the pictures'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
Bought this as saw the latest update which I loved. This was even better, though it was made in the 80s
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 March 2016
Stands up well as you'd probably expect with a brilliant cast and script..... Lovely nostalgic filming - the settings are all great - one of those shows where you can sit back and let it wash over you - immersive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Very good, humorous and has dates well. If you like light period comedy this will be very enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)